lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: MAX_MAP_VISIBILITY exceeded
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-03-2004, 08:14 AM   #1
Chris Y
Rookie
 
Chris Y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 23
MAX_MAP_VISIBILITY exceeded

Yeah... what does this mean? Is my map too large or do I have to much empty space?

Ive got a pretty large map. It's supposed to be a town and i've given the players quite space.
Chris Y is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2004, 10:47 AM   #2
Mercenary
 
Mercenary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 381
I would say search but it's disabled and it sucks because there's tons of useful information there.

The error means too much of your map is structural. Make all the brushes that should be detail into detail brushes.

http://www.nibsworld.com/rtcw/tutori...es_part1.shtml

If that doesn't work go to your worldspawn and add Key:_blocksize Value: 2048 2048 2048

error resources:

http://www.wolfensteinx.com/surface/...le_errors.html

http://teamhuh.net/raven/Q3sup.htm
Mercenary is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-04-2004, 02:34 AM   #3
Chris Y
Rookie
 
Chris Y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 23
Thanks for help but that wasn't the problem... I had a veeeeeery deep well. (like 40 000 cordinates) Well it's shorter now. :P
Thanks anyways!
Chris Y is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-26-2005, 08:08 AM   #4
GL_Niels
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 29
yes it means your map is too big
10,000 by 10,000 grid units is best size
i think max is 11,000 by 11,000 but i keep to 10,000.,
GL_Niels is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-21-2007, 06:29 PM   #5
mikeeusa
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
Motified compiler

https://cat2.dynserv.org/cat2/programs.html#Q3MAP2

I've edited the compiler so as to remove those restrictions ^^.


Motified Q3map2 Quake 3 Map Compiler: The (gpl'd) Quake 3 map compiler (q3map2) failed to compile my map "castlebunker" after it got to a certain point in hugeness. It failed because it kept erroring out due to hardlimits programmed into the code of q3map2. The errors were: MAX_EDGE_LINES and MAX_VISIBILITY_EXCEEDED. This edit raises the MAX_EDGE_LINES and MAX_ORIGINAL_EDGES to 16 times what they normally(65,535) are to 1,048,560. It also removes the size limit on visibility data (MAX_VISIBILITY_EXCEEDED).

Enjoy and tell me how you like.
mikeeusa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-18-2010, 01:29 PM   #6
Zwier Zak
Junior Member
 
Zwier Zak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 254
Sorry to bump an old thread but could someone please upload the compiler posted above? I could sure use it right now.
Zwier Zak is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > MAX_MAP_VISIBILITY exceeded

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:34 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.