lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Return of the Commodore 64
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-08-2011, 07:03 PM   #1
newbiemodder
Gentleman Modder
 
newbiemodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 703
Veteran Modder 
Return of the Commodore 64

Has anyone seen this? They are introducing a new version of the Commodore 64 with new guts but the same old shell. Hilarious. I'm showing my age, but I had one of these. I had this game...Raid Over Moscow...pretty cool game for a young midwesterner caught up in the hype of the Cold War.

What's next the VIC 20?


Who's more foolish, the fool or the fool that follows?

Just exactly what is a head-piece to the Staff of Ra?

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=206819

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=206541

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...t=newbiemodder
newbiemodder is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2011, 07:12 PM   #2
ChAiNz.2da
Brony 4 Life. Yo.
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,845
Current Game: Minecraft MP: PynCraft|Tekkit
I'm pumped about it

Here's some linkage: http://www.commodoreusa.net/CUSA_C64.aspx


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2011, 07:30 PM   #3
Taak Farst
Eat The Rude
 
Taak Farst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,561
Alderaan News Holopics contributor Forum Veteran 
im no tech wiz. but what would those specs play? are we talking really low quality, older games. or are we talking CoD, Mass Effect 2 etc..


Taak Farst is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2011, 07:45 PM   #4
ChAiNz.2da
Brony 4 Life. Yo.
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,845
Current Game: Minecraft MP: PynCraft|Tekkit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taak Farst View Post
im no tech wiz. but what would those specs play? are we talking really low quality, older games. or are we talking CoD, Mass Effect 2 etc..
well, I'd hold off buying that Crysis game hehe.. but the specs have been revved up for today's standards.. for a small form factor that is.

Clicking the "technology" descriptor sums up some of the stats and I was a little surprised for what the tiny beast offered. Blu-Ray, up to 4gb ram, CUDA, SATA raid, WiFi and 1080p capable. Pretty impressive for what it is.

I want one just to screw around with. Nostalgia for nostalgia's sake

Quote:
Note: Commodore OS 1.0, along with emulation functionality and classic game package, will be mailed to purchasers when available. In the meantime, units come with the Ubuntu 10.04 LTS operating system on CD ready to install.


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2011, 09:28 PM   #5
Darth Avlectus
Your point?
 
Darth Avlectus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Attack on Titan
Posts: 4,254
Current Game: Soul Calibur 5
Yeah I remember something today about this on Yahoo news.

Funny that, I actually had one of those commodore hi-res ultra sharp CRT monitors floating about in my warehouse of stuff. Had to get rid of it last summer, so whoever inherited it at no-e-waste, got a working crisp perfect condition piece of computing history.

Yes, I still have a CRT for a TV.

*braces for bombardment of ridicule for not "getting" with the 21st century*


"I cant see S***! --YOU GO TO HELL!" --Tourettes guy
Darth Avlectus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2011, 09:53 PM   #6
Samnmax221
I never Kipled
 
Samnmax221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: My hovercraft is full of eels
Posts: 5,784
Current Game: Sex with women
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
I'm still mad at my grandma for selling our Commodore 128 to the local ripoff computer store, 16 years later. Sure learned a lesson about not storing stuff at her house.
Samnmax221 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2011, 10:21 PM   #7
Primogen
Junior Member
 
Primogen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 285
Current Game: The Witcher
It's a laptop without a monitor. -Why- would you ever buy this except for nostalgia reasons?


The Crown of Albion, an Arthurian Mythology RP
Dark Age of the Republic, a Star Wars RP
Primogen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-09-2011, 01:14 AM   #8
Samnmax221
I never Kipled
 
Samnmax221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: My hovercraft is full of eels
Posts: 5,784
Current Game: Sex with women
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
You weren't there, you don't know.
Samnmax221 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-09-2011, 01:46 AM   #9
Taak Farst
Eat The Rude
 
Taak Farst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,561
Alderaan News Holopics contributor Forum Veteran 
Based on the awesome reaction of Samnmax221, I created a rage comic :P



Last edited by Taak Farst; 04-09-2011 at 02:09 AM.
Taak Farst is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-09-2011, 02:27 AM   #10
Liverandbacon
I'm only worth a piano?
 
Liverandbacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 651
Forum Veteran LF Jester Folder extraordinaire 
Yeah, as nice a nostalgia trip as this is, I'm happy with my current computer setup of powerful desktop for games and stuff at home, light netbook for when I need something portable, and my low-end even 7 years ago, blast furnace heat producing laptop for when I start finding my other PCs' load times or behavior annoying and need some perspective. I'm not really sure where the Commodoremake would fit in.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTA:SWcity View Post
Yeah I remember something today about this on Yahoo news.

Funny that, I actually had one of those commodore hi-res ultra sharp CRT monitors floating about in my warehouse of stuff. Had to get rid of it last summer, so whoever inherited it at no-e-waste, got a working crisp perfect condition piece of computing history.

Yes, I still have a CRT for a TV.

*braces for bombardment of ridicule for not "getting" with the 21st century*
My house has so much variation in technology levels it's absurd. On one hand, you've got the gaming pc, the massive plasma tv, stuff like that. On the other, you've got the record player, the VHS player, and the various old PCs and CRT TVs, some used, some hidden away in the basement. The largest CRT TV actually gets used a lot, since it's in the same room as the dining table.

Oh wait, my VHS player died last week. Damn. I'm still going to stick with my DVD player and Tivo until Blu-Ray players are cheap, or I can score one from some guy who's really desperate to sell it within a day, like I did with my 360. (He was so desperate to sell that I got him to drop the price down to $70 with a controller and 3 games; I guess he had some debts he needed to pay or something. Either that or I bought a stolen Xbox.)



--Too Dumb to Quit--

Last edited by Liverandbacon; 04-09-2011 at 02:36 AM.
Liverandbacon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-09-2011, 02:42 AM   #11
Sabretooth
鬼龍院皐月
 
Sabretooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taak Farst View Post
Based on the awesome reaction of Samnmax221, I created a rage comic :P
So that's how Primogen looks like IRL... Problem moderator?


Sabretooth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-09-2011, 04:42 AM   #12
adamqd
Jedi vs Sith
 
adamqd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,192
Forum Veteran The Walking Carpets Guild Member 
Return? mine never left lol, in fact, I may go load up Rambo: First Blood now!


adamqd is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-09-2011, 11:10 AM   #13
Liverandbacon
I'm only worth a piano?
 
Liverandbacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 651
Forum Veteran LF Jester Folder extraordinaire 
You know what I really want, more than netbook parts in a C64 casing?

High end parts in a Cray Research X-MP casing. Awesome, and can double as furniture.



--Too Dumb to Quit--
Liverandbacon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-09-2011, 11:28 AM   #14
ajlbibak
Rookie
 
ajlbibak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Caught somewhere in time.
Posts: 62
Current Game: X-Com: Terror from the deep
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamqd View Post
Return? mine never left
Same here
ajlbibak is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-09-2011, 11:52 AM   #15
Tommycat
>^..^<
 
Tommycat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,577
Current Game: Real Life 1.0(BETA)
Forum Veteran 
Simpsons did it!
Actually, I wanna go OLD SKOOL!



Of course there's the Atari 800
http://www.mini-itx.com/projects/atari800/


"I would rather be exposed to the inconveniences attending too much liberty than to those attending too small a degree of it." Thomas Jefferson
Tommycat is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-09-2011, 01:21 PM   #16
Primogen
Junior Member
 
Primogen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 285
Current Game: The Witcher
Well, I just got a new avatar...


The Crown of Albion, an Arthurian Mythology RP
Dark Age of the Republic, a Star Wars RP
Primogen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-10-2011, 08:04 AM   #17
Prime
Am I a truck or robot?
 
Prime's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 12,345
Current Game: Skyrim, Macross PS2
10 year veteran! LF Jester Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by newbiemodder View Post
I had this game...Raid Over Moscow...pretty cool game for a young midwesterner caught up in the hype of the Cold War.
Raid Over Moscow was awesome. I seem to remember struggling at first trying to get my damn plane out of the space station hanger. And what was up with the Tron-like disk throwing? Go C64!

Prime is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-10-2011, 10:26 AM   #18
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,697
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
doesn't look like the new one will have a 6581 SID chip in it

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-11-2011, 02:47 PM   #19
Darth Avlectus
Your point?
 
Darth Avlectus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Attack on Titan
Posts: 4,254
Current Game: Soul Calibur 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liverandbacon View Post
My house has so much variation in technology levels it's absurd. On one hand, you've got the gaming pc, the massive plasma tv, stuff like that.
Just see no reason to get all the ultra high end stuff. Personally.

My pad is a workshop and storage department.
I have all kinds of junk I play with. I love playing with my junk.
And I have built a secret hideout full of munitions. Gotta be ready for the zombie apocalypse.

People ask why I don' have HDTV or plasma or LED tvs and blu ray and all that jazz. I have internet and I am happy enough with my T5274 emachines desktop. Though I am wanting other machines at this point to dedicate to other things. And my freshly acquired atari 2600 next to my older gen PS2.

Quote:
On the other, you've got the record player, the VHS player, and the various old PCs and CRT TVs, some used, some hidden away in the basement. The largest CRT TV actually gets used a lot, since it's in the same room as the dining table.
Similar sitch at my parents' place. Most my gaming consoles are there.

Mine...heheh... Somne CRTs. One for regular use, 2 portable mini CRT and a handheld casio lcd TV. GoVideo dvd VHS dual player. Gameboy color. A few NES consoles.

Quote:
Oh wait, my VHS player died last week. Damn.
Why not read up and fix it? Drop me a line and maybe I can help.
Quote:
I'm still going to stick with my DVD player and Tivo until Blu-Ray players are cheap, or I can score one from some guy who's really desperate to sell it within a day, like I did with my 360. (He was so desperate to sell that I got him to drop the price down to $70 with a controller and 3 games; I guess he had some debts he needed to pay or something. Either that or I bought a stolen Xbox.)
Don' care about blu ray right now. Never got into tivo or that.

I got a couple 360s for free with the same RROD problems. Instructables has a more permanent fixit for these without the use of towels or their pointless, money-sucking, P.O.S. warranty repair programscam.

BTW make sure your new 360 console isn't XBL banned. Far as hot goods...ehh, your call.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Primogen View Post
Well, I just got a new avatar...
Why you do that? I was enjoying making Dave Chapelle references.
Darth Avlectus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-11-2011, 04:17 PM   #20
Liverandbacon
I'm only worth a piano?
 
Liverandbacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 651
Forum Veteran LF Jester Folder extraordinaire 
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTA:SWcity View Post
Why not read up and fix it? Drop me a line and maybe I can help.
Well, normally, I'd try that, but it broke in a way that I doubt will be fixable. I have no clue what could have caused it, but it semi-exploded. Opening up the casing, a lot of the parts were in smaller pieces than they should've been. Even before that, it would occasionally destroy a tape for no good reason. Next time I visit my family, I'm going to take an old one they don't use that's sitting in their basement. However, that website is awesome and I'm sure it will be useful in the future.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTA:SWcity View Post
I got a couple 360s for free with the same RROD problems. Instructables has a more permanent fixit for these without the use of towels or their pointless, money-sucking, P.O.S. warranty repair programscam.

BTW make sure your new 360 console isn't XBL banned. Far as hot goods...ehh, your call.
This one seems to be RROD-free so far, even after playing a decent amount on it. I don't think it's XBL banned, but I refuse to pay for multiplayer, so that doesn't matter much. I don't really think it's stolen, the guy I bought it from seemed pretty legit, just really wanted to raise funds soon. Also, I picked it up from his house, which wasn't in a bad neighborhood, and allowed me to test it out there (someone trying to unload junk or stolen stuff on me probably wouldn't want to do it at their home).

And to stay on topic: Does anyone else think that 4 GB of DDR3 is a bit wasted in a computer with an only 1.8 GHz netbook processor?

Also, I've decided that I don't want a new computer in a Cray X-MP casing. I want an actual Cray X-MP. Or any supercomputer that can double as a modular chair/bench system.



--Too Dumb to Quit--
Liverandbacon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Community > Ahto Spaceport Cantina > Return of the Commodore 64

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:47 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.