lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: How do you change BMP to JPG or.....?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-25-2004, 07:49 PM   #1
Evil Dark Jedi
The Dark Side pwns!
 
Evil Dark Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: The Land Down Under
Posts: 2,182
How do you change BMP to JPG or.....?

I have an avatar but I cant upload it onto LF cause it is a BMP image. How can you change it?


Sig encountering technical difficulties...
Evil Dark Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-25-2004, 07:51 PM   #2
Dath Maximus
Muad'dib
 
Dath Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Over there
Posts: 3,506
10 year veteran! LF Jester Forum Veteran 
open it with something like...ms paint

go to save as, and where it asks to save it under a name, the box underneath it should say what type you want to save it as, simply change it to the desired format


BongoBob: Dath you are the true face of the internet.
Roxstar: Dath is 1/2 Chris Farley 1/2 Lord Voldemort.
Kain: Dath>new guy
TiE23: Dath, lord of accidentally burning the unburnable.
The Seeker: Dath Maximus makes happiness his Bitch.
BongoBob: Dath never keeps his promises. EXCEPT TO KILL!
Dath Maximus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-25-2004, 07:54 PM   #3
Evil Dark Jedi
The Dark Side pwns!
 
Evil Dark Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: The Land Down Under
Posts: 2,182
Quote:
Originally posted by General Agamemnon
open it with something like...ms paint

go to save as, and where it asks to save it under a name, the box underneath it should say what type you want to save it as, simply change it to the desired format

All I have is the normal paint. Where do I get mspaint?


Sig encountering technical difficulties...
Evil Dark Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-25-2004, 07:55 PM   #4
Dath Maximus
Muad'dib
 
Dath Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Over there
Posts: 3,506
10 year veteran! LF Jester Forum Veteran 
normal paint is ms pain

its just its full name

microsoft paint


BongoBob: Dath you are the true face of the internet.
Roxstar: Dath is 1/2 Chris Farley 1/2 Lord Voldemort.
Kain: Dath>new guy
TiE23: Dath, lord of accidentally burning the unburnable.
The Seeker: Dath Maximus makes happiness his Bitch.
BongoBob: Dath never keeps his promises. EXCEPT TO KILL!
Dath Maximus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-25-2004, 08:09 PM   #5
Evil Dark Jedi
The Dark Side pwns!
 
Evil Dark Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: The Land Down Under
Posts: 2,182
K I got it now thanks.


Sig encountering technical difficulties...
Evil Dark Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-26-2004, 12:13 AM   #6
Sivy
coming soon
 
Sivy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 7,314
Forum Veteran 
as great as ms paint is, i suggest you find yourself a different graphics program. there are lots of freeware programs that are just as good as paintshop and photoshop.
Sivy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-26-2004, 12:15 AM   #7
Boba Rhett
I Slay Dragons
 
Boba Rhett's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Man-Room in Missouri
Posts: 13,807
Current Game: Scrolling Eldery
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! 
I suggest you go Gimp yourself.
Boba Rhett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-26-2004, 12:21 AM   #8
Darth Groovy
The Dapper Zabrak
 
Darth Groovy's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Joliet, IL, USA
Posts: 11,297
Current Game: Awaiting Greatness from PS4!
10 year veteran! Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member LucasCast staff 
Actually, you can save a bmp file to your desktop, and rename it a JPG, and it will work. It does for me, I DO use XP Pro however...
Darth Groovy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-26-2004, 12:27 AM   #9
Sabretooth
鬼龍院皐月
 
Sabretooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,367
10 year veteran! 
Quote:
Originally posted by Boba Rhett
I suggest you go Gimp yourself.
Complete R0XX0R material. I used that for my second UT2004 Skin and another Clan Skin.

It's just a bit buggy, needs you to change all fonts to Tahoma, and can put a load on your CPU if you have a slow one.


Sabretooth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-26-2004, 01:44 AM   #10
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally posted by Evil Dark Jedi
All I have is the normal paint. Where do I get mspaint?
sheet man, if you didnt know that I fear for the youth of australia It's like saying, "my dad doesnt drive a Merc, its a Mercedes Benz" ah well...

what groovy said is true. BUT
1)you have to have "hide known filetypes" switched OFF
2)renaming a BMP to JPG wont make it a jpg ! It'll still open because its an image file, but the compression that the jpg form does wont happen. This isnt noticeable for smaller filesizes, but definitely for bigger ones...


mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-26-2004, 07:37 AM   #11
IG-64
Moderator
 
IG-64's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 5,958
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
My clan leader had never heard of or used MS Paint before, he's 24 yrs old.
IG-64 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-26-2004, 01:09 PM   #12
Evil Dark Jedi
The Dark Side pwns!
 
Evil Dark Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: The Land Down Under
Posts: 2,182
Quote:
Originally posted by Boba Rhett
I suggest you go Gimp yourself.
Thankyee Rhett.


Sig encountering technical difficulties...
Evil Dark Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2004, 02:25 AM   #13
Sabretooth
鬼龍院皐月
 
Sabretooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,367
10 year veteran! 
Quote:
Originally posted by General Agamemnon
normal paint is ms pain
*Adds to "favourite quotes" list*


Sabretooth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-25-2014, 04:37 AM   #14
Daduret
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
Now, you can convert BMP to JPG, with just a few clicks
Daduret is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Yoda’s Swamp > How do you change BMP to JPG or.....?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:30 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.