lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: T3-M4 Dialog Skipping Fix
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-15-2009, 11:17 AM   #1
Mono_Giganto
Giant Monkey of Doom™
 
Mono_Giganto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,478
Current Game: Baldur's Gate EE
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
T3-M4 Dialog Skipping Fix

Hey everyone.

This is a small fix that should prevent T3's dialog lines from randomly skipping as they occasionally did in the original version of the game.

The reason T3's dialog skips occasionally is because Obsidian incorporated a way to override a dialog's VOs with VOs selected from a table; specifically, alienvo.2da. T3 is considered an alien in this respect, as all of his lines are taken from this 2DA, and any VO specifications in his dialog are ignored. The issue arose because some of the filenames referenced in alienvo.2da did not exist. I simply pointed those lines to the corresponding utility droid lines, or in some cases, to other T3 lines of similar emotion.

It's possible that this mod does not cover every single instance of skipping, since T3 could possibly have lines in other dialogs that do not make use of this file. Hopefully, such lines do not exist, and if they exist, hopefully they are not bugged, but if I come across any as I play, I will release an update. I've played through 2 planets with T3 so far, though, without any problems.

Download

Enjoy!




Mono_Giganto is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-15-2009, 12:30 PM   #2
Laar_Dha
Rookie
 
Laar_Dha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: California
Posts: 129
Current Game: Skyrim
What a great idea. I'm really going to enjoy this. That glitch was pretty darn irritating. I've always wanted to actually see T-3 talking to Grenn and it always skips. This one deserves a big


Ke nu'jurkadir sha Mando'ade
Laar_Dha is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-15-2009, 12:38 PM   #3
SW01
3 Years in the Lurk
 
SW01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Northern Ireland, UK
Posts: 1,075
Current Game: Real Life
Ah excellent! Any improvement to that annoying little bug is most welcome - many thanks Mono_Giganto!


SW01 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-15-2009, 01:20 PM   #4
Miltiades
Death... by Exile
 
Miltiades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bruges, Belgium
Posts: 2,829
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire 
Fixes are always appreciated. Good job, Mono.


PSN id: BE_Miltiades

Miltiades is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-15-2009, 04:50 PM   #5
Mindtwistah
Junior Member
 
Mindtwistah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Derka Derka
Posts: 470
THANK YOU

Thank you.

This bug annoyed the sith out of me.

Edit: ****ing **** censor!


Mindtwistah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-19-2009, 07:59 PM   #6
Qui-Gon Glenn
Necessary Roughneck
 
Qui-Gon Glenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thessia
Posts: 1,464
Current Game: ME3MP, Arkham Origins
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Forum Veteran Veteran Modder 
Yes, thank you. Another mod I used to play had fixed it well, but I like that this mod stands alone and plays nicely with others, like mods are supposed to.

Thank you Mono!
Qui-Gon Glenn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-19-2009, 09:20 PM   #7
Mono_Giganto
Giant Monkey of Doom™
 
Mono_Giganto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,478
Current Game: Baldur's Gate EE
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by qui_gon_glenn View Post
Yes, thank you. Another mod I used to play had fixed it well, but I like that this mod stands alone and plays nicely with others, like mods are supposed to.

Thank you Mono!
Interesting, I've never actually seen a mod that corrected this; had I, I probably would have just used that one!

Glad you appreciate it for its smallness, though.




Mono_Giganto is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-26-2009, 11:45 PM   #8
Mono_Giganto
Giant Monkey of Doom™
 
Mono_Giganto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,478
Current Game: Baldur's Gate EE
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Now that I've actually been able to play, I've come across a rather small bug with this mod; despite the corrections to the 2DA file, T3's "sad" dialog entries would still skip. I compared T3's "sad" folder to the rest of his folders, and noticed that it was the only folder not to contain three clips for each length of response; it only had one each for short, medium, and long. I made two copies of each and sure enough, that fixed the problem.

I'll be reuploading the file soon, I just need to double check with Shem or J7 to make sure I'm not stepping on any toes by editing my own submission. In the meantime, this is a simple thing to fix:

Navigate to "StreamVoice\AVO\_T3M4SA" within the game's directory, copy all three files in that folder twice, and change the 1 to a 2, and then to a 3. I'm sure there's a more efficient way to tell the game to only view the first copy of the file rather than duplicating it, but I didn't feel like spending hours trying to learn how the game would do that, when I could just let Windows do it for me.




Mono_Giganto is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2009, 12:59 PM   #9
Mono_Giganto
Giant Monkey of Doom™
 
Mono_Giganto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,478
Current Game: Baldur's Gate EE
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Here is the updated file.

I've played halfway through the game with this version, with T3 more or less in my party the entire time, and have not encountered any skips so I don't think there should be any more issues.




Mono_Giganto is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-02-2009, 11:44 PM   #10
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
hehe, I set out to fix this about 3 different times and then promptly became interested in another game. I'm glad to see that someone finally got around to making this happen.

Well done, Your Monkeyness.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2009, 10:59 AM   #11
Mono_Giganto
Giant Monkey of Doom™
 
Mono_Giganto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,478
Current Game: Baldur's Gate EE
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Glad I could be of service.




Mono_Giganto is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Taris Upper City Emporium > T3-M4 Dialog Skipping Fix

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:47 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.