lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Coordinates: X, Y, Z
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-14-2014, 01:42 PM   #1
CaptainPike
Rookie
 
CaptainPike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 54
Coordinates: X, Y, Z

I have questions about this coordinate method.

After I have completed the mod for the Ebon Hawk supplies I've been working on, I want to throw in a couple placeables and creatures; the problem is, my copy of KOTOR is from "Best of PC" package; so I don't have access to cheat codes or "whereami". As result, I need to understand how the coordinate systems work and for a given area, establish points of reference.

For example, if I understood the coordinate methods and knew where my crew was placed in the Ebon Hawk, I could use that knowledge to make good guesses of where to place my additional creatures and placeables.

My research has simply directed me to "whereami" cheat, and that's not going to work for me ...

So...
  • What directions do the values X, Y and Z delineate?
  • In these 3 directions, which values do larger numbers move to? (i.e. is 0 the furthest to the left or top or furthest to right or bottom)?
  • So that I can have points of reference, what files can I look at in a given module to establish a point of reference?
CaptainPike is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2014, 03:21 PM   #2
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 610
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
In a pinch, you might try installing this Kotor2 mod for KotOR 1...

http://www.starwarsknights.com/mtools/whereami206.zip

And then use KSE to give the item to yourself.


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2014, 09:53 PM   #3
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,787
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
The cheats work fine for me in my BOPC copy of KotOR.

In any case, for most default KotOR maps, an increase in X value corresponds to a more easterly position. An increase in Y value results in a more northerly position on the map. The Z coordinate controls the height, which is of no consequence for characters as their Z coordinate is based on the walkmesh.



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2014, 11:24 PM   #4
CaptainPike
Rookie
 
CaptainPike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sithspecter View Post
The cheats work fine for me in my BOPC copy of KotOR.

In any case, for most default KotOR maps, an increase in X value corresponds to a more easterly position. An increase in Y value results in a more northerly position on the map. The Z coordinate controls the height, which is of no consequence for characters as their Z coordinate is based on the walkmesh.
Thanks for the info! That will be very useful.

Cheats work fine for you? I can't get mine to work for nuthin'. I have installed outside of the "programs" directory and I have tried:

Cheats = 1
EnableCheats
EnableCheats=1
Console=1
EnableConsole
EnableConsole=1

.... and any and all of the above!

~ gets me nowhere ... It's aggravating ...
CaptainPike is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2014, 12:09 AM   #5
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 610
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainPike View Post
Thanks for the info! That will be very useful.

Cheats work fine for you? I can't get mine to work for nuthin'. I have installed outside of the "programs" directory and I have tried:

Cheats = 1
EnableCheats
EnableCheats=1
Console=1
EnableConsole
EnableConsole=1

.... and any and all of the above!

~ gets me nowhere ... It's aggravating ...
Well, did you add it under the [Game Options] section?

Mine for comparison:
Show spoiler


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Coordinates: X, Y, Z

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:39 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.