lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Possibly A Simple Mod: Helena
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-19-2012, 02:33 PM   #1
Christos K
Forumite
 
Christos K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 744
Possibly A Simple Mod: Helena

Basically I would like to move Helena, Bastila's mother, to right outside the Cantina on Tatooine.
I am requesting this because A, ever since I installed Tatooine Job Office, it looks like Helena will not spawn, but I like that mod so I won't uninstall it. And B, the Cantina always runs a bit laggy on my PC so it would be nice to have her placed right in front of the Cantina instead.
From my slight knowledge of modding, this shouldn't be a difficult thing to do so if someone knows exactly what to do you can just let me know so I can do my own damn work.
Thanks!


"It's the one that says Bad Mother ****er." - Jules Winnfield... Describing his wallet, Pulp Fiction.
Christos K is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-19-2012, 03:03 PM   #2
Fastmaniac
Rookie
 
Fastmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 164
I don't know if it's that simple... Helena will spawn on a condition that is probably handled in the OnEnter script of the cantina... So you'll have to delete that part from the cantina and edit it into the OnEnter script of Anchorhead / find another way to spawn her.
Admittedly scripting her spawn point outside of the cantina will be fairly easy. But I don't know about the possibility to remove that part from the cantina (So she doesn't spawn twice ). You can try decompiling the OnEnter script of the cantina and removing her spawn part but I'm not sure if that works.

Fastmaniac
Fastmaniac is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-19-2012, 03:39 PM   #3
Christos K
Forumite
 
Christos K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 744
As it is she doesn't spawn in the Cantina at all because of the other mod. So, could I copy/paste the OnEnter script from the Cantina and place it in Anchorhead?


"It's the one that says Bad Mother ****er." - Jules Winnfield... Describing his wallet, Pulp Fiction.
Christos K is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-19-2012, 03:52 PM   #4
Fastmaniac
Rookie
 
Fastmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 164
No, you'll have to take a closer look at the OnEnter script of the cantina (the original version) and copy the part of Helena's spawning conditions (etc.) into the OnEnter of Anchorhead or using a new script and a conversation to spawn her, or anything else... Just copying the OnEnter will messup the whole area...
Fastmaniac is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-19-2012, 04:20 PM   #5
LDR
Your Death Angel
 
LDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Malachor V
Posts: 1,140
Current Game: Halo 3
Helpful! Roleplayer Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member 
What a minute, if you spawn her outside the Cantina, won't that also interfere with BOS:SR or RH's Jawa Shop (or the mod that makes them both compatible)?



Forgive, but never forget. No amount of DLC can take back lying to your fan base. Trust is earned, not downloaded.



My Mods
Current Mod Thread
LDR is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-19-2012, 11:08 PM   #6
Christos K
Forumite
 
Christos K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 744
@ LDR I could just edit the OnEnter script that came with BoS:SR right? I don't have RH'S Jawa Shop.
@ Fastmaniac Oh I wasn't going to do that don't worry.


"It's the one that says Bad Mother ****er." - Jules Winnfield... Describing his wallet, Pulp Fiction.
Christos K is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2012, 07:37 PM   #7
Christos K
Forumite
 
Christos K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 744
Does anyone have any more advice for this modification I am going to attempt?


"It's the one that says Bad Mother ****er." - Jules Winnfield... Describing his wallet, Pulp Fiction.
Christos K is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-25-2012, 08:03 AM   #8
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
It really shouldn't be hard. Just do what fastmaniac said and you'll be fine. You will have to decompile the onenter script for the cantina and the one for the tatooine streets. Then take the segment of coding from the cantina and put it in the streets script. From there you may have to add a waypoint depending on how she is spawned. Your last step would be to finally compile the scripts and test it out. Since I have never used the decompile tools I have no idea how they work. But I think you should be able to get this done in 30 minutes to an hour.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-27-2012, 06:17 PM   #9
Christos K
Forumite
 
Christos K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 744
Thats what I figured. Shouldn't take too long, thanks for the help y'all.


"It's the one that says Bad Mother ****er." - Jules Winnfield... Describing his wallet, Pulp Fiction.
Christos K is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2012, 12:37 AM   #10
Christos K
Forumite
 
Christos K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 744
As of now I am just searching for the right files in my OverRide and using the KotOR Tool. Any idea which .nss or .ncs files I will need?


"It's the one that says Bad Mother ****er." - Jules Winnfield... Describing his wallet, Pulp Fiction.
Christos K is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2012, 01:49 AM   #11
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
I can't tell you right off the bat what it is but you can easily find it. You will want to open up the .are file for whatever module you're working with and then scroll down to the OnEnter Script field. The name of the script you want is right there.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Modding requests > Possibly A Simple Mod: Helena

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:45 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.