lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Reskinning a Module?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-02-2010, 06:46 PM   #1
Dak Drexl
Senior Member
 
Dak Drexl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,079
Helpful! 
Reskinning a Module?

I looked through tutorials and stuff but couldn't find anything, so here goes. I'm trying to reskin a module for the first time, but I can't seem to find the files I need. I just need someone to point me in the right direction. If it makes a difference, the module I'm wanting to reskin is "manm26ab", the republic base in particular. Thanks in advance.

Dak Drexl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2010, 07:00 PM   #2
Rtas Vadum
Behold The Envoy...
 
Rtas Vadum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 744
Current Game: TES 4: Oblivion/3: Morrowind
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dak Drexl View Post
I looked through tutorials and stuff but couldn't find anything, so here goes. I'm trying to reskin a module for the first time, but I can't seem to find the files I need. I just need someone to point me in the right direction. If it makes a difference, the module I'm wanting to reskin is "manm26ab", the republic base in particular. Thanks in advance.
Trouble is, while each planet uses unique textures(in most respects), they are repeated on their respective planets. So you could say, change a door texture in the Republic Base, and change the doors in Ahto City, if they are the same(I forget if they are). But the textures for Manaan are under ERFs->TexturePacks->SWPC_Tex_a->L, with the prefix LMA.

Rtas Vadum is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2010, 07:44 PM   #3
Dak Drexl
Senior Member
 
Dak Drexl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,079
Helpful! 
Oh I see what you mean in regards to "generic" textures. As usual, thanks a bunch for the help Rtas.

Dak Drexl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2010, 08:18 PM   #4
newbiemodder
Gentleman Modder
 
newbiemodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 706
Veteran Modder 
Are you creating a new module using the republic base or do you just not like the look of the republic base and want to give it a new look


Who's more foolish, the fool or the fool that follows?

Just exactly what is a head-piece to the Staff of Ra?

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=206819

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=206541

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...t=newbiemodder
newbiemodder is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2010, 08:40 PM   #5
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,514
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
I found textures by double clicking the model file(s) then following the instructions it gives.




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2010, 10:53 PM   #6
Dak Drexl
Senior Member
 
Dak Drexl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,079
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by newbiemodder View Post
Are you creating a new module using the republic base or do you just not like the look of the republic base and want to give it a new look
Just want to give it a new look for a mod me and a few others are working on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Canderis View Post
I found textures by double clicking the model file(s) then following the instructions it gives.
I think I tried this first, but I could be wrong. It said it couldn't open because the gff editor wasn't in the same directory or something. Would that be a problem?

Dak Drexl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2010, 10:58 PM   #7
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,514
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
The .mdl files not .are .git or .ifo




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-03-2010, 07:28 PM   #8
Dak Drexl
Senior Member
 
Dak Drexl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,079
Helpful! 
I got it. Thanks for all the help everyone.

Dak Drexl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Reskinning a Module?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:35 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.