lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: K1 Darth Maul and some re-skins
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-13-2011, 05:49 PM   #1
Darth Calculus
Lurker
 
Darth Calculus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: The dark side of the moon...
Posts: 9
Current Game: KotOR
K1 Darth Maul and some re-skins

Hi, all!

Does anyone have Xavier2's Darth Maul with hood and robes (and possibly the Jango Fett armor)? That skin and model is the best-looking I've seen, but since PCgamemods is long gone, I can't find it anywhere...

One more question: I've recently tried some basic re-skinning, but although I read a whole bunch of the tutorials and followed them closely, the results are disastrous the skin is misapplied to the model with feet on hands and torsos on legs, etc. Am I missing something? Would someone be kind enough to do a few re-skins to my specifications? Thanks in advance.


"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." Albert Einstein
Darth Calculus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-13-2011, 09:43 PM   #2
Christos K
Forumite
 
Christos K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 718
I think I can help on the reskinning question. First I would try flipping the texture files. (Usually .tga and .txi from WHAT I know) And if the problem still exists try posting some screen shots so that some of the more experienced members can help.


"It's the one that says Bad Mother ****er." - Jules Winnfield... Describing his wallet, Pulp Fiction.
Christos K is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-14-2011, 02:36 AM   #3
Fallen Guardian
Wandering the Galaxy...
 
Fallen Guardian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Unknown Regions
Posts: 1,280
Current Game: Knights of the Old Republic
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Are you sure you didn't apply your skin to the wrong model? You can't just use any model, you have to use the specific model it comes with. I made that mistake myself.


The truly fallen cannot return to the light. If someone "falls" and "returns," they never really, truly fell.

Current Work in Progress: Dantooine Tension

Released Works
Blaster Pistol Enhancement
Dustil Restoration
Ebon Hawk Texture Enhancement
Gaffi Stick Improvement
Weapon Model Overhaul Texture Rework (Thanks to Toasty Fresh!)
Sunry Murder Recording Enhancement
VP's Hi Poly Tin Cans - KotOR 1 Version
Fallen Guardian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-14-2011, 07:01 AM   #4
Darth Calculus
Lurker
 
Darth Calculus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: The dark side of the moon...
Posts: 9
Current Game: KotOR
Okay, here's the thing:
I have tried flipping the textures every which way, but the result is basically the same – the body parts don't line up. I've also triple checked all the models and file names. All I do is take a texture, skin it, and then save it under the exact same name.
I've recently downloaded Kazeite's Light/Dark Bastila skins and wanted to make them as my Sith Master Robe skins. Since most of the texture is transparent to go with Bastila's metal shader, I also filled in those areas with gold and colored the hands dark to fit any player.
Here's the effect I'd like to see:
http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef...s/File/80221/2
Here's what I get:
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/560/95704506.png/
Disturbing isn't it?
(Sorry, couldn't find a better way to upload it and I'm not too sure how to stick the picture into the message since this is only my second post )
The biggest problem is that this happens with any texture. Whatever I try to re-skin, everything is then misapplied back to the model. However, any mod I download and any skin that comes with them works fine. ??? I guess I do need some professional help.


"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." Albert Einstein

Last edited by Darth Calculus; 05-14-2011 at 07:12 AM.
Darth Calculus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-14-2011, 11:08 AM   #5
Confederal_Republic
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18
Gmax was being an ass, so I just opened up a texture, placed numbers on every section of the armor, spawned and equipped it with that texture in the game, made dozens of screenshots from all possible angles, and now I have a guide to the layout. Future tip, just in case you need it. :P

But you've probably got something weird going on there. I just tried, and I haven't got the same issues.
Confederal_Republic is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-14-2011, 12:55 PM   #6
Darth Calculus
Lurker
 
Darth Calculus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: The dark side of the moon...
Posts: 9
Current Game: KotOR
Thanks for the tip. I'll keep it in mind for future work. Can I send you a .psd file so you can try it out on yours and see if there are any issues? Maybe it's a problem with the way my software exports to .tga?

In fact, anyone willing is welcome to try it. You can find the file here:
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=YLKR4NHB

If it ends up working fine when you save it as a .tga, I would appreciate it if you would send it back to me in that form.


"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." Albert Einstein

Last edited by Darth Calculus; 05-14-2011 at 01:35 PM.
Darth Calculus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2011, 07:59 PM   #7
Kyr'am Galaar
Junior Member
 
Kyr'am Galaar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 428
Current Game: SWTOR
I'm not sure if you still need this, but I saved it as a tga and it worked fine for me. So... Here you go.

If you can't unzip 7z files, let me know.


|~La-da-di-do-laaaa!!! I am an oh-so evil sith lawd! And a mando cheftan, and a aich-kay assashshshasssasa... Assassshasshasasha. Ass... I kill shtuf. And imma robot. Beep boop beep bop~|

|~La-da-di-do-laaaa!!! I am an oh-so evil sith lawd! And a mando cheftan, and a aich-kay assashshshasssasa... Assassshasshasasha. Ass... I kill shtuf. And imma robot. Beep boop beep bop~|
Kyr'am Galaar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-23-2011, 03:19 PM   #8
Darth Calculus
Lurker
 
Darth Calculus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: The dark side of the moon...
Posts: 9
Current Game: KotOR
Thanks. The link is bad though. I keep getting the "server not responding" issue. Can you re-upload?


"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." Albert Einstein
Darth Calculus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Modding requests > K1 Darth Maul and some re-skins

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:33 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.