lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Gungan Shield
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-25-2012, 09:19 PM   #1
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,787
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
Gungan Shield

I came up with this after watching Episode I.










Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-25-2012, 09:54 PM   #2
LDR
Your Death Angel
 
LDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Malachor V
Posts: 1,141
Current Game: Halo: Master Chief Collection
Helpful! Roleplayer Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member 
I love you.

Now you should make drivable vehicles.



Forgive, but never forget. No amount of DLC can take back lying to your fan base. Trust is earned, not downloaded.



My Mods
Current Mod Thread
LDR is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-25-2012, 10:58 PM   #3
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,787
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDR View Post
I love you.

Now you should make drivable vehicles.
Thanks. I'll see what I can do about that soon.

Otherwise, this shield also has some minor clipping issues. Also, when weapons, placeables, doors, or heads show up behind the blue/purple part of the shield, it looks like the shield disappears on that part. I'm using a txi that says:

blending additive
envapmap window

If anybody knows how to fix this, give me a holler.



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-26-2012, 12:27 PM   #4
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 613
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sithspecter View Post
I came up with this after watching Episode I.

Show spoiler
TSL version, SS? ^_^
Fair Strides 2 is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-26-2012, 02:37 PM   #5
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,787
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
Maybe, but probably not. I just do not like TSL.



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-26-2012, 02:44 PM   #6
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,379
Quote:
Otherwise, this shield also has some minor clipping issues. Also, when weapons, placeables, doors, or heads show up behind the blue/purple part of the shield, it looks like the shield disappears on that part. I'm using a txi that says:

blending additive
envapmap window

If anybody knows how to fix this, give me a holler.
Try using decal 1 instead of envmap window and see how you get on.




Visit the new JediKnight.net!
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-26-2012, 02:56 PM   #7
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,787
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
Ah, I'll try that as soon as I get home!



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-26-2012, 03:05 PM   #8
GeorgNihilus
Forumite
 
GeorgNihilus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 600
Current Game: Skyrim
Cool Guy Well ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sithspecter View Post
Otherwise, this shield also has some minor clipping issues. Also, when weapons, placeables, doors, or heads show up behind the blue/purple part of the shield, it looks like the shield disappears on that part. I'm using a txi that says:

blending additive
envapmap window

If anybody knows how to fix this, give me a holler.
I suppose this might be ... impossible but well ... how about having a shield that turns off once not in combat??
that would at least fix the "non-combat" clipping issues ...

a smaller shield would help somehow probably??

and turning on/off would be more "hollywood-friendly" ...

after all ... you did turn those landspeeders driveable ...


TSL Mods
Nar Shaddaa hidden complex http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef..._Complex;91257
Mandalorian camo Armors in-game http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=204159
Telos polar plateau sidequest 1.2 http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=202436

KotOR Mods
A lost sith in a nameless world http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef...ss_World;96040
GeorgNihilus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-26-2012, 03:07 PM   #9
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,787
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
I'll see what I can do about that soon. I've already got some sweet ideas for some more shields...



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-26-2012, 03:44 PM   #10
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,379
Oh, if my earlier suggestion doesn't work, try removing the blending additive too, so you're left with just decal 1.




Visit the new JediKnight.net!
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2012, 12:32 PM   #11
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,787
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
Removing the blending additive makes it non-transparent. I may have to go back in the model and change the alpha settings for it.



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2012, 12:33 PM   #12
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,379
Did the decal 1 do anything for you?




Visit the new JediKnight.net!
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2012, 12:50 PM   #13
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,778
Current Game: KotOR II
You could try making the shield transparent using the 'opacity' material property in Max. I don't know where that is in 3ds, but in gmax this is in 'maps' in the material editor, beneath 'blinn basic parameters'. I don't know if it'll solve your issue, but it's how I made the first sword here.



Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Gungan Shield

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:53 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.