lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Repair HK
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-23-2010, 03:28 PM   #1
Funderbunk
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Repair HK

I have a question. I want to do a Scoundrel Guardian build, but I like HK a lot and I want to repair HK and I don't really like cheating. Can this combo garner enough repair points to fully repair HK (before the Leviathan, obviously), considering neither get repair as a class skill? Preferably without putting the base INT beyond 14 and without wasting the few feats you get for Gear Head? Does the Calrissian Belt's added repair points count for repairing HK?

As far as I can tell, I should be able to get 17 repair by level 15, but I don't remember at what level you get to the Leviathan - and it also requires me to use one feat for implant level 1 and use the calrissian belt.

And for that matter, same question for a Scoundrel / Consular? I know in TSL a Consular gets repair as a class skill, but is the same true for Kotor 1?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by Funderbunk; 03-23-2010 at 04:10 PM.
Funderbunk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-23-2010, 04:36 PM   #2
Roller123
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 50
Yep, consular gets repair as class skill in kotor1 too. As for the cheating consider that it is also more like circumventing game NWN engine limitations which cant handle dialog checks. I dont see a reason why T3-M4 shouldnt be able to repair HK47, its not exactly an intimate act or something. I just gave my soldier/guardian sufficient repair with KSE and and didnt think of it anymore. Its not like he is using it for anything else. To each its own though.

AFAIR Leviathan appears after a number of StarMaps are done, not by level.
Roller123 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-23-2010, 04:51 PM   #3
Funderbunk
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
That's true, but I meant it more as a general "before finding 4 starmaps (dantooine included), will you be level 15?"
Funderbunk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-23-2010, 05:52 PM   #4
Roller123
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 50
17- 4(starting) - 2(from int14) - 1(from Force Valor)=10 => You can get enough repair @lvl11 already, which is like immediately after Dantooine. Since HK itself is on Tatooine, there is a good chance youll encounter him already with enough repair(no no really, but no problems getting it there then).

Dont remember for Tatootine, but visiting Kashyyk first i ended up with lvl14. Should be similar. In short no probs at all, providing Repair is a class skill.
Roller123 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-23-2010, 09:52 PM   #5
deathdisco
Bastards of Young
 
deathdisco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Left of the Dial
Posts: 709
Veteran Modder Contest winner - Modding 
Don't forget to grab Calrissian's Utility Belt from the merchants on Dantooine. +3 to your Repair skill.

deathdisco is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-23-2010, 09:56 PM   #6
Darth Avlectus
Your point?
 
Darth Avlectus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Attack on Titan
Posts: 4,229
Current Game: Soul Calibur 5
Either consular or scout have repair in your natural skill talents in K1.

Mind you that you also need to have at least a 13 repair and to find all items in the game that boost the repair skill. I believe the magic total number to unlock all features is 17. A pair of gloves, a belt and a head piece IIRC.

Sorry, but I do not believe your character alone can do it as-is.

However I do know a trick (maybe it's a bug in K1 for my system ) if you talk to HK-47 as an NPC teammate (Zaalbar or T3) with a high enough repair skill (HK-47 AND said "talented member" obviously must be in your party at the same time and it must be outside the Ebon Hawk), it automatically switches to the main player character. HOWEVER, you will have the skill stats of the NPC teammate you first used to engage HK-47.

So as, say, T3 you have a 20 repair for example... As T3-M4 you go up to HK-47, and engage. It switches over to your main Player Character for dialog. Attempt repair, machine check shows your current skill is 20. That should do the trick. I think the patch "fixes" this little bug unfortunately.

This also works for other instances, just can't recall what those are since I haven't played K1 in a long time.

Hope that helps.


"I cant see S***! --YOU GO TO HELL!" --Tourettes guy
Darth Avlectus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2010, 11:26 AM   #7
Funderbunk
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks, I'll try that!
Funderbunk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Game Discussion > Republic Newsfeed > Repair HK

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:03 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.