lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: How Do *You* Like To Mod?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-10-2014, 05:46 PM   #1
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 608
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
How Do *You* Like To Mod?

Hey, guys! What's up?

I'm currently working on a new tool for Har III, for handling the cloning of a module.

While I began coding it, I was wondering about the ways the community likes to mod.

So, in the interest of new tools and possibly a condensed All-In-One tool...:

Convenience: Something user-friendly, such as a history menu.

Function: Something the program can physically do to the file/a representation of the file.

1. What areas do you mod in?
2. What tools do you use and how do you go about the process?
3. Are there any limitations, whether functional or convenience, with those tools?*
4. What would you like to see in the way of new tools?
5. What areas do you think need more/better tools?

*: Before anyone mentions it, DON'T chime in about MDLOps's limitations in the modelling format. Unless you can yank on someone's chain at Bioware to give you the mdl format, can it!**

**: This doesn't apply to convenience/functionality comments.


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-10-2014, 07:12 PM   #2
Xarwarz
Forumite
 
Xarwarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 627
Veteran Modder 
1. Texture Modding thinking of doing some model replacement like plc models

2.Kotor tool

3.Kotor tools map editor is not fully functional in this area. For instance im able to spawn some models and not others. I believe this has to do with z-coordinates the walk mesh is there but not the model some areas work others dont. I want to complete the maps for it for both games but im stumped by this issue.

4. I'd like to see a real time module editor with the ability to add new models and textures. It would have probably have to edit by area similar to how the the model viewer functions. Which it would load an mdl then make edits and save back into a new mdl this is possible. So basically a level editor for MDL,it would include select, move, replace, texture, import, export, create new areas, edit lights, edit animations etc... but only for kotor games. Interestingly i wonder could the witcher editor be reversed engineered to work with kotor 1,2

5. The above mentioned...


USE MY MOD IN ANY MOD
xediixarwarz.com

NEXTGEN PICZ
Show spoiler
Xarwarz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-10-2014, 07:28 PM   #3
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 608
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xarwarz View Post
1. Texture Modding thinking of doing some model replacement like plc models

2.Kotor tool

3.Kotor tools map editor is not fully functional in this area. For instance im able to spawn some models and not others. I believe this has to do with z-coordinates the walk mesh is there but not the model some areas work others dont. I want to complete the maps for it for both games but im stumped by this issue.

4. I'd like to see a real time module editor with the ability to add new models and textures. It would have probably have to edit by area similar to how the the model viewer functions. Which it would load an mdl then make edits and save back into a new mdl this is possible. So basically a level editor for MDL,it would include select, move, replace, texture, import, export, create new areas, edit lights, edit animations etc... but only for kotor games. Interestingly i wonder could the witcher editor be reversed engineered to work with kotor 1,2

5. The above mentioned...
If you could get me The Witcher editor/source code for it, then I could look into that.

As far as the Real-Time Module-Editor, I'll need a Linux machine before I can even attempt that...


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-10-2014, 08:12 PM   #4
Xarwarz
Forumite
 
Xarwarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 627
Veteran Modder 
As far as the Real-Time Module-Editor, I'll need a Linux machine before I can even attempt that...

Could try virtual box and linux iso if that will work...

But no source code yet for withcer editor dang.


USE MY MOD IN ANY MOD
xediixarwarz.com

NEXTGEN PICZ
Show spoiler
Xarwarz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-10-2014, 08:54 PM   #5
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 608
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xarwarz View Post
As far as the Real-Time Module-Editor, I'll need a Linux machine before I can even attempt that...

Could try virtual box and linux iso if that will work...

But no source code yet for withcer editor dang.
I have no idea where to start to try that linux thing...

Basically, the reason why I need it is because there are issues with Perl and getting the OpenGL packages to play nicely on a Win32 system.

And the only way for a 3D-display is OpenGL, so...


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-10-2014, 10:07 PM   #6
Disturbed205
Rookie
 
Disturbed205's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 41
Current Game: The Elder Scrolls V
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fair Strides 2 View Post
I have no idea where to start to try that linux thing...

Basically, the reason why I need it is because there are issues with Perl and getting the OpenGL packages to play nicely on a Win32 system.

And the only way for a 3D-display is OpenGL, so...
You download Ubuntu, load it onto a flashdrive/SD/DVD and you put it in your computer.

BAM! Linux.
Disturbed205 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-10-2014, 10:12 PM   #7
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 608
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Disturbed205 View Post
You download Ubuntu, load it onto a flashdrive/SD/DVD and you put it in your computer.

BAM! Linux.
Now this would just be a boot-up distro, similar to running Whine on Linux would be a boot-up distro for Windows, yes?

But would it function exactly like a Unix OS?


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-10-2014, 11:19 PM   #8
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,713
Forum Veteran Helpful! 
If you want to run it in a virtual machine inside Windows, you need some virtualisation software. VMWare has a free client ("Player"), and VirtualBox is outright free. I've only ever used VMWare, so can't speak to how VirtualBox is.

If you do a full boot from a Live CD, then yes, that runs as installed Linux would (just recently saw a story about a sysadmin that accidentally killed an enterprise server when he was investigating a noisy CD drive...), with some caveats as to file modification. I'd not recommend that approach for development stuff. You'd be better off dual booting if you want that, but that's a whole other can of worms (and a PITA mixing Windows and Linux because of MBR stuff).
DarthParametric is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > How Do *You* Like To Mod?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:19 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.