lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Kotor 1 Best of PC
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-26-2009, 08:23 PM   #1
darthriddick
Rookie
 
darthriddick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Under. A. Large. Rock! *O_o'
Posts: 223
Current Game: Kotor 1
Kotor 1 Best of PC

So I got the game, it plays fine, mods work great s'all good. Except the cheat feature doesn't work. I modified the .ini file as normal, but when I press the ~ Key it's a no go...

Any idea why?

I'm running Vista with the Best of PC version of the game.

darthriddick is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-29-2009, 09:37 AM   #2
MacTavish
Junior Member
 
MacTavish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tython
Posts: 438
Hmm not sure, I don't think it has anything to do with Vista but I may be wrong. You sure you typed EnableCheats=1 under [Game Options] without any typos or spaces?


MacTavish is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-29-2009, 10:11 AM   #3
Da_Man_2423
Forumite
 
Da_Man_2423's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 745
Current Game: NCAA Football 10
My KotOR is from the Best of PC version, and the cheats work fine (I got XP).

I'm pretty sure many people on these forums here have had the same exact problem with Vista. Something about certain things going into different folders/locations? I can't remember exactly, but I remember talk about that.


Da_Man_2423 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-29-2009, 10:44 AM   #4
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
When you go to the main KOTOR directory to change the .ini file, check if the toolbar has a button called "Compatibility Files". If it does, you'll need to change the .ini file inside the "Compatibility Files" folder and copy it back into the main KOTOR directory to get the cheats to work.

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-29-2009, 10:20 PM   #5
darthriddick
Rookie
 
darthriddick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Under. A. Large. Rock! *O_o'
Posts: 223
Current Game: Kotor 1
Ok thanks guys. It's still not working and my guess is that I might have to reinstall. (Hates Vista). >_<

However thanks to KSE, the kotor equivalent of the K2 whereami armband mod, and FRAPS I'm able to function without the cheats for the time being.

darthriddick is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2009, 01:57 PM   #6
ShinDangaioh
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 93
I always prefer using the KSE editor along with the warp bands, since it doesn't display that horrid 'Cheats Enabled' across the save.
ShinDangaioh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2009, 02:04 PM   #7
MacTavish
Junior Member
 
MacTavish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tython
Posts: 438
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinDangaioh View Post
since it doesn't display that horrid 'Cheats Enabled' across the save.
Yea, that always did piss me off


MacTavish is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2009, 03:11 PM   #8
Mandalore The Shadow
The Writing Writer
 
Mandalore The Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The Desert
Posts: 286
Current Game: KotOR II
yeah i always hated that and i dont think it had anything to do with vista


My Mods
“You needn't die happy when your time comes, but you must die satisfied, for you have lived
your life from the beginning to the end and ka is always served.”

― Stephen King, The Dark Tower
Mandalore The Shadow is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-01-2009, 02:15 AM   #9
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinDangaioh View Post
I always prefer using the KSE editor along with the warp bands, since it doesn't display that horrid 'Cheats Enabled' across the save.
Why does that bother you? Hell I use 'turbo' all the time and if they want to call it "cheating" let em... I'm happy just getting there at speed.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Game Discussion > Padawan's Lounge > Kotor 1 Best of PC

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:20 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.