lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Animations in KoTOR, Is it achievable?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-07-2012, 09:39 AM   #1
Kelvin
Rookie
 
Kelvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 79
Animations in KoTOR, Is it achievable?

I've been wondering, and i think it would be really nice if we could modify or even add animations to the characters, it would make the game experience much richer and it could even lead to interesting scenes, emotive situations, and who knows what.

I saw a long time ago the revan's moving cloak, was it hard to do? has anybody discovered a good way to do it?

Is there anyway i can add or modify animations?
Kelvin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2012, 11:15 AM   #2
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,764
Current Game: KotOR II
It's possible to add new animations to the character models, but getting the characters to then perform them is more of a problem.

Adding the animations involves editing the model to do the animation frame-by-frame, and so is laborious and time-consuiming in the extreme.

Getting the animation to run in-game is more of a problem. So far, aside from animations which always run (like the flowing cape, which required, as far as I know, editing every animation for the Revan model so it moves in all situations), it's been done by replacing existing animations (i.e., the "leaning" animation that was originally going to go into the TSLRP).

The problem for animations conversations/cutscenes and their scripting is that as far as I know, the animations which can be used in dialogues/cutscenes are pre-set by the engine and listed in nwscript.nss, and animations for use in scenes have to be drawn from this list, so adding new ones isn't really possible unless you replace some of the existing ones.

There are a few threads on the subject about, but because it's difficult and time-consuming, it's not really that well-documented as a subject:
Animation Fixes tutorial by Imptacular
Switching Model Animations tutorail by Ӄhrizby
Hunter's Run's WIP thread

So far as I know, these are the major threads on the topic. I'd suggest taking a look at these. It's not really my specialism, though, so take what I tell you with a pinch of salt.



Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2012, 11:27 AM   #3
Hunters Run
Rookie
 
Hunters Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: the same place as gnus
Posts: 117
Current Game: Assassins creed
If you check my thread(bottom of the list), you'll see that It is possible to add new animations without replacing any. Still this so far only works with dialogue and cutscenes. Combat animations are a bit trickier. While it is possible to create new combat animations, getting the game to read them is a bit of a problem. Theoretically adding new lines to combatanimations.2da will let the game read new combat animations (note: the combatanimations.2da is all numbers and I am unsure of what the numbers correspond to) . However, you'll sill need to script them.


It's just like chicken-only different.
Hunters Run is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2012, 01:17 PM   #4
Kelvin
Rookie
 
Kelvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunters Run View Post
If you check my thread(bottom of the list), you'll see that It is possible to add new animations without replacing any. Still this so far only works with dialogue and cutscenes. Combat animations are a bit trickier. While it is possible to create new combat animations, getting the game to read them is a bit of a problem. Theoretically adding new lines to combatanimations.2da will let the game read new combat animations (note: the combatanimations.2da is all numbers and I am unsure of what the numbers correspond to) . However, you'll sill need to script them.
I've seen what you've done, simply awesome!! Although it ony works with dialogue and cutscenes, still it is pretty cool, and useful. But is it something you must animate frame by frame?
Kelvin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2012, 04:48 PM   #5
Hunters Run
Rookie
 
Hunters Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: the same place as gnus
Posts: 117
Current Game: Assassins creed
No, you can skip frames. Animations from one frame play until they run into the next frame. If both the frames are of the same animation the character stands still.


It's just like chicken-only different.
Hunters Run is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-08-2012, 09:51 AM   #6
Kelvin
Rookie
 
Kelvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunters Run View Post
No, you can skip frames. Animations from one frame play until they run into the next frame. If both the frames are of the same animation the character stands still.
If i modified one character, adding an animation, would others have that animation too? or would it be a custom animation that only that character can perform?
Kelvin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-08-2012, 09:58 AM   #7
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,778
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth InSidious View Post
Adding the animations involves editing the model to do the animation frame-by-frame, and so is laborious and time-consuiming in the extreme.

(like the flowing cape, which required, as far as I know, editing every animation for the Revan model so it moves in all situations)
Oh, this is so painfully true.

If you're going to work with animations, to be honest, you're just going to have to experiment with it a lot yourself, and see what works.



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-08-2012, 05:18 PM   #8
Kelvin
Rookie
 
Kelvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sithspecter View Post
Oh, this is so painfully true.

If you're going to work with animations, to be honest, you're just going to have to experiment with it a lot yourself, and see what works.
Just wanna know what progress has been done so far, so that i don't have to do blind steps, about the third link up there, i've been reading and it says somthing about copying the code of one animation that looks kinda like mine ( i think i read that ).

What i had in mind, is that the game expressiveness could be improved, even the Bastila Revan kiss scene could be really performed! Not fading nor using old animations!

Just i read it worked better on scenes, so it would be cool to do something like that.

Just hoping.
Kelvin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-08-2012, 11:36 PM   #9
Darth DeadMan
Rookie
 
Darth DeadMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Russia
Posts: 119
Current Game: StarCraft II
Quote:
If i modified one character, adding an animation, would others have that animation too? or would it be a custom animation that only that character can perform?
That depends on WHERE you put your animation.
If you integrate it into supermodel it will be useable by all characters, who use this supermodel.
If you add it to one of the armor models - it will be useable by all characters, who use this armor model (but only when armor is equipped).
If animation is stored in specific character model (like Malak, Nihilus or custom made models like Sith Stalker) it's useable by this characters only.


Stay metal, live forever, never die!

My mods @ DeadlyStream
Darth DeadMan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Modding requests > Animations in KoTOR, Is it achievable?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:03 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.