lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Play without disk?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-26-2011, 06:54 PM   #1
Darth Dan 012
Rookie
 
Darth Dan 012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 59
Play without disk?

I remember there was a way to play KoTOR 2 without the disk, but I forgot it.

Does anyone know how? Also, is it possible to use this method for the "Best of PC" version of KotOR 1?

Thanks
Darth Dan 012 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-26-2011, 07:34 PM   #2
rjalbert32
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
No Cd

The only way I know is the legal way of buying to software called Farstone virtual CD. I own that and make backups of certain games so I don't have to use the CD all the time. Some of the games though don't work so well with it because of companies making software to "block" farstone type software because of the theft going on in this industry..

Hope this helps ya buddy...

Rich :-)
rjalbert32 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-26-2011, 09:54 PM   #3
Darth Dan 012
Rookie
 
Darth Dan 012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 59
Is that similar to a program like Virtual Clone Drive?
Darth Dan 012 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-26-2011, 10:16 PM   #4
rjalbert32
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
No Cd play

yeah, pretty much the same. You have to have a good amount of free space on your harddrive, and what it does is take the original game and turns it into a "virtual/real CD" on your system so your computer thinks it has a CD rom installed, and you mount the disk and you don't have to play with the physical cd, you can put it in the drawer and just load up your "CD" on your computer and play...

Rich
rjalbert32 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2011, 04:29 PM   #5
Qui-Gon Glenn
Necessary Roughneck
 
Qui-Gon Glenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thessia
Posts: 1,465
Current Game: ME3MP, Arkham Origins
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Forum Veteran Veteran Modder 
Interesting... I have looked at Farstone's compatibility list and most Star Wars titles are on there, including K1 and TSL. This is a preferable method to the numerous and often shoddy No-CD cracks available out there, which are as we know, illegal and potentially dangerous to the system.

That said, is this what you are using to play your game, rjalbert32? Although Evil Q has reported difficulties with some systems in that section of the game due to the high number of NPC pedestrians, I would think also that using the actual game disc and not an emulator would give you the best results in a problem area.

I know you said that the game disc was clean, so I assume you are actually using a physical disc, but if not, that is one thing that I would change as a test condition.


Want to play a game of ME3MP?
Qui-Gon_Glenn on the software of which we shall not name.... add me and the enemy shall fall in chunks of crimson salsa
Qui-Gon Glenn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2011, 08:18 PM   #6
rjalbert32
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Older version

I have an older version of Farstone, like version 9 I think it is and that older version doesn't do my star wars disk, so yes, I play with the actual disk for my SW games.

:-)
rjalbert32 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-23-2011, 04:16 PM   #7
Shio
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
I sent you a pm darth Dan
Shio is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > Play without disk?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:46 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.