lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Skyrim: Elder Scrolls 5
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-26-2011, 10:53 PM   #361
Darth Payne
I Am Revan, I Remember.
 
Darth Payne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grong, Norway
Posts: 2,491
Current Game: DS3, Alien: Colonial Marines
Ya did?

Huh, i thought it looked a bit familiar...


http://www.xboxlc.com/cards/sig/newblack/pederskomsvold.jpg
Formerly known as: Danyael27
My mods at KotorFiles: K1 Robe Stat Boost, TSL Jedi Robe Stat Boost, Jedi Fight Training.
Quando omni flunkus moritati - the motto of the Possum Lodge, Pseudo-Latin for 'when all else fails, play dead.'


SW: Invasion 05,P16 -(Spraug: Seriously? A Wookie with a lightsaber? Thats just overkill.
Darth Payne is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-26-2011, 11:15 PM   #362
Sabretooth
鬼龍院皐月
 
Sabretooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,364
I think some bored guy just put it all in for ****s and giggles.


Sabretooth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2011, 06:01 AM   #363
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthParametric View Post
Yeah I posted that several days ago, but I think everybody was too busy playing to notice. It's odd whatever the future plan for the game is. If it was DLC, why not just add it later? Seems more likely it was cut content, but I guess we'll find out eventually.
It's not just there to provide an accurate distant land view (and prevent the player from ever encountering any "end of the world" glitches), since the game has no skybox that draws mountains and other distant landmarks?

Haven't explored that much around the boundraries of the Skyrim map so don't know how much you can actually see of other provinces from within the game areas you normally can go to. But it sounds like one explanation at least.

stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2011, 11:16 AM   #364
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,640
Forum Veteran Helpful! 
I'm pretty sure that's mentioned in the article. You don't pull back anywhere near far enough to see the whole map (or even any significant portion of it outside Skyrim itself), not to mention that all the borders are covered in fog anyway.
DarthParametric is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2011, 01:15 PM   #365
Darth Payne
I Am Revan, I Remember.
 
Darth Payne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grong, Norway
Posts: 2,491
Current Game: DS3, Alien: Colonial Marines
Hey, are there any news about the patch?

For the 360 that is, as that is where i'm playing it.


http://www.xboxlc.com/cards/sig/newblack/pederskomsvold.jpg
Formerly known as: Danyael27
My mods at KotorFiles: K1 Robe Stat Boost, TSL Jedi Robe Stat Boost, Jedi Fight Training.
Quando omni flunkus moritati - the motto of the Possum Lodge, Pseudo-Latin for 'when all else fails, play dead.'


SW: Invasion 05,P16 -(Spraug: Seriously? A Wookie with a lightsaber? Thats just overkill.

Last edited by Darth Payne; 11-27-2011 at 01:22 PM.
Darth Payne is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2011, 09:02 PM   #366
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,640
Forum Veteran Helpful! 
The console certification process take forever. It was due this weekend originally, but it could be that it got held up by either MS or Sony (or both). Meanwhile, the master race gets screwed over once again.
DarthParametric is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2011, 09:55 PM   #367
Taak Farst
Eat The Rude
 
Taak Farst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,561
Alderaan News Holopics contributor Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthParametric View Post
The console certification process take forever. It was due this weekend originally, but it could be that it got held up by either MS or Sony (or both). Meanwhile, the master race gets screwed over once again.
Sorry, am I missing something? Master Race?


Taak Farst is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2011, 09:57 PM   #368
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,640
Forum Veteran Helpful! 
It's from Yahtzee, he of Zero Punctuation:

DarthParametric is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2011, 10:01 PM   #369
Darth Payne
I Am Revan, I Remember.
 
Darth Payne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grong, Norway
Posts: 2,491
Current Game: DS3, Alien: Colonial Marines
oooh, why i oughta...

Edit: I'm kinda hoping that i'll find the eight masked dragon priests through high hrothgar and Arngeir...


http://www.xboxlc.com/cards/sig/newblack/pederskomsvold.jpg
Formerly known as: Danyael27
My mods at KotorFiles: K1 Robe Stat Boost, TSL Jedi Robe Stat Boost, Jedi Fight Training.
Quando omni flunkus moritati - the motto of the Possum Lodge, Pseudo-Latin for 'when all else fails, play dead.'


SW: Invasion 05,P16 -(Spraug: Seriously? A Wookie with a lightsaber? Thats just overkill.

Last edited by Darth Payne; 11-27-2011 at 10:43 PM.
Darth Payne is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-28-2011, 04:15 AM   #370
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Payne View Post
Edit: I'm kinda hoping that i'll find the eight masked dragon priests through high hrothgar and Arngeir...
As far as I have been able to tell there are no direct pointers or hints to where the priests are found. Most of them seems to be found either outdoors near word walls, or inside dungeons/crypts/ruins, either guarding walls or as part of some side quest for that dungeon. One of them is encountered near the end of the main storyline.

The ones I've found so far:
Show spoiler


It seems that while Arngeir can point you in the direction of most of the Word Walls, he won't give you the location of ones located within sealed places that only open as part of a plot arc. It seems like the Imperial/Stormcloak, Dark Brotherhood, Thieves Guild, Mage College and Companions plot arcs each have one Word Wall inside a locked dungeon that can only be reached by doing their quests. :/

stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-28-2011, 04:21 AM   #371
Darth Payne
I Am Revan, I Remember.
 
Darth Payne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grong, Norway
Posts: 2,491
Current Game: DS3, Alien: Colonial Marines
Thanks stoffe.

Did you see my previous posting about the wooden mask? (for those that missed it: It seems that if you put on that wooden mask when in the same room as the statue in labyrinthian your taken back in time to when the room was sealed, and still intact. It also seems that you can place each mask in its own slot on that statue.)

I look forward to finding out exactly that statue does when i place all eight masks there.


http://www.xboxlc.com/cards/sig/newblack/pederskomsvold.jpg
Formerly known as: Danyael27
My mods at KotorFiles: K1 Robe Stat Boost, TSL Jedi Robe Stat Boost, Jedi Fight Training.
Quando omni flunkus moritati - the motto of the Possum Lodge, Pseudo-Latin for 'when all else fails, play dead.'


SW: Invasion 05,P16 -(Spraug: Seriously? A Wookie with a lightsaber? Thats just overkill.
Darth Payne is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-28-2011, 10:06 PM   #372
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthParametric View Post
So after 34 hours, my conclusion concerning the engine is that if this is not Gamebryo, then Gamebryo was unfairly criticised for the issues in Fallout 3/NV and Oblivion. Pretty much all the same issues are still present, so presumably whatever proprietary Gamebryo code they stripped out was not responsible. My particular favourite in this new incarnation is that they seem to have ramped up the wacky item physics to a point now where most buildings seem to be perpetually possessed by poltergeist (say that 3 times fast), with dishes and such flying about all over the place every time you enter.
Read today and confirmed when I got home that the paranormal activity is a function of having v-sync turned off (or more specifically that the physics engine freaks out when the graphics start pushing frame rates too high; an issue which v-sync prevents).

Turned v-sync on when I got home. No tearing, no poltergeists, no funky water flickering in any indoor areas that contain water.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-28-2011, 11:05 PM   #373
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,640
Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Ah, I see. Kind of lame, but I guess I'll have to switch that sucker back on.

EDIT: Patch is out now for PS3 and tomorrow for 360 and PC. Patch notes -

UPDATE 1.2 NOTES (all platforms unless specified)

Improved occasional performance issues resulting from long term play (PlayStation 3)
Fixed issue where textures would not properly upgrade when installed to drive (Xbox 360)
Fixed crash on startup when audio is set to sample rate other than 44100Hz (PC)
Fixed issue where projectiles did not properly fade away
Fixed occasional issue where a guest would arrive to the player’s wedding dead
Dragon corpses now clean up properly
Fixed rare issue where dragons would not attack
Fixed rare NPC sleeping animation bug
Fixed rare issue with dead corpses being cleared up prematurely
Skeleton Key will now work properly if player has no lockpicks in their inventory
Fixed rare issue with renaming enchanted weapons and armor
Fixed rare issue with dragons not properly giving souls after death
ESC button can now be used to exit menus (PC)
Fixed occasional mouse sensitivity issues (PC)
General functionality fixes related to remapping buttons and controls (PC)

Last edited by DarthParametric; 11-29-2011 at 12:51 AM.
DarthParametric is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-29-2011, 10:41 AM   #374
Salzella
areiK
 
Salzella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,135
Current Game: Portal, Half-Life 2.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthParametric View Post
Fixed occasional issue where a guest would arrive to the playerís wedding dead
...lol?
Salzella is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-29-2011, 10:58 AM   #375
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,640
Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Sneak peek at the inevitable zombie DLC?
DarthParametric is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-29-2011, 12:37 PM   #376
ChAiNz.2da
Brony 4 Life. Yo.
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,845
Current Game: Minecraft MP: PynCraft|Tekkit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Achilles View Post
Read today and confirmed when I got home that the paranormal activity is a function of having v-sync turned off (or more specifically that the physics engine freaks out when the graphics start pushing frame rates too high; an issue which v-sync prevents).

Turned v-sync on when I got home. No tearing, no poltergeists, no funky water flickering in any indoor areas that contain water.
Same here. Wish that I had done this well before buying the Whiterun house. Pretty much cleaned up everything loose just so it wouldn't fling around the rooms and have me dodging for my life.. hehehe. Kinda barren now as the grab and place function is a nightmare. Decorating is minimal for now till the CK comes out.
At least my Riften home is all decorated out nicely since no phantom cups are slingshotting around the place

Enabling V-sync also keeps my vid card's fan from kicking in to overdrive.

Oh! and I finally got a water breathing item! Funny though since my potions are so kick arse now that I just stick to using them. At least I have closure


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-29-2011, 12:56 PM   #377
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
I unofficially titled my last playthrough "ChAiNz's Revenge". 30 something hours and not a single waterbreathing artifact.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-29-2011, 01:27 PM   #378
ChAiNz.2da
Brony 4 Life. Yo.
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,845
Current Game: Minecraft MP: PynCraft|Tekkit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Achilles View Post
I unofficially titled my last playthrough "ChAiNz's Revenge". 30 something hours and not a single waterbreathing artifact.
hehehe

I laugh, but only because I feel your pain bro

Chickenís Egg
Histcarp
Nordic Barnacle

I have them committed to memory now due to my past dilemma.


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-29-2011, 03:23 PM   #379
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Unfortunately, my Nord is all about smithing and unwise in the ways of alchemy. Trying to figure out a good "da was a Nord and ma was a Breton" back story so that I can at least touch an enchanting table (or cast a spell) in a future playthrough.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-29-2011, 10:57 PM   #380
Taak Farst
Eat The Rude
 
Taak Farst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,561
Alderaan News Holopics contributor Forum Veteran 
May I ask why the obsession for water breathing artifacts when you're underwater for about 5 minutes in total of the game?


Taak Farst is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2011, 02:30 AM   #381
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Speak for yourself. We oldtimers that remember Morrowind know that all the cool stuff is hidden at the bottom of the ocean

Also, I think the patch might have already pushed. My game has crashed half a dozen times this evening. This is definitely new behavior.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2011, 10:39 AM   #382
ChAiNz.2da
Brony 4 Life. Yo.
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,845
Current Game: Minecraft MP: PynCraft|Tekkit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taak Farst View Post
May I ask why the obsession for water breathing artifacts when you're underwater for about 5 minutes in total of the game?
Huh? You should explore a bit, you'll be pleasantly surprised.

I've already uncovered over half a dozen shipwrecks in what few waterways explored (one takes a minute dive just to get to). Several of the dungeons and caves I've explored have had hidden chests or underwater tunnels. Plus.. it's the fun of "mystery". You never know what awaits.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Achilles View Post
Speak for yourself. We oldtimers that remember Morrowind know that all the cool stuff is hidden at the bottom of the ocean
Yup! hehehe. Scored some glass gauntlets plus the misc. chest loot etc. so far. I just wish I could fight underwater too. Doesn't happen often, but there's been some times where I've been chased out of the water by slaughterfish

Quote:
Also, I think the patch might have already pushed. My game has crashed half a dozen times this evening. This is definitely new behavior.
Yeah, I've been reading some worrying stories. Seems there "may or may not" be a bug with magic resistance. If so, my squishy arse is boned because I invest enchantments in that moreso than specific resistances (fire, frost, shock) since MR is the cover all bases option.


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2011, 02:39 PM   #383
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Achilles View Post
Also, I think the patch might have already pushed. My game has crashed half a dozen times this evening. This is definitely new behavior.
Indeed, I would stay away from the Skyrim 1.2 patch. Judging by reports it's totally broken. Armor and resistances no longer working, dragons flying backward, user interface glitches, a lot more frequent crashes etc.

It believe it's safe to say this patch was rushed out without any testing at all.

stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2011, 02:46 PM   #384
Quanon
Senior Member
 
Quanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lost in my own unconsiciousens
Posts: 2,597
Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Great, I just patched the game via steam as I thought that would improve it.
As the last few days, Skyrim suddenly decided that I should only play in sessions of 20minutes and NOT more. As after 20mins I was staring back at my desktop.

Thing is I already played a few hours before that sort of thing started... Bethesda, will you ever learn. Seems these guys have real trouble delivering a functioning game...

*sigh* Guess I'll wait a few months, then get back to this game...


TIQUILAAAAAAAA
Quanon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2011, 03:19 PM   #385
mimartin
TOR ate my KotOR
 
mimartin's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,046
Current Game: TOR/FO:NV
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Alderaan News Holopics contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quanon View Post
*sigh* Guess I'll wait a few months, then get back to this game...
May not take that long, they got the patch out to fix the invincible enemies patch in Fallout: NV the same day. However unsure if that was Bethesda or Obsidian Entertainment doing. Still you would think that would teach Bethesda to test their patches before sending them out.


mimartin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2011, 03:45 PM   #386
Quanon
Senior Member
 
Quanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lost in my own unconsiciousens
Posts: 2,597
Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mimartin View Post
May not take that long, they got the patch out to fix the invincible enemies patch in Fallout: NV the same day. However unsure if that was Bethesda or Obsidian Entertainment doing. Still you would think that would teach Bethesda to test their patches before sending them out.
Thing is, it was the same "tragedy" with Morrowind and Oblivion. I know it'll get fixed but it makes me wonder who or what is in lead of the playtesting.
Oh well, no point in getting fed up about it. I'll get my appetite sated eventually


TIQUILAAAAAAAA
Quanon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2011, 03:52 PM   #387
ChAiNz.2da
Brony 4 Life. Yo.
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,845
Current Game: Minecraft MP: PynCraft|Tekkit
Beth could skip all the problems if they would just release the CK already. Let the mod community do all the bugfixes.. hehehe

I already have about 7 mods I want to create and don't feel like going through TESsnip... hehe


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2011, 04:16 PM   #388
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by stoffe View Post
Indeed, I would stay away from the Skyrim 1.2 patch.
Is there a way to not let Steam patch the game? Or rollback a version if it does?
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2011, 05:24 PM   #389
mimartin
TOR ate my KotOR
 
mimartin's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,046
Current Game: TOR/FO:NV
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Alderaan News Holopics contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Achilles View Post
Is there a way to not let Steam patch the game? Or rollback a version if it does?
I can tell you what not to do.

I went home in an attempt not to download the patch. Disconnected from the internet (like the Bethesda forum said) and tried to start Steam offline. Steam would not let me. So reconnected the internet and try to tell Steam to work off line after it started. Not fast enough, 1.0% of the patch downloaded. Would not let me stop it or play Skyrim offline. Looked at setting and it was already set not to download Skyrim patches without my permission. So looks like I have the patch. Played one quest with no problem, but didn't see any dragons.



Last edited by mimartin; 11-30-2011 at 10:31 PM.
mimartin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2011, 05:27 PM   #390
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Just read on the beth forum that the patch turns v-sync off, so those of us that resolved issues by turning it on again might have to do that once more. Will confirm when I get home tonight.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2011, 05:37 PM   #391
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Achilles View Post
Is there a way to not let Steam patch the game? Or rollback a version if it does?
Apparently you need to set Steam to Offline Mode to prevent it from auto-fetching game patches for some reason. It seems to cheerfully ignore the setting for each individual game not to auto-update it.

To make it start up in Offline mode it should work to add/edit the following keys in the steam.cfg file located in the same folder as the steam exe:

Code:
BootStrapperInhibitAll=enable
ForceOfflineMode=enable
I don't think there's a way to roll back if you've already patched, unfortunately. The wonders of modern DRM systems.

stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2011, 06:44 PM   #392
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Based on this I'm wondering if the random crashing is Steam and all the other stuff is the patch.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-01-2011, 11:53 AM   #393
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
i've been playing Skyrim for 6+ hours at a time without any crashes. i've been using the 4GB Skyrim since the first program to make Skyrim use more than 2GB of memory address space was disabled in the first patch.

this one is just an executable and a .dll file that effectively doubles the address space that Skyrim uses. unlike the previous workaround, this one launches the game through Steam which allows it to function with the DRM and, therefore, allows the game to work with the latest patches.

tried running the game without it, and it crashes after about an hour of gameplay.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-01-2011, 12:00 PM   #394
mimartin
TOR ate my KotOR
 
mimartin's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,046
Current Game: TOR/FO:NV
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Alderaan News Holopics contributor 
Still running the vanilla Skyrim, with the 1.2 patch. Everything seems to be working fine. Haven't had any dragon issues. Still only had two CTD in around 23 hours, none with the new patch in about 4 hours.

I will say the 4GB mods for Fallout 3 and Fallout:NV were life savers.


mimartin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-01-2011, 12:50 PM   #395
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Steam updated my game as soon as I switched my PC on last night. I crossed my fingers and hoped for the best, and for the most part, came out of 1.2 unscathed. Poison immunity is borked, but all the dragons I encountered flew forward rather than backwards and I only had one CTD (compared to 7 the evening before).

I must admit though that I'm a little disappointed by the lack of response from Bethesda. Normally, I give the devs some slack because communication either comes from or is dictated by the publisher, but in this case they are one and the same.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-01-2011, 03:25 PM   #396
ChAiNz.2da
Brony 4 Life. Yo.
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,845
Current Game: Minecraft MP: PynCraft|Tekkit
Relatively unscathed myself with the 1.2 patch.. but like stingerhs I use the 4GB mod along with SKSE (which fixes the immunity / resistance bugs).

Be sure to use 4GB update 4. It auto-injects the skse helper files so you only have to launch it (4GB) after launching Steam.

Steam overlay, chat talk, screenies, etc. still remain functional.


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-01-2011, 03:56 PM   #397
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Lengthy update from Bethesda re: Skyrim.

Clicky

Summary: patch for the patch coming next week, then nothing until January, then lots of stuff. Will fix code related stuff (i.e. the engine) first and then data (i.e. broken quests, etc) later. PC will get stuff before consoles because consoles require an extra step that Bethesda doesn't control.

EDIT: Oh, CK in 2012 for those of us that have been waiting.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-01-2011, 09:32 PM   #398
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,640
Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Wow, not holding back the PC patch for no reason? That must be a first.

Interesting move with the Steam mod thing. I wonder how that will pan out.
DarthParametric is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-07-2011, 09:01 PM   #399
swphreak
My cabbages!!!
 
swphreak's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,510
10 year veteran! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
I've been playing vanilla Skyrim for 36 hours now. I've only crashed once or twice. Other than that, I haven't really had much trouble with the game.

It's pretty addictive. I keep getting sidetracked. I've done about 3 or 4 story quests, and the rest of the time has been spent exploring and doing side quests. I'm Archmage of the College, and I just started in the Thieves Guild. I need to join up with the Stormcloaks and get that storyline started.

Does anyone know if there is a limit on how many perks you get? The numbers I've seen are 50 and 70. I'm only at level 29, and I'm worried I might have wasted some perks.
swphreak is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-07-2011, 10:58 PM   #400
Sabretooth
鬼龍院皐月
 
Sabretooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,364
I'm at level 10 and the game has never crashed for me, it's surprisingly stable for a Bethesda product.

Dragons are effing difficult, so fighting them is pretty fun. Difficult fights are on the whole, highlights of this game, which is by and large boring otherwise. Despite that it's terribly addictive though, Elder Scrolls-style. It's a bit too much like Fallout 3 than I'd expected, though.


Sabretooth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Community > The Outlander Club > Skyrim: Elder Scrolls 5

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:30 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.