Thread: Is there word on the PC specs to TOR?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-15-2009, 12:38 AM   #1
Cayal
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Is there word on the PC specs to TOR?

Hi guys

Sorry if this has been asked before.
TOR is looking to be my first MMO game I will ever play (and pay for) assuming I have the appropriate specs to run it. I was wondering if there has been any rumours/announcements on what will be needed to run the game?

Thanks
Cayal is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2009, 02:41 AM   #2
s-island
Music man
 
s-island's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,082
The International House of Mojo Staff 
Not that I've heard, but they shouldn't be too high. It doesn't make sense when you want as many subscribers as possible.
s-island is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2009, 02:48 AM   #3
Cayal
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by s-island View Post
Not that I've heard, but they shouldn't be too high. It doesn't make sense when you want as many subscribers as possible.
I figured as much but since I am new to MMO I am not to sure.

Thanks for the response.
Cayal is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2009, 02:51 AM   #4
Deft Aklin
Retired Dark Jedi
 
Deft Aklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,898
LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by s-island View Post
Not that I've heard, but they shouldn't be too high. It doesn't make sense when you want as many subscribers as possible.
I would assume only slightly more than WoW, if not identical.

2 GBs RAM, 2.3 GHz processor (Maybe more), 30GB HD, GFX DX10.1 compatible with 256MBs dedicated RAM, etc.


Minister of Propaganda - The Endbringers
Formerly Deft Aklin - Regent of Dark Sovereignty/The Endbringers of Starsider
“The art of war teaches us to rely not on the likelihood of the enemy’s not coming, but on our own readiness to receive him;
Not on the chance of his not attacking, but rather on the fact that we have made our position unassailable.” –The Art of War, Sun Tzu

wevegotcookies.com
Deft Aklin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2009, 06:13 AM   #5
SW01
3 Years in the Lurk
 
SW01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Northern Ireland, UK
Posts: 1,075
Current Game: Real Life
It was indicated around the original announcement that it would be designed to function on as broad a range of systems as possible. Whether that means low minimum requirements and very high maximum recommended requirements (to just-run on low-specs and perform brilliantly on high-specs) or something else hasn't been elaborated on as yet.


SW01 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2009, 09:39 AM   #6
Jeff
Rating: Awesome
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 8,431
Current Game: SWTOR
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Notable contributor LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deft Aklin View Post
I would assume only slightly more than WoW, if not identical.

2 GBs RAM, 2.3 GHz processor (Maybe more), 30GB HD, GFX DX10.1 compatible with 256MBs dedicated RAM, etc.
Those specs are much higher than what I expect the minimums will be for TOR. WoW only requires 512MB RAM, I don't expect TOR to require any more than 1GB. Same with processor, I doubt it asks for >2.0GHz. And no game takes 30GB of hard disk space. Also, requiring a DX10 graphics card would eliminate a lot of XP users which they obviously won't do.


Follow me on Twitter
Follow StarWarsMMO.net on Twitter | Like us on Facebook
Jeff is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2009, 09:55 AM   #7
SirRobin
Rookie
 
SirRobin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Counciltucky
Posts: 11
Current Game: WAR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff View Post
Those specs are much higher than what I expect the minimums will be for TOR. WoW only requires 512MB RAM, I don't expect TOR to require any more than 1GB. Same with processor, I doubt it asks for >2.0GHz. And no game takes 30GB of hard disk space. Also, requiring a DX10 graphics card would eliminate a lot of XP users which they obviously won't do.
Agreed, I suspect they with a "stylized reality" for graphics to help lower minimum requirements.

Please be aware though that "optimization" usually happens near the end of Beta, not the beginning, so it will likely be months before Bioware even starts to have a good idea on what the minimum system requirements for TOR will really be.


SirRobin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2009, 10:53 AM   #8
Sabretooth
鬼龍院皐月
 
Sabretooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff View Post
And no game takes 30GB of hard disk space.
*The development team for The Force Unleashed II earnestly disagree*


Sabretooth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-23-2009, 03:23 PM   #9
Metirae
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Fort Stewart, GA (Mosul, Iraq)
Posts: 9
Current Game: Many
Is it sad that I would buy a new rig to play this game before I even truly know how its going to be ?
Metirae is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-23-2009, 04:51 PM   #10
darthfergie
Q-38 Modulator
 
darthfergie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,254
LFN Staff Member 
may as well wait and get the most bang for you buck and get it right before the game comes out.


darthfergie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-27-2009, 07:04 PM   #11
FaZzZa99
Rookie
 
FaZzZa99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metirae View Post
Is it sad that I would buy a new rig to play this game before I even truly know how its going to be ?
Odds are, if your current rig wouldn't meet the nessessary requirements for TOR, you should be using that thing anyway.

One of the reason they went with the whole stylized look as opposed to another game that looks like real life is so some of the mid to lower end PCs can run it flawlessly.
FaZzZa99 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-02-2010, 10:30 PM   #12
urluckyday
Up all night to get lucky
 
urluckyday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Beautiful USA
Posts: 2,760
Current Game: Red Orchestra 2
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by FaZzZa99 View Post
Odds are, if your current rig wouldn't meet the nessessary requirements for TOR, you should be using that thing anyway.
+1
Exactly my thoughts on any MMO.



If I die today, I'm happy how my life turned out
urluckyday is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Star Wars: The Old Republic MMO Forums > Game Discussion > Tython Temple > Is there word on the PC specs to TOR?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump