lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: The Tatooine Job Office
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-25-2011, 02:22 PM   #1
TimBob12
I'm in space!
 
TimBob12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dantooine
Posts: 515
Current Game: Mass Effect 2!
Helpful! 
The Tatooine Job Office

The Tatooine Job Office

Hooray, after several months it is finally here,

NOTE: Just wanted to say that the readme mentions about how if TSL Patcher mentions a skipped global.jrl file then they needed to use JRL Merger. It has now come to my attention that this error in fact means that TSL Patcher could not enter in a normal version to add to so it added to the existing version.

SUMMARY:
IF YOU GET AN ERROR ABOUT A SKIPPED GLOBAL.JRL FILE THEN IT IS UNIMPORTANT AND DOES NOT NEED ANY EXTRA MODDIFICATIONS!

Download Links

Screenshots: (If I added anymore I would ruin the quests)

Show spoiler


Show spoiler

This is my first major mod for KOTOR.

This adds 3 new quests to Tatooine for the first KOTOR game. You can get these quests from the Jawa in the Czerka Office. The quests are:
  • The Missiing Supplies
  • The Missing Officer
  • The Missing Weapon

This adds several new NPCs to the game including some fairly difficult fights. There is also a new store where you can buy some new custom items which I have made.

All the script source is available and I have commented it all so that new modders can look and see how script functions can be used practically as each script has an explanation as to what it does.

There is the option to have a manual install although TSL Patcher is also available to make it compatible with most other mods.

Once again this is my first major mod so all feedback (good or bad) is appreciated.

Thank you and enjoy

TB12

EDIT: If you wish to play this with BOS:SR then get the patch from here

http://www.gamefront.com/files/20306...office_bos.zip


Hey

Last edited by TimBob12; 05-06-2011 at 11:35 AM.
TimBob12 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2011, 04:14 PM   #2
Bob Ta'aar
Rookie
 
Bob Ta'aar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 111
Current Game: KotOR, KotOR2:TSLRCM
once again, good job!

I like how you implemented it all with scripts rather than modified module-files. This way, it's got better compatability with other mods, I think.

Anyways, there's no need to use the JRLMerger, if the TSLPatcher reports, that global.jrl was skipped. That warning means just, that there already was a custom global.jrl in the override-folder before you ran the patcher, so it couldn't put a fresh, unedited one into it (which the TSLPatcher has to do, if there isn't an existing one).
If you scroll down to the patcher-log, you'll see that global.jrl got modified still, also with the warning above .


I started modding KotOR(2)!
May the Force be with ya, folks!
Bob Ta'aar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2011, 04:31 PM   #3
TimBob12
I'm in space!
 
TimBob12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dantooine
Posts: 515
Current Game: Mass Effect 2!
Helpful! 
never mind even if people use jrl merger it won't make a diference to journal file it will alll be there. Ill put a note in the first post though.


Hey
TimBob12 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2011, 05:06 PM   #4
Lord of Hunger
Hunger, The Lord Of
 
Lord of Hunger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Korriban, Sith Empire
Posts: 1,022
Current Game: Shogun 2: Total War
Congrats! Been looking forward to this for awhile and I'm pleased to see the release.

Downloading.


As of 3/14/10, TSL is restored. The Sith Lords Restored Content Modification by Stoney and Zbyl has been finished and can be downloaded here.

Lord of Hunger is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2011, 06:06 PM   #5
Dak Drexl
Senior Member
 
Dak Drexl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,079
Helpful! 
Good job, can't wait to try it on my next playthrough!

Dak Drexl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-26-2011, 02:50 AM   #6
Xarwarz
Forumite
 
Xarwarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 622
Veteran Modder 
new content is always good content


USE MY MOD IN ANY MOD
TSL-O.T.E.--MODELS ON MOD DB......
Show spoiler

OTHER
Show spoiler
Xarwarz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-27-2011, 10:34 AM   #7
Qui-Gon Glenn
Necessary Roughneck
 
Qui-Gon Glenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thessia
Posts: 1,465
Current Game: ME3MP, Arkham Origins
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Forum Veteran Veteran Modder 
Congratulations TimBob12!!!

I have watched your progress and growth with admiration... You have really learned a lot in a short time, and been very helpful around Holowan as you have learned! Thanks!!

I look forward to seeing your Jawa quest-master in the near future


Want to play a game of ME3MP?
Qui-Gon_Glenn on the software of which we shall not name.... add me and the enemy shall fall in chunks of crimson salsa
Qui-Gon Glenn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-09-2011, 11:24 PM   #8
Salzella
areiK
 
Salzella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,135
Current Game: Portal, Half-Life 2.
wheeee cool, something else to do on Tatooine that's not pretending to be Han Solo!
Salzella is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2011, 11:16 PM   #9
Christos K
Forumite
 
Christos K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 744
Are these quests only on Tatooine as I have only finished one of them so far and have been looking all over Tatooine for different things to interact with.


"It's the one that says Bad Mother ****er." - Jules Winnfield... Describing his wallet, Pulp Fiction.
Christos K is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-27-2011, 01:40 AM   #10
Knight_Revan_17
Rookie
 
Knight_Revan_17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimBob12 View Post
The Tatooine Job Office


This adds 3 new quests to Tatooine for the first KOTOR game. You can get these quests from the Jawa in the Czerka Office. The quests are:

TB12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christos K View Post
Are these quests only on Tatooine as I have only finished one of them so far and have been looking all over Tatooine for different things to interact with.
I would guess that they are for Tatooine.


"You know, this has the bacony stink of Canada all over it."
-Mike Nelson: MST3K Season 9, Episode 10: The Final Sacrifice.-
Knight_Revan_17 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-27-2011, 05:40 AM   #11
SITH LORD 872
Junior Member
 
SITH LORD 872's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 255
Current Game: KOTOR 1
This mod was on file front, I all ready have it in KOTOR, But i have had this for almost a year now!!


SITH LORD 872 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-27-2011, 02:47 PM   #12
Christos K
Forumite
 
Christos K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 744
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knight_Revan_17 View Post
I would guess that they are for Tatooine.
I know they start on Tatooine but that doesn't mean they don't go to other planets...

Anyways. Could anyone tell me where to go next to get to the missing supplies and missing item. I have been all over Tatooine and I even looked at the screen shots which gave me a hint that there would be a Rodian but still I can't find ANYTHING.


"It's the one that says Bad Mother ****er." - Jules Winnfield... Describing his wallet, Pulp Fiction.
Christos K is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-27-2011, 07:15 PM   #13
SITH LORD 872
Junior Member
 
SITH LORD 872's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 255
Current Game: KOTOR 1
[QUOTE=Christos K;2776054]I know they start on Tatooine but that doesn't mean they don't go to other planets...

Anyways. Could anyone tell me where to go next to get to the missing supplies and missing item. I have been all over Tatooine and I even looked at the screen shots which gave me a hint that there would be a Rodian but still I can't find ANYTHING.[

The missing supplies are in the Cantina, Once you enter look to your left, there is a shady Rodian, Talk to him look into his inventory, Then you can threaten him or kill him!!


SITH LORD 872 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-27-2011, 07:30 PM   #14
Christos K
Forumite
 
Christos K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 744
Is this mod compatible with BoS:SR or Redhawke's Ord Mantel? Cause I can't find the Rodian in the cantina like you said and I think those two mods have characters with similar names.


"It's the one that says Bad Mother ****er." - Jules Winnfield... Describing his wallet, Pulp Fiction.
Christos K is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-27-2011, 10:23 PM   #15
SITH LORD 872
Junior Member
 
SITH LORD 872's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 255
Current Game: KOTOR 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christos K View Post
Is this mod compatible with BoS:SR or Redhawke's Ord Mantel? Cause I can't find the Rodian in the cantina like you said and I think those two mods have characters with similar names.
I'm not sure, I used this mod with a couple of other one's, But not the one you mentioned, When i played it, The Rodion was in the Tattooine cantina to my left!!


SITH LORD 872 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-28-2011, 01:07 AM   #16
Christos K
Forumite
 
Christos K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 744
Oh well. Maybe TimBob will see that I need some help with installing this mod. Its not the biggest concern of mine at the moment. Thanks for helping Sith Lord.


"It's the one that says Bad Mother ****er." - Jules Winnfield... Describing his wallet, Pulp Fiction.
Christos K is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-28-2011, 01:13 AM   #17
SITH LORD 872
Junior Member
 
SITH LORD 872's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 255
Current Game: KOTOR 1
No prob, I have some experience, Not a lot, But since i have used this mod, I figured i would try, But good luck, It's a fun mod!!


SITH LORD 872 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-28-2011, 12:03 PM   #18
TimBob12
I'm in space!
 
TimBob12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dantooine
Posts: 515
Current Game: Mass Effect 2!
Helpful! 
Good afternoon people.

First off check the Docking Bay for the Missing Item. A lot of people struggle to find that one.

Looking back over it, the problem might be that I created the Rodian right at the start of this mod and just put his tag as rodian thinking I'd change it later which I never did. I have also noticed that this makes him appear in the Korriban Cantina. I feel a patch coming on.

This should fix the problem.

Working on it now...


Hey
TimBob12 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-28-2011, 02:06 PM   #19
Christos K
Forumite
 
Christos K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 744
Yah I noticed that when I reached Korriban the Rodian was in the Cantina. Still need to cover the Missing Item. Thanks for the clue.


"It's the one that says Bad Mother ****er." - Jules Winnfield... Describing his wallet, Pulp Fiction.
Christos K is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-28-2011, 02:54 PM   #20
SITH LORD 872
Junior Member
 
SITH LORD 872's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 255
Current Game: KOTOR 1
That would explain why i found him on Tattooine, and not Korriban, Which makes a lot of sense now!!


SITH LORD 872 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-28-2011, 04:21 PM   #21
TimBob12
I'm in space!
 
TimBob12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dantooine
Posts: 515
Current Game: Mass Effect 2!
Helpful! 
also another thing, How could you have had it for a year. Its only been out since January.


Hey
TimBob12 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-28-2011, 04:48 PM   #22
SITH LORD 872
Junior Member
 
SITH LORD 872's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 255
Current Game: KOTOR 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimBob12 View Post
also another thing, How could you have had it for a year. Its only been out since January.
I found this mod on a site a long time ago, Maybe not a year but way before this was ever posted, Just like the Order 66 mod, Someone else all ready made that mod, So I'm starting to think that some people are stealing and or taking credit for someone's mods.

Which is why i stay off of other forums, This is the only one i like being on!!


SITH LORD 872 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2011, 12:20 AM   #23
Phildevil
Junior Member
 
Phildevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 449
Do you remember where you did get-it perchance? It may not be the same mod...
Phildevil is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2011, 01:51 AM   #24
Christos K
Forumite
 
Christos K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 744
Quote:
Originally Posted by SITH LORD 872 View Post
I found this mod on a site a long time ago, Maybe not a year but way before this was ever posted, Just like the Order 66 mod, Someone else all ready made that mod, So I'm starting to think that some people are stealing and or taking credit for someone's mods.

Which is why i stay off of other forums, This is the only one i like being on!!
But if it was on the other site a long time ago that would mean TimBob was the one who stole it.... Which I doubt. Also I still can't find the Missing Item. I check the Loading Bay and there is nothing there except for the default stuff.
But I notice when I am on Korriban I can be walking down the Dreshdae corridors and I will hear what sounds like a Rodian fighting and perhaps dying but I can't see them, like they are in the walls.


"It's the one that says Bad Mother ****er." - Jules Winnfield... Describing his wallet, Pulp Fiction.
Christos K is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2011, 04:01 AM   #25
TimBob12
I'm in space!
 
TimBob12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dantooine
Posts: 515
Current Game: Mass Effect 2!
Helpful! 
When you exit the ebon hawk look to your right there should be a plasteel container and it should be in there and trigger a cutscene.

Quote:
Do you remember where you did get-it perchance? It may not be the same mod...
It must be the same mod because he knew the correct location for the Rodian.

Perhaps it didn't install properly if two of the quest plot things are missing?


Also I didn't steal it I made it all from scratch. I originally wanted to create a bounty office but found that that had already been done so switched it to a Job Office.


Hey
TimBob12 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2011, 11:28 AM   #26
Slstoev
Rookie
 
Slstoev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Forest...
Posts: 220
Current Game: TF2, Minecraft
I seem to have a bug in which Bastila's mum Helena disappears and I can't continue the quest. The only 2 mods I use that modify Tatooine is some meaningful way are your mod and Recruitable Kay but in the thread Inyri says it's a completely unrelated mod problem.

At first while I was beta testing I said that this particular bug maybe a problem and I wondered if you took it in account. Anyways is there a way to progress the quest?


I am back.
Slstoev is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2011, 11:39 AM   #27
TimBob12
I'm in space!
 
TimBob12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dantooine
Posts: 515
Current Game: Mass Effect 2!
Helpful! 
This shouldn't affect any of this as I haven't touched anything to do with that part. I will look into it though.


Hey
TimBob12 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2011, 01:27 PM   #28
TheIrishHoplite
Lurker
 
TheIrishHoplite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Fibber Magees
Posts: 6
Current Game: PES 11
Okay, I have an odd problem with this mod. I'll use spoilers so as not to ruin the mod for others.

spoiler:
When I complete The Missing Officer quest, somehow his corpse overwrites Mission's brother in the Sand People base.


I can get him to return by deleting some files from your mod from my override folder, but it's kind of irritating. Any suggestions?

Great mod by the way. More of the same would be greatly appreciated.
TheIrishHoplite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2011, 01:31 PM   #29
TimBob12
I'm in space!
 
TimBob12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dantooine
Posts: 515
Current Game: Mass Effect 2!
Helpful! 
Hmm, I did replace an existing corpse which may have affected it. I'm having a look into Slstoev's problem as well so ill investigate this.


Hey
TimBob12 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2011, 02:53 PM   #30
Christos K
Forumite
 
Christos K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 744
I had a feeling that Missing Czerka Officer corpse was an existing one. Anyways. So when I get off of the Ebon Hawk on Tatooine look to the right for a plasteel container. Well I will try all the planets just in case it installed incorrectly like the Rodian did.
Edit: Well checked on Tatooine for the container and still nothing... There are still all the default footlockers though.
Edit: I also check other planets right after getting off the Ebon Hawk and still can't find it. Whats the name of the file. I am assuming its a .utp
I could check my override to see if its there and if its already there see if the two files are the same.


"It's the one that says Bad Mother ****er." - Jules Winnfield... Describing his wallet, Pulp Fiction.

Last edited by Christos K; 04-29-2011 at 03:05 PM.
Christos K is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2011, 03:18 PM   #31
TimBob12
I'm in space!
 
TimBob12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dantooine
Posts: 515
Current Game: Mass Effect 2!
Helpful! 
It is in the existing plasteel cylinder to the right. I didn't create a new one.


Hey
TimBob12 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2011, 04:17 PM   #32
SITH LORD 872
Junior Member
 
SITH LORD 872's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 255
Current Game: KOTOR 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimBob12 View Post
When you exit the ebon hawk look to your right there should be a plasteel container and it should be in there and trigger a cutscene.



It must be the same mod because he knew the correct location for the Rodian.

Perhaps it didn't install properly if two of the quest plot things are missing?


Also I didn't steal it I made it all from scratch. I originally wanted to create a bounty office but found that that had already been done so switched it to a Job Office.
First off i am not saying you stole it, But perhaps someone else took your idea, On a second note, I have noticed on some other forums, That people tend to steal and or take other peoples idea's.

I didn't join on here to cause problems, but to learn how to do things and meet new people, If i come off as out of line in my statement, I apologize!!


SITH LORD 872 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2011, 04:37 PM   #33
TimBob12
I'm in space!
 
TimBob12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dantooine
Posts: 515
Current Game: Mass Effect 2!
Helpful! 
That's Ok I just wanted to make it clear that I didn't steal it and that I cdon't condole the stealing of mods.


Hey
TimBob12 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2011, 06:12 PM   #34
Christos K
Forumite
 
Christos K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 744
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimBob12 View Post
It is in the existing plasteel cylinder to the right. I didn't create a new one.
Interesting. Oh well, maybe on my next playthrough it will work correctly.


"It's the one that says Bad Mother ****er." - Jules Winnfield... Describing his wallet, Pulp Fiction.
Christos K is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2011, 11:26 AM   #35
TimBob12
I'm in space!
 
TimBob12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dantooine
Posts: 515
Current Game: Mass Effect 2!
Helpful! 
I have uploaded a new version to Deadly Stream that is waiting approval. So hopefully this might fix some stuff.


Hey
TimBob12 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2011, 03:28 PM   #36
Slstoev
Rookie
 
Slstoev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Forest...
Posts: 220
Current Game: TF2, Minecraft
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimBob12 View Post
I have uploaded a new version to Deadly Stream that is waiting approval. So hopefully this might fix some stuff.
By that do you mean a patch or a new version in which I have to delete the old one?


I am back.
Slstoev is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2011, 04:19 PM   #37
TimBob12
I'm in space!
 
TimBob12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dantooine
Posts: 515
Current Game: Mass Effect 2!
Helpful! 
Its a new version as it has new files and stuff that have new names. so preferably delete the old one. I just downloaded BOS SR and am testing it.


Hey
TimBob12 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2011, 04:55 PM   #38
SITH LORD 872
Junior Member
 
SITH LORD 872's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 255
Current Game: KOTOR 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimBob12 View Post
Its a new version as it has new files and stuff that have new names. so preferably delete the old one. I just downloaded BOS SR and am testing it.
Could the download be the reason why when i added other mods, That bastila's Mother was missing from the cantina?


SITH LORD 872 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-06-2011, 12:51 AM   #39
Slstoev
Rookie
 
Slstoev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Forest...
Posts: 220
Current Game: TF2, Minecraft
Aha I'm not alone.

Edit: I wish there was a TSL un-Patcher or a mod uninstaller.


I am back.

Last edited by Slstoev; 05-06-2011 at 01:03 AM.
Slstoev is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-06-2011, 02:33 AM   #40
TimBob12
I'm in space!
 
TimBob12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dantooine
Posts: 515
Current Game: Mass Effect 2!
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SITH LORD 872 View Post
Could the download be the reason why when i added other mods, That bastila's Mother was missing from the cantina?
Not sure I follow you.

As to the bugs looking at it BOSSR shares a few spwan scripts with the Job Office.

I should be able to make a patch.

Quote:
Edit: I wish there was a TSL un-Patcher or a mod uninstaller.
Hmmmmmm, strokes long beard in a manner that suggests thinking.


Hey
TimBob12 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Taris Upper City Emporium > The Tatooine Job Office

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:27 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.