lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: [HELP] How to make a NPC capable of wearing equipments?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-24-2010, 07:51 PM   #1
Pein_KeS
Rookie
 
Pein_KeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 22
DELETE Please?

Well, I've been trying to figure this thingey out for a while, and What I'm wondering is that, How can I make a NPC (A Twi'lek this time )
Wear Equipments which is Visible to him?

________________________

Sorry about my english, But I hope you understand what I mean.

Last edited by Pein_KeS; 06-26-2010 at 05:22 PM.
Pein_KeS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-24-2010, 08:20 PM   #2
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
The trick is to make a few changes in the appearance.2da file. First of all you need to give the NPC an underwear model (modela) and a clothing model (modelb). It can be anything really but that should solve your problem.

Note that some npcs can't change their appearance without some modeling. Make sure that they have a custom head under the (head or heads) column in the 2da file. If they do, then they should be able to change their appearance with clothing and stuff.

Yell at me if you have any problems chief.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-24-2010, 08:49 PM   #3
Rtas Vadum
Behold The Envoy...
 
Rtas Vadum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 744
Current Game: TES 4: Oblivion/3: Morrowind
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by harIII View Post
The trick is to make a few changes in the appearance.2da file. First of all you need to give the NPC an underwear model (modela) and a clothing model (modelb). It can be anything really but that should solve your problem.

Note that some npcs can't change their appearance without some modeling. Make sure that they have a custom head under the (head or heads) column in the 2da file. If they do, then they should be able to change their appearance with clothing and stuff.

Yell at me if you have any problems chief.
If its a Twi'lek, of either gender, it can wear any armor, clothing or robes in the game. And its likely that he might want the character to wear more than just normal clothing or underwear, so its best just to fill out the rows regarding what the NPC can wear.

Checking the tutorial here will definitely help: http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=148638

And these too(to set up the head): http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=196778
http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=149992

Rtas Vadum is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-24-2010, 09:58 PM   #4
Pein_KeS
Rookie
 
Pein_KeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 22
Okay, My head turns up invisible what's wrong?
Pein_KeS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-24-2010, 10:01 PM   #5
Rtas Vadum
Behold The Envoy...
 
Rtas Vadum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 744
Current Game: TES 4: Oblivion/3: Morrowind
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pein_KeS View Post
Okay, My head turns up invisible what's wrong?
What did you put in the NPC's line for the "Normalhead" column? It should be the line that refers to your NPC's head, in the "Heads.2da" file.

Rtas Vadum is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-24-2010, 10:04 PM   #6
Pein_KeS
Rookie
 
Pein_KeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 22
114 as it was written but the head does not pop up :/
Pein_KeS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-24-2010, 10:45 PM   #7
Rtas Vadum
Behold The Envoy...
 
Rtas Vadum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 744
Current Game: TES 4: Oblivion/3: Morrowind
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pein_KeS View Post
114 as it was written but the head does not pop up :/
Did you put the correct name in Heads.2da? You just need the name of the model, not the number, nor the extension. You might get the error where the model appears, but it is either white, or shiny if it has the CM_Baremetal in the "Envmap" column. You'd either need to hex edit the model(you can find a free program to do this on google), or if your working with TSL, putting your texture name into "altexture" column will override the information in the model, and force it onto your model.

Rtas Vadum is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-25-2010, 08:17 AM   #8
Pein_KeS
Rookie
 
Pein_KeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 22
Could you explain a lil' more detailed? What to name it etc, the mdl and MDX is named PMHT01 and in heads.2da I putted PMHT01 as a name, Hex edit? How to do that?

I'm also on a different comp now which got Vista and I can start Kotor Tool but I can't choose TSL Files nor Model files, Since it cannot open the models folder..


Revan: Er... It's nothing , just my slaves.
Jolee Bindo: My hearing's not so good. I'm just pleased my nice master doesn't beat me so much anymore, yes sir.


Peace is a lie; there is only passion. Through passion, I gain strength. Through strength, I gain power. Through power, I gain victory. Through victory, my chains are broken. The Force will set me free.

Last edited by Pein_KeS; 06-25-2010 at 08:33 AM.
Pein_KeS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-25-2010, 02:50 PM   #9
TimBob12
I'm in space!
 
TimBob12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dantooine
Posts: 515
Current Game: Mass Effect 2!
Helpful! 
I had this problem for a while. I then realised that I hadn't given the NPC the feats to wear any armour or weild wepons. Try adding the profficiency feats to your character.
TimBob12 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-25-2010, 05:24 PM   #10
Pein_KeS
Rookie
 
Pein_KeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 22
Oh? And how do I do that? Sorry I'm quite a newbie when it comes to 2da editing.


Revan: Er... It's nothing , just my slaves.
Jolee Bindo: My hearing's not so good. I'm just pleased my nice master doesn't beat me so much anymore, yes sir.


Peace is a lie; there is only passion. Through passion, I gain strength. Through strength, I gain power. Through power, I gain victory. Through victory, my chains are broken. The Force will set me free.
Pein_KeS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-25-2010, 05:50 PM   #11
TimBob12
I'm in space!
 
TimBob12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dantooine
Posts: 515
Current Game: Mass Effect 2!
Helpful! 
In the Kotor tool go to

File >> Open GFF Files ... >> Then choose your NPC's .utc file. >> Then click on the feats tab and add the appropriate profficiency feats. eg Armor Profficiency. You may need light Medium and Heavy. to equip 2 weapons you need two hand fighting.

Hope it works.
TimBob12 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-25-2010, 06:20 PM   #12
Pein_KeS
Rookie
 
Pein_KeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 22
Okay, Now I got another problem... Unfortunately my head doesn't show up in appearance tab, This is stupid I can't get a single head to work..


Revan: Er... It's nothing , just my slaves.
Jolee Bindo: My hearing's not so good. I'm just pleased my nice master doesn't beat me so much anymore, yes sir.


Peace is a lie; there is only passion. Through passion, I gain strength. Through strength, I gain power. Through power, I gain victory. Through victory, my chains are broken. The Force will set me free.
Pein_KeS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-25-2010, 06:28 PM   #13
Rtas Vadum
Behold The Envoy...
 
Rtas Vadum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 744
Current Game: TES 4: Oblivion/3: Morrowind
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pein_KeS View Post
Okay, Now I got another problem... Unfortunately my head doesn't show up in appearance tab, This is stupid I can't get a single head to work..
In Kotor Tool:

1.Go to Tools->Options
2.Click the "Other" tab
3.Check the box that says "Look In Game's Override folder for 2da files"

Rtas Vadum is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-25-2010, 06:42 PM   #14
Pein_KeS
Rookie
 
Pein_KeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 22
Oh Okay, Thanks mate.

Edit: Okay, I got the head to show up in appearance though it won't be visible in game...


Revan: Er... It's nothing , just my slaves.
Jolee Bindo: My hearing's not so good. I'm just pleased my nice master doesn't beat me so much anymore, yes sir.


Peace is a lie; there is only passion. Through passion, I gain strength. Through strength, I gain power. Through power, I gain victory. Through victory, my chains are broken. The Force will set me free.

Last edited by RedHawke; 06-28-2010 at 06:06 AM. Reason: Combining DP...
Pein_KeS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > [HELP] How to make a NPC capable of wearing equipments?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:41 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.