lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: tutorial request: Exporting and setting up a mask in a utc and bace items
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-06-2009, 10:01 PM   #1
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,504
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
tutorial request: Exporting and setting up a mask in a utc and bace items

Could someone wright a tutorial on exporting a mask and getting it fully set up for ingame use?




Canderis is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2009, 12:16 AM   #2
ROTNR
Rookie
 
ROTNR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: At home
Posts: 97
Current Game: KotOR
I think you want .uti ... .utc's are Character files... so if you would like a .uti tutorial let me know, I can write one for you.
ROTNR is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2009, 12:47 AM   #3
ROTNR
Rookie
 
ROTNR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: At home
Posts: 97
Current Game: KotOR
Actually, it's getting kinda late here almost midnight and I got skool tomorrow, so here's a .uti tutorial, I am almost positive that this is what you want.

Okay, so you want to make a mask eh? Well, it just so happens that I did this a little while back *about 3 months* so, I think I can help you with this. Basically, it is the same as if you were doing anything else. I personally, always open up a mask.mdl just to see the rough size it should be, then I make the .uti and change resrefs and stuff... anyway here's a tutorial.
-----Tutorial-----
Things you'll need:
1. KotOR Tool
2. A mask (Already created preferred)
3. NWMAX
4. MDLOps
5. (Optional) a brain :-p

Okay, so first start off by opening up your KotOR Tool and select a mask. (In my case i_mask_001) Then you will want to get the .MDL's and .MDX's exported to the same directory. In KotOR 1 you will click Aurora Model and Aurora Model extension to bring up from there export your mask.mdl and .mdx. Now, open MDLOps and select your version of KotOR. Then click select file and click "Read and Write model." *NOTE: MDLops will automatically change the name of the mdl to -ascii in order to ensure you do not overwrite it and to show that it is no longer a binary file.*

Then go into NWMAX and go to MDL Loading. Click browse, then select the .mdl. After this check "Import Geom Only" then import. Then go to file>merge>(Your created mask) *NOTE: MAsk may need to be exported to .3ds* Now, depending on how large the mask is, you may need to scale it down so that it may be around the same size as the .mdl you imported earlier. It's always a good idea to match the to ends together, depending on your mask, this may not be necessary.Then select the .mdl and click the edit tab. From there click the "editable poly" menu and choose select by element (The cube) then select attach and select your mesh. Now, delete the mask (NOT YOUR MASK). Now select the AuroraBase (Green Square), uncheck Do Sanity Checks, choose an Export Directory (Choose a different directory for this to ensure you do not overwrite the original .mdl) , then click Export Geom only.

Now, go back to MDLOps and select the new .mdl and click "Read and Write model." When it's finished it will say Finished Processing Model *Depending on how many faces your model has this may take a little while*

Now, open up KTOOL. Then open BIF's and select *For KotOR 1 at least* templates.bif then blueprint, Item. Then find a mask (KotOR 1 g_i_mask01 is the one I will use.) and double click it. Change the template resref to the name of your model dropping the .mdl extension of course, same goes for the tag. Keep everything else the same. Then you can go through the rest of the tabs at the top and decide what you want them to be. then save that file to the same place you used mdlops to read and write your models. (This makes everything a little more organized.) Now, drop the files into your override folder and you should be ready to go.

The finished result should look like this.



Here it is ingame (BTW: I just used a box as the mask and the texture carried over with the mask.)



BTW: If you want me to go through changing the icon and texture just let me know,
-Pete
ROTNR is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2009, 04:55 PM   #4
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,504
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Thanks, but isnt there a baseitems.2da part to making this?




Canderis is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2009, 05:21 PM   #5
TriggerGod
Senior Member
 
TriggerGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: hiding
Posts: 2,415
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canderis View Post
Thanks, but isnt there a baseitems.2da part to making this?
no. After you export a mask as whatever the mask model is, in the uti file, you just change the model variation to whatever number you gave to your model files.
TriggerGod is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2009, 05:53 PM   #6
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,504
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Thanks trig, I made the model and got it exported and stuff but it wont read the texture in gmax. How can I make the texture apply to it?




Canderis is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2009, 05:57 PM   #7
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canderis View Post
Thanks trig, I made the model and got it exported and stuff but it wont read the texture in gmax. How can I make the texture apply to it?
do you have a uwv map?

HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2009, 05:58 PM   #8
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,504
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
No, I was hoping I wouldn't need one

EDIT: i made the texture apply, thanks for the help guys!





Last edited by Canderis; 04-07-2009 at 06:05 PM.
Canderis is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2009, 06:16 PM   #9
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canderis View Post
No, I was hoping I wouldn't need one

EDIT: i made the texture apply, thanks for the help guys!
Any screenie of your mask?

HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2009, 06:26 PM   #10
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,504
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Not yet. I am getting the texture setup.


EDIT: heres a pic



EDIT 2:What do I name the texture to get it ingame?





Last edited by Canderis; 04-07-2009 at 06:41 PM.
Canderis is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2009, 06:59 PM   #11
ROTNR
Rookie
 
ROTNR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: At home
Posts: 97
Current Game: KotOR
to get a texture into the game, you need to first apply it to your mesh in NWMAX and make sure the UVW's are good. Then when you go to export it, make sure "Copy TGA's" is checked, then move your texture into the override folder with your models and you will be good to go.
-Pete

EDIT: BTW you may need to make sure that you have the texture saved as a .TGA... (http://www.gimp.org <--- this will help with that if you don't have photoshop.)

Last edited by ROTNR; 04-07-2009 at 07:33 PM.
ROTNR is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2009, 08:04 PM   #12
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
the name doesnt matter. But yes, you need a uvw.

HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2009, 08:28 PM   #13
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,504
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
I do use gimp RONTR, so the name does not matter? Do I hex edit the model to read the texture?




Canderis is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2009, 08:30 PM   #14
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canderis View Post
I do use gimp RONTR, so the name does not matter? Do I hex edit the model to read the texture?
No. As long as the texture is applied in gmax it should work, and of course the texture, uwv, and model in the override.

HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2009, 08:48 PM   #15
TriggerGod
Senior Member
 
TriggerGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: hiding
Posts: 2,415
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by HK-42 View Post
...uvw...in the override.
You don't need a .uvw file in your override folder at all. As long as you have it exported and you have 'baked' (in gmax all you have to do is detach the parts of the model you seperated to an element (visual aid))

Quote:
Do I hex edit the model to read the texture?
As long as you have the texture applied in max, it will work. No hex editing required after you export it out of max.
TriggerGod is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-18-2009, 04:47 PM   #16
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,504
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
I have been having trouble with this again. I got everything exported and set up following the tut but I keep getting the base item. Any tips?





Last edited by RedHawke; 07-19-2009 at 02:22 AM.
Canderis is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-19-2009, 10:18 PM   #17
ROTNR
Rookie
 
ROTNR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: At home
Posts: 97
Current Game: KotOR
Well, make sure that the .mdl files are in different folders to avoid confusion. Make sure you read and write your new .mdl for the compiled .mdl and .mdx files. also make sure you change the texture so it will look correct =).
hope this helps,
-Pete

ROTNR is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-19-2009, 10:21 PM   #18
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,504
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Nope, didn't help, its not the model files I don't think. They are fine. Its the utc. I followed the steps but still not working.




Canderis is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-19-2009, 10:37 PM   #19
ROTNR
Rookie
 
ROTNR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: At home
Posts: 97
Current Game: KotOR
hmm... the things that come to mind are making the tag and template resref the same. *Maybe Changing the model variation* and make sure that baseitem is Mask. Other than these would be the only things *I think* that would be wrong with the .utc file. But you can open it in KGFF Editor to see anything else that might be a problem. Also, try using a different .utc then the mask you modified, that might be another possible answer. If you wish, you can go here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9nhANwCZ6jg for my video tutorial on doing this (Only took me 3 months to put the tutorial on Youtube xD) just to make sure that you aren't keeping out any steps.
hope this helps,
-Pete

ROTNR is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-20-2009, 02:07 PM   #20
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,504
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Well I got it ingame now, but I got another problem, Its probably just positioning in gmax, nothing big
Show spoiler


Right?




Canderis is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-23-2014, 02:26 PM   #21
211Darthrevan443
Lurker
 
211Darthrevan443's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: The Void
Posts: 1
Current Game: Kotor 2
Hello, can you please tell Me how you got it ingame, I know its 2014, but I still like to mod "Kotor". You probably won't reply to this, since you posted this in 2008, but it's worth a try...
211Darthrevan443 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-24-2014, 11:48 PM   #22
DeathScepter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 190
Btw, Would this thread help with my Jedi Robe idea? I was thinking of new Jedi Robes and using Dark Jedi NPC's robes in various colors. and optional crystals and new upgrades.
DeathScepter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-25-2014, 02:05 AM   #23
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,504
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Wow. This is ancient haha. I was 13 then I think. I've been here too long it seems!
Quote:
Originally Posted by 211Darthrevan443 View Post
Hello, can you please tell Me how you got it ingame, I know its 2014, but I still like to mod "Kotor". You probably won't reply to this, since you posted this in 2008, but it's worth a try...
Did you read the third post in this thread? It explains the whole process.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathScepter View Post
Btw, Would this thread help with my Jedi Robe idea? I was thinking of new Jedi Robes and using Dark Jedi NPC's robes in various colors. and optional crystals and new upgrades.
I don't think this would help you with that. Some of the other tutorials would help you better. I wrote one that might help. http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=202892




Canderis is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-26-2014, 05:11 PM   #24
DeathScepter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 190
thank you. I will look into that. One of my jedi robes idea is a Dark Jedi NPC Robes that PC, Bastila, Juhani and Jolee can use
DeathScepter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > tutorial request: Exporting and setting up a mask in a utc and bace items

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:39 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.