lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Character model Editing in Blender?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-13-2012, 09:47 PM   #1
Falko_Fbob_Cherry
Rookie
 
Falko_Fbob_Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: In my mind.
Posts: 15
Current Game: WoW, KotOR II, AC II
Character model Editing in Blender?

Hey guys, just wondering after a couple hours of roaming and failure if there's a way to edit kotor character models in blender rather than gmax owing to the fact I'm about as effective as a walrus on a teusday in gmax.

Cheers!
- Mugg



Pro-est Noob EVAAAA!!!!!
'Kay I'm done now. ... I AM THE BAT! MMLUH!! injaaa's of the nniiiiiiiggghhhhttttttt : I GO.
Falko_Fbob_Cherry is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-14-2012, 12:25 AM   #2
Dak Drexl
Senior Member
 
Dak Drexl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,078
Helpful! 
As far as I know the reason we can only use Max is because the plugin that allows us to import and export the game models, called nwmax, has only been written for Max.

Dak Drexl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-14-2012, 02:38 AM   #3
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,643
Forum Veteran Helpful! 
You have to export models via GMax/Max as Dak said, but you can still model in another app (such as Blender) as long as you can import it into one of them afterwards. It's a non-issue for static models (all my modelling was done in C4D and imported into GMax), but for character models you're going to struggle a bit I would think, at least with GMax. The only viable route would probably be via Max, and you'd have to export out the base rigged model to Blender, make whatever changes you need, then reimport back into Max for export. I can't see it being practical with GMax due to its highly restrictive format options. I suspect though that it would be far more trouble than it would be worth for minor alterations. There's a high likelihood of all sorts of errors cropping up with multiple format conversions.
DarthParametric is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2012, 04:07 PM   #4
Falko_Fbob_Cherry
Rookie
 
Falko_Fbob_Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: In my mind.
Posts: 15
Current Game: WoW, KotOR II, AC II
Thanks for the responses guys, I'd tried finding a p3d importer/exporter script for blender since that's the only export option out of Gmax (that I could find anyway) and managed to find one but I think all the conversions were too much as when I brought it into blender, I got nothing. It might also be noted that I couldn't find the .mdl export out of nwmax that all the tutorials talk about, so I guess that just indicates how adept I am at navigating Max.



Pro-est Noob EVAAAA!!!!!
'Kay I'm done now. ... I AM THE BAT! MMLUH!! injaaa's of the nniiiiiiiggghhhhttttttt : I GO.
Falko_Fbob_Cherry is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-26-2012, 09:49 AM   #5
Dak Drexl
Senior Member
 
Dak Drexl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,078
Helpful! 
Haha what the hell is a pd3? Try following this link. I don't have Max anymore but it looks like it should be fine. As Darth said, though, you're out of luck with character models if you're looking to put them back into the game (since it's just a static .obj).

Dak Drexl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2012, 11:47 PM   #6
Falko_Fbob_Cherry
Rookie
 
Falko_Fbob_Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: In my mind.
Posts: 15
Current Game: WoW, KotOR II, AC II
Ah, lame lol, .p3d is the only export in the file>export menu for me. Anyway, ya character models are what I wanna muck around with. Dunno what the point would be with anything that wasn't a character.



Pro-est Noob EVAAAA!!!!!
'Kay I'm done now. ... I AM THE BAT! MMLUH!! injaaa's of the nniiiiiiiggghhhhttttttt : I GO.
Falko_Fbob_Cherry is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2012, 11:56 PM   #7
Dak Drexl
Senior Member
 
Dak Drexl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,078
Helpful! 
Does Blender play nice with .fbx format? I'm a Maya user and have been wondering what would happen if someone who has 3ds Max exported a character model as an .fbx for me to bring into Maya. Might be a similar case for you too, but I'm not too familiar with Blender.

Dak Drexl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2012, 10:51 AM   #8
Falko_Fbob_Cherry
Rookie
 
Falko_Fbob_Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: In my mind.
Posts: 15
Current Game: WoW, KotOR II, AC II
Hmmm, .fbx you say? Doesn't sound familiar, there's probably a third party import/export script floating around somewhere out there but it's not native to blender, I'm starting to be curious about 3ds max though, it seems to be compatible with more stuff and I am not pleased... Blender! Improve yourself!



Pro-est Noob EVAAAA!!!!!
'Kay I'm done now. ... I AM THE BAT! MMLUH!! injaaa's of the nniiiiiiiggghhhhttttttt : I GO.
Falko_Fbob_Cherry is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2012, 11:49 AM   #9
VarsityPuppet
Master of Puppets
 
VarsityPuppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 1,247
Current Game: Chrono Trigger
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
If you're modeling from scratch, I know it's possible to import blender into 3ds.....

I don't know what that entails necessary, but it's possible.

VarsityPuppet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Character model Editing in Blender?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:16 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.