lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: PC Lag
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-18-2010, 09:24 PM   #1
Revan 411
Forumite
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 514
PC Lag

I am at the discomfort of asking you guys for help.

This problem, which I'll explain to you in a minute, started 2 weeks ago on April 2, 2010. And it has been a curse upon my computer for quite sometime now. I don't know what caused this, but that's not what my objection is. What it is though, is finding out how to get rid of this problem, and making sure it never, ever, happens again. (Which, by the way, is a fantasy dream if you have products from companies such as Microsoft.)

The problem is that whenever I try to play a Video Game on my PC, it lags. And by lag, I mean the frame - rate drops from my default 40 - 30, all the way to 2. The video screen is completely out of sync with the audio, and the entire experiences drops apart. Its a universal problem; meaning that it affects all the games that are installed, not just KotOR or Dragon Age: Origins. Here, let me show you a video on what happens so you guys will have a clear view of what my problem is.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VYbfHgy67mE

Now, I'm sure many of you would like to know the run-down on my system specs; that's not a problem for me.

Processor: Intel® Core™2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
Graphic Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GS
Clock Speed: 2399 MHz
Physical Memory: (In other-words: A RAM) 3.99 GB
VRAM: 512 MB
Graphic Card Driver Version: 197.13
Sound Adapter: Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Sound Driver Version: 6.0.1.5657
Operating System: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium (64 bit)
Direct X Version: DirectX 10.0 (Aug2009) or later

If you know how to fix this problem, then don't hesitate to post. I would gladly appreciate it.


Revan 411 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-18-2010, 09:55 PM   #2
urluckyday
Up all night to get lucky
 
urluckyday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Beautiful USA
Posts: 2,760
Current Game: Red Orchestra 2
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
This happened to me when my video card got too hot...it would slow down to a crawl playing any game...is your laptop/tower ventilated well?



If I die today, I'm happy how my life turned out
urluckyday is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-18-2010, 09:59 PM   #3
Revan 411
Forumite
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 514
If your referring to my fan, then yes. I'd say it's quite well ventilated. (I'm on a desk-top by the way.)

I think it's the processor or the video-card that's causing all this; not exactly sure.


Revan 411 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-18-2010, 10:15 PM   #4
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
I think that a comprehensive malware scan is in order. Download, install and update these three antispyware/antimalware scanners, Then boot into Safe Mode as an administrator (tap F8 after the BIOS POST screen and before Windows starts to boot) and run them:

Ad-Aware.
Malwarebytes -Don't worry; it's free to download and just use the scanner.
SuperAntiSpyware.

Also, what antivirus are you using?


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-18-2010, 10:24 PM   #5
Revan 411
Forumite
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Q View Post
Also, what antivirus are you using?
Heh... promise not to laugh or anything, but I'm using Windows Live OneCare. I know, not the best choice, but it came with my computer and has proven reliable so far. (For me at least.) And I'll do a virus scan right now.


Revan 411 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-18-2010, 10:27 PM   #6
DarthSlinky
Rookie
 
DarthSlinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 97
Current Game: Starcraft II
You could also try reinstalling your graphics card drivers, I believe NVIDIA just added version 197.45, why not give that a shot.


Freude, schöner Götterfunken Tochter aus Elysium, Wir betreten feuertrunken, Himmlische, dein Heiligtum! Deine Zauber binden wieder Was die Mode streng geteilt; Alle Menschen werden Brüder, Wo dein sanfter Flügel weilt.
DarthSlinky is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-18-2010, 10:28 PM   #7
urluckyday
Up all night to get lucky
 
urluckyday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Beautiful USA
Posts: 2,760
Current Game: Red Orchestra 2
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
Actually (you all know I love M$, but I'm being serious), OneCare has a pretty good rep for being able to detect most viruses and malware, and it is light on system resources so you know it's not holding it down. Now, just like any other AV, it can miss viruses/spyware just because their definitions aren't known at the time.

I would choose the "Tune-Up" option that comes with OneCare and do a complete system...well...tune-up and see if that helps (and that will include a virus scan).

Let us know if that helps.



If I die today, I'm happy how my life turned out
urluckyday is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-18-2010, 10:31 PM   #8
Revan 411
Forumite
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthSlinky View Post
You could also try reinstalling your graphics card drivers, I believe NVIDIA just added version 197.45, why not give that a shot.
I already updated to the latest drivers, and the problem is still there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by urluckyday
Let us know if that helps.
I've done a scan, and it seems that OneCare didn't detect any form of virus's or Malware installed on this computer.


Revan 411 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-18-2010, 10:33 PM   #9
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revan 411 View Post
Heh... promise not to laugh or anything, but I'm using Windows Live OneCare. I know, not the best choice, but it came with my computer and has proven reliable so far. (For me at least.) And I'll do a virus scan right now.
Time to upgrade to Microsoft Security Essentials. It's what I use and it's excellent. It's gotten almost universally positive reviews, so it's pretty much the opposite of Windows Live OneCare.

It's also available in a 64-bit flavor.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-18-2010, 10:56 PM   #10
urluckyday
Up all night to get lucky
 
urluckyday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Beautiful USA
Posts: 2,760
Current Game: Red Orchestra 2
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
Hmmm...did these problems begin to occur when you installed the new drivers?



If I die today, I'm happy how my life turned out
urluckyday is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-18-2010, 11:20 PM   #11
Revan 411
Forumite
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 514
I have absolute no idea how it began, or what caused it. I do know that the previous drivers I had installed prior to version 197.45 was version 197.13. And the problem existed long before I installed the new drivers.


Revan 411 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2010, 01:21 AM   #12
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
sounds like an issue with either temperatures or the video drivers not correctly running the game in 3D mode.

to check temps, you'll need SpeedFan and Intel's Burn Testfor the CPU. then, you'll need Furmark for the GPU.

start checking the CPU first. install SpeedFan first and get it running. if you want to log the temps, click "Configure". in the new window, click on the "Logs" tab, and then tick the "Enabled" option. this should open some new options which you can configure (although it isn't necessary). then, you'll need to get Intel Burn Test running. it should open a command prompt screen. at the first prompt, enter "y" to enable error detection. at the next prompt, enter "1" to enable maximum stress. when you're ready to start the test, enter "5" in the last prompt. if you're using SpeedFan to log the temps, then you can safely turn off your monitor and walk away for a couple minutes or so. just make sure you keep an eye on things, though, because the Burn Test *will* stress your CPU and RAM. in SpeedFan, you'll be wanting to make sure that Core Temp isn't getting higher than 90C.

testing the GPU is a simpler process with Furmark since it has a built in temperature monitor. install Furmark and run it. in the "Run Mode" section, select the following: "Stability Test", "Xtreme Burning Mode", and "Post FX". then, click the big "Go!" button at the bottom. it should open a new window with some neat looking effects going on. what you should watch, though, is the graph at the bottom of the window as this is the temp monitor. essentially, you'll want to see what the maximum temp that your video card is reaching, but you'll want to make sure that it doesn't get higher than 100C. also, its worth mentioning that Furmark will also give you a FPS counter in the top left.

anyways, this should let you see exactly how your hardware is holding up. if this doesn't expose any problems, then my money is on the video drivers.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2010, 06:33 AM   #13
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Q View Post
Time to upgrade to Microsoft Security Essentials. It's what I use and it's excellent. It's gotten almost universally positive reviews, so it's pretty much the opposite of Windows Live OneCare.
MSE is built with the same detection algorithms of LiveOneCare. The problem with LOC was its implementation(and cost). Also, coming into existence with the ire that Vista got, it never got a favourable look.

Now, dudes are frothing all over MSE, which , from a AV point of view is exactly that part of LOC. It's like the whole Vista/Mojave/Win7 perception distortion filter all over again

Whilst LOC stopped being sold in late 2009, I believe the definition updates will continue as long as a subscription was in effect.

OT:

I hope it is a malware problem - because that is easier fixed than a hardware problem. Implement what stinger has laid out and see how you go with the stress tests.

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat

Last edited by Astrotoy7; 04-21-2010 at 10:02 AM.
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2010, 03:08 PM   #14
Revan 411
Forumite
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 514
Thanks stingerhs.

I did a test, and I got these results:

Maximum
Standred

As for the GPU, well, here you go:

Show spoiler

Once it reached to 115, the program crashed.

Anyway, can someone help me understand these? I'm sorta lost with these results.


Revan 411 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2010, 07:43 PM   #15
urluckyday
Up all night to get lucky
 
urluckyday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Beautiful USA
Posts: 2,760
Current Game: Red Orchestra 2
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
^It's beginning to look like a heat problem...



If I die today, I'm happy how my life turned out
urluckyday is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2010, 07:52 PM   #16
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Yeah, damn right it is. R411, you're going to have to remove your graphics card and clean all of the dust out of the heatsink and its fan. While you're at it, you might as well clean the entire inside of your PC. That should fix the problem. This should be done periodically, according to how dusty your place is.

Stingerhs nailed this one.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2010, 10:32 PM   #17
urluckyday
Up all night to get lucky
 
urluckyday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Beautiful USA
Posts: 2,760
Current Game: Red Orchestra 2
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
Be sure to get some compressed air cans...that should do the trick.

Good call Stingerhs. I figured it might have to do with heat...



If I die today, I'm happy how my life turned out
urluckyday is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2010, 10:49 PM   #18
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrotoy7 View Post
Now, dudes are frothing all over MSE, which , from a AV point of view is exactly that part of LOC. It's like the whole Vista/Mojave/Win7 perception distortion filter all over again
I thought MSE used a different scanning engine.

My bad.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-21-2010, 10:05 AM   #19
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Great job stinger!

whoa!! @ GPU heat tests. Even in my cramped shuttle case and with my dual GPU card, I can nudge the low 90s on a hot day after many hours of folding - but 115C is crazy hot - especially in a standard case!

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-21-2010, 11:17 PM   #20
DarthSlinky
Rookie
 
DarthSlinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 97
Current Game: Starcraft II
115*
Wow, are you sure your GPU fan is even working?

Don't turn on your PC on a hot day.


Freude, schöner Götterfunken Tochter aus Elysium, Wir betreten feuertrunken, Himmlische, dein Heiligtum! Deine Zauber binden wieder Was die Mode streng geteilt; Alle Menschen werden Brüder, Wo dein sanfter Flügel weilt.
DarthSlinky is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Community Discussion > General LFNetwork Forums > General Tech Discussion > PC Lag

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:29 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.