lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar
View Poll Results: Should I continue work on this mod?
Yes 3 100.00%
No 0 0%
IDC 0 0%
Voters: 3. You may not vote on this poll


Thread: Recruit Batu Beta Testing
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-11-2012, 02:45 PM   #1
noname35
Rookie
 
noname35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nar Shadaa
Posts: 123
Current Game: KotOR 1 and 2
Recruit Batu Beta Testing

This is a beta for a new mod I just made. I joined Lucas Forums JUST to request this mod, and darth-acbar suggested that I work on it myself, but I made no progress. I just got to work on it, and pretty much finished it in an hour or 2. Well, this mod is a beta that allows you to recruit Batu Rem (the assassin Batu), and it's a beta that is bare-bone, with no new dialog(except for the recruitment dialog). Just say "I'm no Jedi" and continue from there. Tell if it works or not.

Heres the link:
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?j7dorrlyz9b8e6w

Thanks, noname35


Holowan's neediest modder

Last edited by noname35; 03-11-2012 at 06:25 PM.
noname35 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-11-2012, 06:19 PM   #2
Sylthar
Rookie
 
Sylthar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 78
I'm not gonna say you shouldn't work on it, but you should realize that this game is getting pretty damned old. I have a friend who tried to run it on his new computer, but it wouldn't run because his computer was too advanced for the game apparently.

But another thing, if you want people to test it, you might wanna give them a download link. hehe.


Sylthar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-11-2012, 06:26 PM   #3
noname35
Rookie
 
noname35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nar Shadaa
Posts: 123
Current Game: KotOR 1 and 2
I feel so dumb, thanks. And you have a point, but I still love it and apparently so do a lot of people.


Holowan's neediest modder
noname35 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-11-2012, 06:28 PM   #4
Sylthar
Rookie
 
Sylthar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by noname35 View Post
I feel so dumb, thanks. And you have a point, but I still love it and apparently so do a lot of people.
No problem.

And I still love it too, just haven't gotten around testing if it'll work on my new comp. heh. I think you should continue it, since you're still passionate about it. Everyone else be damned, it's your mod not theirs. (:


Sylthar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-11-2012, 06:57 PM   #5
noname35
Rookie
 
noname35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nar Shadaa
Posts: 123
Current Game: KotOR 1 and 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziost View Post
No problem.

And I still love it too, just haven't gotten around testing if it'll work on my new comp. heh. I think you should continue it, since you're still passionate about it. Everyone else be damned, it's your mod not theirs. (:
Thanks for the advice.


Holowan's neediest modder
noname35 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-12-2012, 03:31 AM   #6
Sith Holocron
M4-78
 
Sith Holocron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pasadena, MD(Nar Shaddaa East)
Posts: 1,328
Current Game: The Old Republic
Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Alderaan News Holopics contributor 
I imagine that this mod will be completely incompatible with Exile007's GenoHaradan mod. That would make it a no-sale for me.

Best of luck though.




Considering trying out (or returning to) SWTOR? You may as well go through my link and help get me some SWTOR referral points!
Sith Holocron is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-12-2012, 03:48 AM   #7
darth-ackbar
Rookie
 
darth-ackbar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Death Star
Posts: 158
Current Game: The Search For Revan
As sith holocron said, and maybe I should have pointed that out to you, it will probably be incompatible with GenoHaradan but if you want to work on it, do it, but be warned that you will lose a fair few downloads. I would suggest making an interesting and unique storyline for him, it will take a bit of work but it will entice players more.


Search For Revan Website: www.kotorsearchforrevan.wetpaint.com

Search For Revan LucasForums Thread


<a href=http://www.kotorsearchforrevan.wetpaint.com target=_blank>http://www.kotorsearchforrevan.wetpaint.com</a>
darth-ackbar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-12-2012, 07:33 AM   #8
Sith Holocron
M4-78
 
Sith Holocron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pasadena, MD(Nar Shaddaa East)
Posts: 1,328
Current Game: The Old Republic
Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Alderaan News Holopics contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by darth-ackbar View Post
I would suggest making an interesting and unique storyline for him. it.
Of course, since this character isn't Batu Rem, you'd have to come up with a new name for him.

Make sure you have voiced dialog. Of course, you'll also have to redo the lines for him that are already present for the "false" Batu Rem character in the game.

I don't know about everyone else but recruit mods that don't have at the very least voiced dialogue and an interesting character quest don't inspire me to replace a character that's already in the game that has voiced dialogue and a quest. (Yes, I realize that Disciple's personal quest was cut.)

Speaking of replacing characters, whhic standard NPC will false Batu Rem be replacing?




Considering trying out (or returning to) SWTOR? You may as well go through my link and help get me some SWTOR referral points!
Sith Holocron is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-12-2012, 11:57 AM   #9
bendarby24
Rookie
 
bendarby24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: england :)
Posts: 64
Current Game: fable
welcome to the forum
bendarby24 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-12-2012, 01:10 PM   #10
UltimateHK47
Forumite
 
UltimateHK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: In a Galaxy, far far away...
Posts: 500
Current Game: Kotor 1
Looks nice. But my TSL dosn't work
but arn't you working on recruit Bendak?


http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...12#post2807812
The Turret Arcade 1.2 ^^


USED TO BE KNOWN AS DARTH JANGO/WEASLEY
UltimateHK47 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-12-2012, 05:12 PM   #11
noname35
Rookie
 
noname35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nar Shadaa
Posts: 123
Current Game: KotOR 1 and 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthJango/Weasley View Post
Looks nice. But my TSL dosn't work
but arn't you working on recruit Bendak?
Yeah but I had to take a break becuase my kotor isn't working I guess it's another problem with my override . And Exile007's mod has something to do with the impostor Batu Rem


Holowan's neediest modder
noname35 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2012, 01:01 PM   #12
UltimateHK47
Forumite
 
UltimateHK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: In a Galaxy, far far away...
Posts: 500
Current Game: Kotor 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by noname35 View Post
Yeah but I had to take a break becuase my kotor isn't working I guess it's another problem with my override . And Exile007's mod has something to do with the impostor Batu Rem
But what if you don't have that mod?


http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...12#post2807812
The Turret Arcade 1.2 ^^


USED TO BE KNOWN AS DARTH JANGO/WEASLEY
UltimateHK47 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2012, 01:35 AM   #13
Exile007
Junior Member
 
Exile007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Imprisoned by the GenoHaradan
Posts: 499
Current Game: Zelda Majora's Mask
Quote:
Originally Posted by noname35 View Post
Yeah but I had to take a break becuase my kotor isn't working I guess it's another problem with my override . And Exile007's mod has something to do with the impostor Batu Rem
He's an evil GenoHaradan Disciple!
Exile007 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2012, 06:55 PM   #14
noname35
Rookie
 
noname35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nar Shadaa
Posts: 123
Current Game: KotOR 1 and 2
Really? I always thought he was some random BH


Holowan's neediest modder
noname35 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2012, 12:28 AM   #15
Exile007
Junior Member
 
Exile007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Imprisoned by the GenoHaradan
Posts: 499
Current Game: Zelda Majora's Mask
Quote:
Originally Posted by noname35 View Post
Really? I always thought he was some random BH
spoiler:
He was supposed to be a GenoHaradan Disciple. His line "Unfortunately I serve the GenoHaradan... and to us you're only worth money dead." makes it clear.


I really don't care if you if make a recruit Batu mod, although it likely will be incompatible with the GenoHaradan mod. But you really shouldn't make a mod based on how many downloads you think your mod will get. We're not getting paid for this after all. What matters is if YOU are happy with the final product, not the public. If you want to make Batu recruitable, go for it. If you want to make a new characters, that's great too.

Good luck!
Exile007 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2012, 05:31 AM   #16
Hassat Hunter
Forumite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 557
^
Which makes a whole lot more sense than what he says now being an exchange agent...
Hassat Hunter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2012, 09:07 PM   #17
noname35
Rookie
 
noname35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nar Shadaa
Posts: 123
Current Game: KotOR 1 and 2
Yeah it does. I probably wont be able to make this mod because the script that the dialog runs is a cutscene . I might just spawn an NPC with Batu's apperance and make that the "real" Batu Rem and you recruit him. All progress is down though because I had to reinstall the game and now I keep getting a runtime error and haven't had enough time to fix it (same thing happening with my K1 copy)


Holowan's neediest modder
noname35 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Recruit Batu Beta Testing

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:46 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.