lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Playable Ithorian with animation fix
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-05-2013, 07:27 AM   #1
IceDzun
Rookie
 
IceDzun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 16
Playable Ithorian with animation fix

Good day everyone.If anyone could do a playable Ithorian model with fixed animation,would be much appreciated
IceDzun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2013, 09:37 AM   #2
RPK
Banned
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 32
Do you want it? Do your own model with animations. Model is easy, but do ya think really animations are easy one?
RPK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2013, 11:14 AM   #3
supreme kotor
Junior Member
 
supreme kotor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: I'm lost.
Posts: 326
Current Game: Modding.. Wait is that a game?
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPK View Post
Do you want it? Do your own model with animations. Model is easy, but do ya think really animations are easy one?
There was seriously NO need to post that. He was just requesting it obviously if he had the skill to do it he would do it for himself, not request it. Do you know what good posting that did you? All you did is make him feel dumb for requesting it. So seriously back off I don't know what you gained from being a jerk. I honestly hope being a dick made you feel good.

-Supreme Kotor


Current WIP: Learning to mod Kotor

Last edited by supreme kotor; 05-05-2013 at 11:23 AM.
supreme kotor is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2013, 11:44 AM   #4
RPK
Banned
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by supreme kotor View Post
There was seriously NO need to post that. He was just requesting it obviously if he had the skill to do it he would do it for himself, not request it. Do you know what good posting that did you? All you did is make him feel dumb for requesting it. So seriously back off I don't know what you gained from being a jerk. I honestly hope being a dick made you feel good.

-Supreme Kotor
QQ moar, if he'll more requestin he'll be more lazy, this is a truth. And i'm jerk from nature. And? He always can try, modding is not place for charity things.

@Down
Forgive me, but you aren't smart one. At frist who should do for him any model/weighting/scripting everything for nothing? Dude, aren't you from cartoon for kids or something? This is real life.
@Down 2
I don't think so Ithorian's model have good weighitng for any animation.

Last edited by RPK; 05-05-2013 at 12:33 PM.
RPK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2013, 11:56 AM   #5
supreme kotor
Junior Member
 
supreme kotor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: I'm lost.
Posts: 326
Current Game: Modding.. Wait is that a game?
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPK View Post
QQ moar, if he'll more requestin he'll be more lazy, this is a truth. And i'm jerk from nature. And? He always can try, modding is not place for charity things.
How dumb can you be? Modding is not a charity thing? I must have missed the day when modders got paid for their mods. I must have missed the day Fred Tettea got billions of dollars for making kotor tool. I must have missed the day where logan23 is getting paid to spend days of his life making RoR. People spend thier time everyday making mods for others to enjoy. If that's not charity I don't know what is.

-Supreme Kotor


Current WIP: Learning to mod Kotor
supreme kotor is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2013, 11:59 AM   #6
IceDzun
Rookie
 
IceDzun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPK View Post
Do you want it? Do your own model with animations. Model is easy, but do ya think really animations are easy one?
You know,mate,i already read threads about models and animations fixs here.So my problem is that i can't find working Gmax to replace ithorian animation with human animation.So if you or anyone else capable to help it would be great.

P:S:And as i understand correctly this is Request thread,so i see nothing wrong about asking for it,maybe somebody already done this.
P:P:S: But ofcause it is your opinion and your point of view so carry on,mate.
IceDzun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2013, 03:43 PM   #7
Fallen Guardian
Wandering the Galaxy...
 
Fallen Guardian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Unknown Regions
Posts: 1,286
Current Game: Knights of the Old Republic
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPK View Post
@Down
Forgive me, but you aren't smart one. At frist who should do for him any model/weighting/scripting everything for nothing? Dude, aren't you from cartoon for kids or something? This is real life.
Anyone who mods for KotOR is doing all the modding (modeling, weighting, scripting, dialogue writing, implementation, etc) for "nothing." They may receive enjoyment from modding or receiving feedback from others, but they cannot make money from their mods. Therefore, helping this person with his request will grant you just as much as modding for yourself (which is, according to you, nothing).

Anyway, to the OP, there are a couple people who have the right knowledge to help you out or point you in the right direction, Sithspecter and Hunters Run are two that come to mind.


The truly fallen cannot return to the light. If someone "falls" and "returns," they never really, truly fell.

Current Work in Progress: Dantooine Tension

Released Works
Blaster Pistol Enhancement
Dustil Restoration
Ebon Hawk Texture Enhancement
Gaffi Stick Improvement
Weapon Model Overhaul Texture Rework (Thanks to Toasty Fresh!)
Sunry Murder Recording Enhancement
VP's Hi Poly Tin Cans - KotOR 1 Version
Fallen Guardian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2013, 04:02 PM   #8
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,787
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPK View Post
Do you want it? Do your own model with animations. Model is easy, but do ya think really animations are easy one?
Do you want to be on a forum? Do your own forum. Being rude is easy, but do ya think really permanently banning somebody is a hard one?

I gave you a chance, you ruined it. Good riddance.

IceDzun, I apologize for RPK's rude behavior. I should have perma-banned him the first time stuff like this happened, but I let him off after a couple months. Obviously this won't happen again. Carry on here, and I hope somebody will help you out with this!



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-06-2013, 05:15 AM   #9
IceDzun
Rookie
 
IceDzun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sithspecter View Post
Do you want to be on a forum? Do your own forum. Being rude is easy, but do ya think really permanently banning somebody is a hard one?

I gave you a chance, you ruined it. Good riddance.

IceDzun, I apologize for RPK's rude behavior. I should have perma-banned him the first time stuff like this happened, but I let him off after a couple months. Obviously this won't happen again. Carry on here, and I hope somebody will help you out with this!
Thanks,mate,really glad to be here
IceDzun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-06-2013, 07:41 AM   #10
bunjeeman
Rookie
 
bunjeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 56
Plyable Ithorian...do you mean along with changing clothing? If so, I've asked for something similar, and it's a massive undertaking (the word, 'unfeasible', was used).
Also, I think maybe the Ithorian head may get in the way. For example, a normal attack and defend animation involves the lightsaber being held in front, then brought overhead and behind the back, before returning. The arms would go through the head.


It is better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it.
bunjeeman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-06-2013, 10:07 AM   #11
IceDzun
Rookie
 
IceDzun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by bunjeeman View Post
Plyable Ithorian...do you mean along with changing clothing? If so, I've asked for something similar, and it's a massive undertaking (the word, 'unfeasible', was used).
Also, I think maybe the Ithorian head may get in the way. For example, a normal attack and defend animation involves the lightsaber being held in front, then brought overhead and behind the back, before returning. The arms would go through the head.
No,mate,i will be glad without clothing change.And i got no problem with clipping issues,i understand that ithorian model with proper animation is really hard to make,so i keep reading tutorials about modding here.So far i already find all tools for that and extract ithorian model and put it in 3dsmax with nwmplugin,now i need to understand how to switch animations.This is where the hard part begins for me.
IceDzun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-06-2013, 11:19 AM   #12
Vindikorr
Rookie
 
Vindikorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 123
Current Game: TOR
Yep, switching animations is hard, I once tried with a Jawa.

I'd offer you help but I'm tied up with my own mod and you look like you're going ahead with it yourself, good luck!


My WIP: The Liberation of Manaan

Quote:
Originally Posted by Totalbiscuit
Can tell it's been a busy day, 121 Chrome tabs open
28.04428% on the geek test

Bile Beans keep you healthy, bright-eyed and slim
Vindikorr is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-06-2013, 04:38 PM   #13
IceDzun
Rookie
 
IceDzun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vindikorr View Post
Yep, switching animations is hard, I once tried with a Jawa.

I'd offer you help but I'm tied up with my own mod and you look like you're going ahead with it yourself, good luck!
Thanks,mate.And how is your Jawa mod?Does it work?
P:S: Any suggestions about which animation is better and have all battle animations?
IceDzun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-07-2013, 02:40 PM   #14
IceDzun
Rookie
 
IceDzun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 16
Hello,everyone.I got some problem with my ithorian model - i can't export it from 3ds,when i try to export it error show up and it's says that : skin need to be selected and in the modifier panel Skin:Skin.Anybody knows what is this means?

Last edited by IceDzun; 05-07-2013 at 02:48 PM.
IceDzun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-07-2013, 02:48 PM   #15
IceDzun
Rookie
 
IceDzun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 16
here is the picture of it http://s1351.photobucket.com/user/Ic...1a182.jpg.html
IceDzun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-07-2013, 04:21 PM   #16
Vindikorr
Rookie
 
Vindikorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 123
Current Game: TOR
Not really sure and this is going to sound really stupid so I apologize.

Try selecting the skin in the modifier panel. So on the right hand side just select the skin modifier and try doing the same thing again.


My WIP: The Liberation of Manaan

Quote:
Originally Posted by Totalbiscuit
Can tell it's been a busy day, 121 Chrome tabs open
28.04428% on the geek test

Bile Beans keep you healthy, bright-eyed and slim
Vindikorr is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2013, 11:01 AM   #17
IceDzun
Rookie
 
IceDzun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vindikorr View Post
Not really sure and this is going to sound really stupid so I apologize.

Try selecting the skin in the modifier panel. So on the right hand side just select the skin modifier and try doing the same thing again.
Tried skin select and problem still the same,but i find that file http://s1351.photobucket.com/user/Ic...tml?sort=3&o=0
and i bet i did something wrong
IceDzun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2013, 02:16 PM   #18
Dak Drexl
Senior Member
 
Dak Drexl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,079
Helpful! 
Another crack at a small solution: are you selecting the aurorabase and then exporting?

Dak Drexl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2013, 03:36 PM   #19
VarsityPuppet
Master of Puppets
 
VarsityPuppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 1,253
Current Game: Chrono Trigger
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Why not just make the ithorian head into a selectable pc head?

VarsityPuppet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2013, 03:52 PM   #20
IceDzun
Rookie
 
IceDzun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dak Drexl View Post
Another crack at a small solution: are you selecting the aurorabase and then exporting?
Yep,i select aurorabase than trying to export it
IceDzun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2013, 03:53 PM   #21
IceDzun
Rookie
 
IceDzun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by VarsityPuppet View Post
Why not just make the ithorian head into a selectable pc head?
I thought of it,but don't know how
IceDzun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2013, 04:48 PM   #22
supreme kotor
Junior Member
 
supreme kotor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: I'm lost.
Posts: 326
Current Game: Modding.. Wait is that a game?
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceDzun View Post
I thought of it,but don't know how
Tutorial. When he uses the twilek head you just use the ithorian head.

Ps. To reply to multiple people please use the multi quote button located next to quote and reply. Double posting is frown upon here.

-Supreme Kotor


Current WIP: Learning to mod Kotor

Last edited by supreme kotor; 05-08-2013 at 07:34 PM.
supreme kotor is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-09-2013, 03:58 AM   #23
IceDzun
Rookie
 
IceDzun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by supreme kotor View Post
Tutorial. When he uses the twilek head you just use the ithorian head.

Ps. To reply to multiple people please use the multi quote button located next to quote and reply. Double posting is frown upon here.

-Supreme Kotor
Thanks for tutorial.Tried it yesterday,it's almost worked,but i got fun result in the end, instead of only head i get full ithorian model on deffault model shoulders it was really awfull.After that i tried to separate ithorian head model from his body model,but instead of head i have some stretched lines in place of head,i got the feelings that i messed up with bone linking.
IceDzun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-09-2013, 05:37 AM   #24
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceDzun View Post
Thanks for tutorial.Tried it yesterday,it's almost worked,but i got fun result in the end, instead of only head i get full ithorian model on deffault model shoulders it was really awfull.After that i tried to separate ithorian head model from his body model,but instead of head i have some stretched lines in place of head,i got the feelings that i messed up with bone linking.
The Ithorian (like several other characters in the KotOR games) have their heads and bodies as part of the same model.

You can still use it as a playable character, you'll just need to tweak the process slightly. Open portraits.2da and add a new line for your Ithorian. Just set each of the appearance values to 72, 243 or 244, which are the Ithorians.

Oh, and don't forget to set the 'forpc' column to 1.




Visit the new JediKnight.net!
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-09-2013, 06:36 AM   #25
IceDzun
Rookie
 
IceDzun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marius Fett View Post
The Ithorian (like several other characters in the KotOR games) have their heads and bodies as part of the same model.

You can still use it as a playable character, you'll just need to tweak the process slightly. Open portraits.2da and add a new line for your Ithorian. Just set each of the appearance values to 72, 243 or 244, which are the Ithorians.

Oh, and don't forget to set the 'forpc' column to 1.
Just tried it,model appears,but still without proper animation.Anyway thanks for the input,mate.I will keep trying
IceDzun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-09-2013, 11:12 AM   #26
Vindikorr
Rookie
 
Vindikorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 123
Current Game: TOR
Yep, using the Ithorian model as a playable character won't change anything as the animations are stored in the actual models. You could take the Ithorian model and chop off it's head, then use that with a standard body, but I would reccomend against it considering the Ithorian body is so different to the standard human one it would look silly.

Really the only way to go about this is what you were doing in the first place.


My WIP: The Liberation of Manaan

Quote:
Originally Posted by Totalbiscuit
Can tell it's been a busy day, 121 Chrome tabs open
28.04428% on the geek test

Bile Beans keep you healthy, bright-eyed and slim
Vindikorr is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-10-2013, 07:49 AM   #27
IceDzun
Rookie
 
IceDzun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 16
So far no luck for me http://s1351.photobucket.com/user/Ic...tml?sort=3&o=0
IceDzun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-10-2013, 12:53 PM   #28
VarsityPuppet
Master of Puppets
 
VarsityPuppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 1,253
Current Game: Chrono Trigger
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Ugh.. you guys leave me no choice but to open up 3DS max and make an Ithorian head.

VarsityPuppet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-10-2013, 09:35 PM   #29
supreme kotor
Junior Member
 
supreme kotor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: I'm lost.
Posts: 326
Current Game: Modding.. Wait is that a game?
Quote:
Originally Posted by VarsityPuppet View Post
Ugh.. you guys leave me no choice but to open up 3DS max and make an Ithorian head.
and we all say; thank you VarsityPuppet


Current WIP: Learning to mod Kotor
supreme kotor is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2013, 08:49 AM   #30
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,379
Quote:
Just tried it,model appears,but still without proper animation.Anyway thanks for the input,mate.I will keep trying
Ja, just making it playable like I told you wouldn't fix the animations as there aren't any to 'fix'. Just thought it'd be better than nothing until someone comes along who has the time to animate the model entirely.




Visit the new JediKnight.net!
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-13-2013, 04:19 AM   #31
IceDzun
Rookie
 
IceDzun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by VarsityPuppet View Post
Ugh.. you guys leave me no choice but to open up 3DS max and make an Ithorian head.
For that you got my gratitude.Thank you very much for that i will say
IceDzun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-13-2013, 04:24 AM   #32
IceDzun
Rookie
 
IceDzun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 16
Maybe anyone know any video tutorials that can help in modding kotor?
Or maybe someone could make one example how to switch animation in gmax or 3ds max?
I know that i ask to much,but this it just proposal
IceDzun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-13-2013, 05:26 AM   #33
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,379
Seek and ye shall find: http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=201655 :P




Visit the new JediKnight.net!
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-13-2013, 08:07 AM   #34
IceDzun
Rookie
 
IceDzun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marius Fett View Post
Thanks,mate. I tried this tutorial even before my first post here.It is great tutorial,but i think that i have misunderstood something there.I bet i do something wrong in 2,3 and 4 parts,damn,to be honest, i think i did mistakes in all parts there,but still i eager to find solution.
IceDzun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Modding requests > Playable Ithorian with animation fix

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:00 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.