lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: My external harddrive has stopped working
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-17-2010, 07:01 PM   #1
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
My external harddrive has stopped working

My 500 WD 500GB Passport has stopped working. I have used it for a few months and have about 200GB on it.

Now when I plugged it into my computer(vista) it says you need to format the disk in drive F: before you can use it. Yes or No, but this will erase my data. I have used it on this computer many times and have no idea why it is messing up now. Any idea how I can save my data?

HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-18-2010, 12:58 AM   #2
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
That sucks. Tried it in any other pcs?

What does windows disc manager say?
Start>type in manage>computer management>select 'disk management' under storage and see what it says about the partitions(healthy, active etc)

Have you tried checking the disc for errors?
(go into computer>r click the drive in question>properties>tools>error checking)

Inside the shell of those things is a plain old laptop drive. Sometimes the circuitry that allows the SATA>USB interface gets affected - quite often from people who simply yank it out rather disconnect it from the USB manager (among many other reasons)

Also, just to be sure, try some different USB cables/ports if possible

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-18-2010, 01:06 PM   #3
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
The Disk manager says it is healthy primary partition, and I cant check the disc for errors, cause when I right click on it freezes. And I tried all 4 ports, I havent used another computer because I dont have any.(but I did try my xbox and it did not appear)

HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-18-2010, 03:00 PM   #4
DarthSlinky
Rookie
 
DarthSlinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 97
Current Game: Starcraft II
Yeah sticking it into another computer might help, try an XP that sometimes works.


Freude, schöner Götterfunken Tochter aus Elysium, Wir betreten feuertrunken, Himmlische, dein Heiligtum! Deine Zauber binden wieder Was die Mode streng geteilt; Alle Menschen werden Brüder, Wo dein sanfter Flügel weilt.
DarthSlinky is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2010, 12:31 AM   #5
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
this is going to sound like an obvious question, but have you tried using a different USB cable??

i'm asking because it sounds like the signal from the drive is either being corrupted somehow or just flat out not responding properly. hopefully, its something as simple as the cable because if it isn't, then its likely the HD itself.

i'm going to assume that its under warranty; so if it is the HD, it should be a simple matter of contacting WD for support.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2010, 04:39 PM   #6
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
I dont have any extra usbs for this HD, but I did try a random usb that could fit and that did not work either. Also on XP it read the device(making the device inserted sound) but could not install it.

Would it be safe to format the HD besides the fact it erases my memory?(if its not already gone)

HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2010, 06:59 PM   #7
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Yeah, it should be perfectly safe to do that. I'd still try hooking it up to another PC first. Just borrow someone else's for a couple of minutes.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-25-2010, 05:08 PM   #8
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
well ive been trying to format it but so far it has been saying the parameter is in incorrect.

EDIT: Nevermind fixed. The format took all day slow as hell, but formatted and working. Thanks for helping!


Last edited by HK-42; 04-26-2010 at 12:08 AM.
HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2010, 08:33 AM   #9
DarthSlinky
Rookie
 
DarthSlinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 97
Current Game: Starcraft II
Good job

Sometimes portal hard drives, and flash drives just need to be plugged into another computer and reformatted.

Does anyone know if 7 corrupts portable drives like this? or is it just a Vista thing?


Freude, schöner Götterfunken Tochter aus Elysium, Wir betreten feuertrunken, Himmlische, dein Heiligtum! Deine Zauber binden wieder Was die Mode streng geteilt; Alle Menschen werden Brüder, Wo dein sanfter Flügel weilt.
DarthSlinky is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-02-2010, 01:36 PM   #10
CapNColostomy
Custom User Title
 
CapNColostomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Across your face.
Posts: 2,497
I'm having a similar problem myself. I have a seagate go 500gb external hd that crapped out on me yesterday. I don't particularly wish to reformat it. I've tried disk management. It freezes up if the drive is connected. Also, booting up takes me to blank black screen with only a cursor. If I ctrl-alt-del, I can get by that, but a system 32 window pops up. Without the drive connected, booting up is normal. When I hook the drive up, I get prompted with a "safely eject hardware" message in the taskbar. If I click on that, it shows the seagate drive there. It doesn't show up in the My Computer anymore. I've tried connecting it to other computers with no luck. I hate to admit defeat, but it looks like I may have to reformat it to me. Any ideas?


CapNColostomy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-04-2010, 10:53 AM   #11
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by CapNColostomy View Post
I'm having a similar problem myself.
Gday CapN. Nice to see you around these parts, though I wish it were under better circumstances as far as your HDD goes.

*Does that drive replicate that behaviour when you plug it into another PC?
*tried a different USB cable/port/both?
*Have you run chkdsk on it?

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Community Discussion > General LFNetwork Forums > General Tech Discussion > My external harddrive has stopped working

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:01 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.