lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Changing Alignment Bonuses in KotOR1
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-17-2009, 10:24 PM   #1
rickyl3
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Changing Alignment Bonuses in KotOR1

I don't like the different class and alignment requirements for Revan in KotOR1. Can someone make a mod that gives all the bonuses upon alignment mastery?
If possible I would like it as incremental rewards, like
For light side:
58 = +3 Charisma
66 = +3 Constitution
74 = +3 Strength
82 = +1d8 Damage
91 = Immunity to Poison
100 = +50 force points

For dark side:
42 = +1d8 Damage
34 = Immunity to Poison
26 = + 50 force points
18 = +3 Charisma
9 = +3 Constitution
0 = +3 Strength

I'm trying to learn how to mod, but I haven't seen anything about editing these I hope it's possible.
rickyl3 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-17-2009, 10:37 PM   #2
Godric Volturi
Rookie
 
Godric Volturi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dantooine
Posts: 234
Welcome to the forums... (even though I too am new. lol )

Anyway, I'm not sure if it is possible... I haven't seen a tutorial about it... so... =/


Wants to post something epically amazing here... will work on that laterz.
Godric Volturi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-17-2009, 10:47 PM   #3
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,510
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Not possible, sorry. Well.. it might through some complicated scripting but probably not going to happen.




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2009, 01:19 PM   #4
rickyl3
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Oh well...

Thanks for the quick reply guys. On an unrelated note, does anyone know if there is a maximum vitality and force points that can be set with the KotOR Tool? If so, what are they?

Last edited by rickyl3; 08-18-2009 at 01:56 PM.
rickyl3 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2009, 02:22 PM   #5
VarsityPuppet
Master of Puppets
 
VarsityPuppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 1,253
Current Game: Chrono Trigger
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Not a bad idea, though it's a overpowered IMO

And there is probably a way to script it.. it would just require global variables and many messy scripts

VarsityPuppet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2009, 12:37 PM   #6
rickyl3
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
I was looking through the scripts in KotOR tool and I found a few scripts that may be related to what I'm looking to have done:

BIFs/scripts.bif/Script, Source/k_con_darklow.nss
Checks if the player is slightly dark side.

BIFs/scripts.bif/Script, Source/k_con_lightlow.nss
Checks if the player is slightly light side.

BIFs/scripts.bif/Script, Source/k_con_def_buff.nss
Buffs the player at certain levels depending on class.

Would it be possible to somehow combine these scripts to give buffs depending on what alignment and level the character is? For example, a Jedi Guardian would have

Light side:
Level 16 = +3 Charisma
Level 17 = +3 Constitution
Level 18 = +1d8 Damage
Level 19 = Immunity to Poison
Level 20 = +50 Force Points

Dark Side:
Level 16 = Immunity Poison
Level 17 = +50 Force Points
Level 18 = +3 Charisma
Level 19 = +3 Constitution
Level 20 = +3 Strength

I didn't include the classes' natural bonus for each alignment because I know I'll just get that one naturally.
rickyl3 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2009, 01:13 PM   #7
VarsityPuppet
Master of Puppets
 
VarsityPuppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 1,253
Current Game: Chrono Trigger
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
The great trick is getting them to fire under the right circumstances, and not multiple times.

VarsityPuppet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2009, 03:39 PM   #8
rickyl3
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Do you mean without receiving the same bonus over and over again?

Otherwise, having the check happen over and over again would be beneficial so that the bonuses would be obtained whenever the player reaches the level.
(Still talking in the dark here, please don't get mad.)
rickyl3 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2009, 03:57 PM   #9
Mono_Giganto
Giant Monkey of Doom™
 
Mono_Giganto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,478
Current Game: Baldur's Gate EE
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Well, rather than apply the bonuses directly, couldn't you equip an item that had the bonuses as properties, to a hidden slot? It's been a while since I've done any scripting but I think that's how HK's bonuses are added in the first game.




Mono_Giganto is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2009, 04:13 PM   #10
VarsityPuppet
Master of Puppets
 
VarsityPuppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 1,253
Current Game: Chrono Trigger
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
@rickyl3
Exactly. The checks are not a problem, but on the other hand we don't want to keep adding bonuses over and over. You might find yourself at 100+ constitution and going higher and higher. It'll cause many aproblems for you. So yeah, basically, you're gonna want to find a way around that

@Giantmonkey
... oh yeah.. that could work... if there are enough slots


Last edited by VarsityPuppet; 08-19-2009 at 04:19 PM.
VarsityPuppet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2009, 07:20 PM   #11
rickyl3
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
I don't suppose there is some kind of stop script or something?
Or if there is some script that checks if the buff is already in effect and stops that check from occurring again?
Or if it is possible / would help to set up another check (one that is impossible like "the player is a droid") with the "False" result being to stop the other checks?

I'm guessing that there probably isn't one / it wouldn't help because one of you more script fluent people would probably have suggested that already. Tell me if this hot air conjecturing of mine is pointless.
rickyl3 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2009, 07:38 PM   #12
VarsityPuppet
Master of Puppets
 
VarsityPuppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 1,253
Current Game: Chrono Trigger
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
It is certainly not pointless... It just takes a bit of knowing what can and can't be done.

Since you seem set on accomplishing this, we'll take this matter to PMs. I have similar goals set so it's not that big of a deal.

VarsityPuppet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2009, 08:03 PM   #13
Mono_Giganto
Giant Monkey of Doom™
 
Mono_Giganto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,478
Current Game: Baldur's Gate EE
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by VarsityPuppet View Post
@Giantmonkey
... oh yeah.. that could work... if there are enough slots
Well, you only need to use one. You just have multiple items; one give the first bonus, one gives the first two, one gives the first three, etc. Then you switch them out with your script as necessary. I'm just not sure as to the extent of what can be done with the hidden slots, I've never used them much.




Mono_Giganto is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2009, 08:22 PM   #14
VarsityPuppet
Master of Puppets
 
VarsityPuppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 1,253
Current Game: Chrono Trigger
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
very good point. I've never done much with it either though. The way I see it though, is if there's a way to do it without adding items, then it should be done that way.

Ah... screw it. We'll just use the items.

VarsityPuppet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Modding requests > Changing Alignment Bonuses in KotOR1

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:26 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.