lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: playing a game? choose the right operating system
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-01-2010, 12:14 PM   #1
Darth_Sasuna
Rookie
 
Darth_Sasuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 81
Smile playing a game? choose the right operating system

ok this is a fact about ur operating system when running games one with vista it takes up to 20-40% more rescources to run applications so u it is just harder to run games along with its big lag of non backwards compatibility of games. (works with some some not at all ones i played with it sucked just dog lag).

windows 7 has no backwards compatibility as well so that sucks to also you must have a xp mode pre installed for it to work on a xp type status which is rly for small buisnesses.

XP XP XP XP!!!!!: best has all good sides of those down sides hahahaha so i wont say them. best choice because u actually use ur power wisely and not take crap up not needed (money you save using this os i have tried and asked professonials).

the others are great os's just not for gaming

any arguments start here.


90% of teens today would die if myspace or facebook had a system failure. If you are one of the 10% that would sit and laugh copy this to your signature.
92% precent of teens today have moved on to rap. If you are one of the 8% that still rock out copy this to your signature.
Darth_Sasuna is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-01-2010, 10:18 PM   #2
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
This is very subjective - people use their pcs in very different ways. The hardware I have and programs I use mean that a 64bit Vista/Win7 environment is best for me. XP 64 bit pales in comparison, and was only ever designed as a business platform - it never really took off to tell truth, and its driver support is woeful.

Some other points:

*XP is limited to older shader models and directx9, older ATI cards aren't even getting directx9 updates anymore. Those who buy new DX10/11 cards are not using their card to their full potential.

*Some versions of XP are no longer supported.... such as media center edition, tablet pc edition. They will get basic security fixes but nothing correcting or updating compatibility glitches that newly arise

It all depends on what hardware you have, what games you want to play. If you're running at sub 1600x1200 and play a bunch of old games, you might as well stay on XP.

Also, as most people who are dedicated to older games will do, dual booting is easy to set up - gives you the best of all worlds

Quote:
the others are great os's just not for gaming
Someone with a directx11 card on a no longer supported media center platform trying to make a game from 1998 run would always say that of course!!

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat

Last edited by Astrotoy7; 06-02-2010 at 12:48 PM.
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-01-2010, 10:36 PM   #3
urluckyday
Up all night to get lucky
 
urluckyday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Beautiful USA
Posts: 2,754
Current Game: Red Orchestra 2
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
^That. Choosing the right operating system is varied by what the person needs it for and what kind of person they are...



If I die today, I'm happy how my life turned out
urluckyday is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-02-2010, 10:40 AM   #4
Darth_Sasuna
Rookie
 
Darth_Sasuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 81
haha so since i got a radeon 5750 is that the reason i cant play age of empires rise of rome collectors edition for long why it has errors in game and ends it. because it wont support direct x9?


90% of teens today would die if myspace or facebook had a system failure. If you are one of the 10% that would sit and laugh copy this to your signature.
92% precent of teens today have moved on to rap. If you are one of the 8% that still rock out copy this to your signature.
Darth_Sasuna is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-02-2010, 12:39 PM   #5
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth_Sasuna View Post
haha so since i got a radeon 5750 is that the reason i cant play age of empires rise of rome collectors edition for long why it has errors in game and ends it. because it wont support direct x9?
The new cards are designed to be backwards compatible to a degree, but glitches are inevitable, especially on the older titles that are pre DX9.

AoE/Rise of Rome is a 1998 title, so is most likely sporting DirectX 6 under the hood. I remember when DX6 was all new and shiny and exciting - I think that makes me an old fogey

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat

Last edited by Astrotoy7; 06-02-2010 at 12:46 PM.
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-02-2010, 03:51 PM   #6
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Wanna hear something funny? My beloved Baldur's Gate series, or any Infinity Engine game, for that matter, actually runs better on Vista and 7 than it did on XP. No compatibility mode or nothing.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-02-2010, 05:23 PM   #7
DarthSlinky
Rookie
 
DarthSlinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 97
Current Game: Starcraft II
AOE requires 1 MB of GPU memory, so memory isn't an issue

It could be Direct X 5.2, although I think its more likely an ancient version of OpenGL.

AOE runs fine on my computer though, (Age of Kings)


Freude, schöner Götterfunken Tochter aus Elysium, Wir betreten feuertrunken, Himmlische, dein Heiligtum! Deine Zauber binden wieder Was die Mode streng geteilt; Alle Menschen werden Brüder, Wo dein sanfter Flügel weilt.
DarthSlinky is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-03-2010, 04:11 AM   #8
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Q View Post
Wanna hear something funny? My beloved Baldur's Gate series, or any Infinity Engine game, for that matter, actually runs better on Vista and 7 than it did on XP. No compatibility mode or nothing.
I can verify the same for Jedi Academy... it freakin' flies. Though I haven't tried any other games with the quake III Arena engine. Of course I do realise that someone with a GTX 295 in xp would probably get luverly performance too, but the main point is that there are no compatibility glitches when going from xp>kernel 6.x - unlike KOTOR for example.

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-03-2010, 07:36 AM   #9
Darth_Sasuna
Rookie
 
Darth_Sasuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 81
well like then what is the problem is my build to fast is the gpu to fast or powerful for the game can it not keep up? i can put the error code up later if u request it. like you see i get into game and play for like 10 mins like about time u bronze or late tool age then it goes to of game saying error on aoe shows aoe icon so it is aoe.


90% of teens today would die if myspace or facebook had a system failure. If you are one of the 10% that would sit and laugh copy this to your signature.
92% precent of teens today have moved on to rap. If you are one of the 8% that still rock out copy this to your signature.
Darth_Sasuna is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-03-2010, 08:08 AM   #10
DarthSlinky
Rookie
 
DarthSlinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 97
Current Game: Starcraft II
Try running it in compatibility mode at a low resolution and set your monitor to low colors (265?). Thats how I got incredibly old games to run, like Oregon Trail.


Freude, schöner Götterfunken Tochter aus Elysium, Wir betreten feuertrunken, Himmlische, dein Heiligtum! Deine Zauber binden wieder Was die Mode streng geteilt; Alle Menschen werden Brüder, Wo dein sanfter Flügel weilt.
DarthSlinky is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-03-2010, 10:46 AM   #11
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth_Sasuna View Post
well like then what is the problem is my build to fast is the gpu to fast or powerful for the game can it not keep up?
there's already a thread for this, so why continue it in here too?

if you've tried the compatibility mode options with no luck, you're next step depends on how attached you are to a 12 year old game

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2010, 09:20 PM   #12
Darth_Sasuna
Rookie
 
Darth_Sasuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 81
haha lovethe game man idk about you, so ur saying if that doesnt work i have to go to a lower powerful computer?!? wow.


90% of teens today would die if myspace or facebook had a system failure. If you are one of the 10% that would sit and laugh copy this to your signature.
92% precent of teens today have moved on to rap. If you are one of the 8% that still rock out copy this to your signature.
Darth_Sasuna is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2010, 09:34 PM   #13
Darth_Sasuna
Rookie
 
Darth_Sasuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 81
ok i tried compatibility mode but when i went to click on diplomacy in the game it happened so any info now that i got it hopefully more narrowed?


90% of teens today would die if myspace or facebook had a system failure. If you are one of the 10% that would sit and laugh copy this to your signature.
92% precent of teens today have moved on to rap. If you are one of the 8% that still rock out copy this to your signature.
Darth_Sasuna is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-05-2010, 02:32 AM   #14
DarthSlinky
Rookie
 
DarthSlinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 97
Current Game: Starcraft II
diplomacy always crashes even XP, there is no known solution, sorry.


Freude, schöner Götterfunken Tochter aus Elysium, Wir betreten feuertrunken, Himmlische, dein Heiligtum! Deine Zauber binden wieder Was die Mode streng geteilt; Alle Menschen werden Brüder, Wo dein sanfter Flügel weilt.
DarthSlinky is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-05-2010, 11:15 AM   #15
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth_Sasuna View Post
haha lovethe game man idk about you, so ur saying if that doesnt work i have to go to a lower powerful computer?!? wow.
yep, or sell/swap your 5750 for something older... or

You could probably pull a pc from a junk heap that would run it better Legacy computers for legacy games

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat

Last edited by Astrotoy7; 06-05-2010 at 11:29 AM.
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-05-2010, 11:29 AM   #16
Qui-Gon Glenn
Necessary Roughneck
 
Qui-Gon Glenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thessia
Posts: 1,464
Current Game: ME3MP, Arkham Origins
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Forum Veteran Veteran Modder 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrotoy7 View Post
yep, or sell/swap your 5750 for something older...

You could probably pull a pc from a junk heap that would run it better Legacy computers for legacy games

I wonder how it would go virtualised in vmware - which has dx6 emulation nowdays. It'd probably crash on the GPU drivers side of things like KOTOR does

mtfbwya
I think that Darth Sasuna is confusing "backwards compatibility" and what that concept means. XP, IIRC, does no better with compatibility modes for WIN2K/ME/98SE/98/95 than does Vista or Win 7. XP is not "backwards compatible" better than Windows Vista or 7 for a game developed during XP's heydey - it is simply compatible, made at the time that OS was prevalent. It is true that Vista/7 do not always perform as well as XP for software developed expressly for XP - that I find self-evident.

I feel your pain, DS... we all do. The games we love best are often the ones we remember from our youth, when we had more time to delve into the storylines and flat-out more time to play.

Pick up an old 6800 for $30 and call it a day. Save or sell that ATI - you can always hold on to it, for the day you want a 7 system that can play the new games the way they should be played, compatible with today.
Qui-Gon Glenn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-05-2010, 06:57 PM   #17
Darth_Sasuna
Rookie
 
Darth_Sasuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 81
well my mobo has a on board card but i believe it still happens though it is lke a 4000 somehting not sure exactly


90% of teens today would die if myspace or facebook had a system failure. If you are one of the 10% that would sit and laugh copy this to your signature.
92% precent of teens today have moved on to rap. If you are one of the 8% that still rock out copy this to your signature.
Darth_Sasuna is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-05-2010, 08:39 PM   #18
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth_Sasuna View Post
well my mobo has a on board card but i believe it still happens though it is lke a 4000 somehting not sure exactly
If you have an onboard GPU, you may be able to switch to it/disable the PCIe card for a session in the BIOS and boot up. That will save you the hassle of pulling the card.

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-06-2010, 05:29 PM   #19
Darth_Sasuna
Rookie
 
Darth_Sasuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthSlinky View Post
AOE requires 1 MB of GPU memory, so memory isn't an issue

It could be Direct X 5.2, although I think its more likely an ancient version of OpenGL.

AOE runs fine on my computer though, (Age of Kings)
so what download directx 5.2 or 6? but i got the latest one out just checked, so wouldnt that cover it?]


hey also i tested my onboard graphics card so idk same problem i know it is the os, i had same os on laptop worked fine.


90% of teens today would die if myspace or facebook had a system failure. If you are one of the 10% that would sit and laugh copy this to your signature.
92% precent of teens today have moved on to rap. If you are one of the 8% that still rock out copy this to your signature.

Last edited by Darth_Sasuna; 06-06-2010 at 08:31 PM.
Darth_Sasuna is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Community Discussion > General LFNetwork Forums > General Tech Discussion > playing a game? choose the right operating system

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:41 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.