lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Graphics and Effects Problem with Kotor 2
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-03-2012, 03:23 AM   #1
Daaaaa17
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Graphics and Effects Problem with Kotor 2

I recently bought a new computer and wanted to replay kotor 2 with much improved graphics over my old computer. My problem, which was present on my last computer, is that my game has multiple effects and texture problems. All melee weapons, certain doors, and other things are see-through. There are no force effects present, like when kreia talks to you "through the force". While not really game-breaking, it is very easily noticeable and makes the game not as much fun to play. It makes force sight entirely useless and have no effect as well. Any help with this issue would be appreciated.

Quote:
[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=8/3/2012 3:22:07 AM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v2.10.427
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\SWKotOR2\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 2
Service Pack=None
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
?:\pagefile.sys=0

[CPU]
CPUCount=8
CPUSpeed=2294
CPUFamily=6
CPUModel=10
CPUStepping=9
CPUVendor=Intel
CPUName= Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=4096
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=550.16GB
D: (NTFS), UNICODE=2.30GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=E:\
Drives=hp DVD-RAM UJ8B1

[Video]
Video Card Name=RDPDD Chained DD
Video Memory=2048
Desktop Resolution=1366x768x32 @ 60Hz
DirectX=DirectX 9.0c (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=3.3.0 - Build 8.15.10.2626
OpenGL Vendor=Intel
OpenGL Renderer=Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Speakers and Headphones (IDT High Definition Audio CODEC)
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor2.ini

[Display Options]
FullScreen=1
Disable Movies=0
Disable Intro Movies=0
Sort Modules=1
Width=640
Height=480
BitsPerPixels=32
RefreshRate=60

[Sound Options]
Music Volume=85
Voiceover Volume=85
Sound Effects Volume=85
Movie Volume=85
Number 3D Voices=32
Number 2D Voices=32
2D3D Bias=1.00
EAX=0
Sound Init=0
Disable Sound=0
Force Software=0

[Graphics Options]
Grass=1
Shadows=1
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=1
RefreshRate=60
Width=1024
Height=768
Emitters=1
Anisotropy=16
Frame Buffer=1
Soft Shadows=1
Brightness=57
V-Sync=1
Texture Quality=2
Anti Aliasing=8

[Game Options]
UnlockedPlanetSongs=3
Enable Tooltips=1
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
TextureVariation=1
BodyVariation=0
AppearanceType=135
PCGender=1
GameCompleted=0
CurSithLord=0
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=1
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=44
Difficulty Level=1
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
EnableScreenShot=0
Reverse Mouse Buttons=0
Reverse Ingame YAxis=0
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1
Disable Movies=0

[config]
firstrun=0

[Keymapping]
Action286B=8
Action286A=7
Action285B=10
Action285A=9
Action284B=54
Action284A=51
Action283B=54
Action283A=51
Action282B=69
Action282A=73
Action281B=53
Action281A=76
Action280B=69
Action280A=73
Action268=52
Action265=58
Action264=57
Action263=43
Action262=85
Action261=84
Action260=83
Action259=82
Action258=81
Action257=80
Action256=79
Action255=78
Action254=77
Action253=31
Action245=75
Action244=55
Action243=67
Action242=74
Action241=87
Action240=56
Action239=68
Action238=82
Action236=83
Action234=81
Action232=80
Action230=79
Action228=78
Action226=77
Action225=70
Action224=90
Action223=31
Action222=25
Action221=24
Action220=29
Action219=28
Action218=42
Action217=87
Action216=65
Action215=63
Action214=60
Action213=62
Action212=61
Action211=66
Action210=59
Action209=71
Action208=89
Action207=72
Action206=30
Action205=55
Action204=67

[Autopause Options]
End Of Combat Round=0
Mine Sighted=0
Enemy Sighted=1
Party Killed=1
Action Menu=0
New Target Selected=1

[Movies Shown]
Movie10=0
Movie 9=0
Movie 8=0
Movie 7=0
Movie 6=0
Movie 5=0
Movie 4=0
Movie 3=0
Movie 2=0
Movie 1=0
Movie 0=12
Daaaaa17 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2012, 05:54 AM   #2
Hassat Hunter
Forumite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 557
Enable Frame Buffer Effects.
Hassat Hunter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2012, 02:06 PM   #3
Daaaaa17
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Probably also should of mentioned that frame buffer effects and soft shadows are grayed out ingame and cannot be turned on. I've also tried messing with my graphics to see if they could be enabled, but nothing happens. I also can't enable them by editing the kotor2 notepad settings. I might be able to edit it to say Frame Buffer Effects = 1 but nothing happens ingame and when I go back to check the settings, it resets back to 0.
Daaaaa17 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2012, 05:07 PM   #4
Hassat Hunter
Forumite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 557
Could be driver related. I can't enable soft shadows either (ATI), but can frame buffer effects.
It might be worthy to try downgrading your drivers, see if that helps...
Hassat Hunter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2012, 08:50 PM   #5
thejman217
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 231
Did you try uninstalling and reinstalling the game according to the SECOND POST of this thread?:

http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=194324

If that doesnt work, then i have two question/suggestions.
1.) Is your labtop overheating while running the game? (If you are running it on a labtop at all)
2.) If its not, then i suggest downloading and installing The Restored Content Mod: Version 1.8 which is found here:

http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...d-content-mod/

or if that doesnt work you can download it here:

http://www.moddb.com/mods/the-sith-l...oads/tslrcm-18

Obviously, it is a mod that restores all of the cut content from the game. More importantly, it introduces A LOT of bug fixes such as see through, the brown neck area problem on jedi robes, and see through droids and many, MANY other bug fixes. If that doesnt work, then try updating your driver. If THAT doesnt work, then theres not much more you can do besides wait for someone else to suggest something or contacting "Yoda's Help Desk".

>>>>>EDIT<<<<<

Also add a new line in your .ini in the graphics options and enter "Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1" without the quotes. Save. Exit. Its not related to your problem, but it should help on dantooine with the lag.

>>>>>SECOND EDIT<<<<<

Remember to answer my question and to reinstall according to the SECOND POST of the thread on the link above!

Last edited by thejman217; 08-03-2012 at 09:00 PM.
thejman217 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2012, 11:00 PM   #6
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hassat Hunter View Post
Could be driver related. I can't enable soft shadows either (ATI), but can frame buffer effects.
It might be worthy to try downgrading your drivers, see if that helps...
I doubt the OP can do that. Intel HD Graphics 4000 is brand spanking new.

@OP: If those options are grayed out, then your drivers don't support them. There's really nothing you can do about it. You should follow thejman217's advice and reinstall the game according to my instructions. Do that and you shouldn't have any real problems. I would turn anti-aliasing down to 4, though. You won't notice the difference cosmetically, but the game will probably run smoother. You may need to turn off grass, too.

Also, the game supports 1280x768 natively if you change the width and height values under both [Display Options] and [Graphics Options] in the swkotor2.ini file when you go in there to add the line Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1 under [Graphics Options].


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker

Last edited by Q; 08-03-2012 at 11:14 PM.
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2012, 11:22 PM   #7
thejman217
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 231
@Q, for some reason, my two threads got deleted and i have no idea why. Also my ACCOUNT was deleted, so i made a new one. Thats why it says i joined in august. But im not complaining about the threads being deleted anymore, because once i vacuumed out all of the dust, the game runs as it did before! YES!!!!!! !!!!! My computer stays so cool now, the cooling fan doesnt turn on AT ALL! No more lag!!!! Thanks for your AMAZING advice by the way! !!!!
thejman217 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > Graphics and Effects Problem with Kotor 2

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:25 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.