lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Quanon's Big Sell eOut Modules
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-15-2013, 05:14 PM   #1
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 978
Helpful! 
Quanon's Big Sell eOut Modules

Has anyone modified some modules so that you are able to play the custom areas that Quanon designed which he released for the public to use? If so would you be kind enough to upload them and send me a link?
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2013, 09:12 PM   #2
newbiemodder
Gentleman Modder
 
newbiemodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 701
Veteran Modder 
have any particular in mind?


Who's more foolish, the fool or the fool that follows?

Just exactly what is a head-piece to the Staff of Ra?

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=206819

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=206541

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...t=newbiemodder
newbiemodder is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2013, 09:22 PM   #3
supreme kotor
Junior Member
 
supreme kotor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: I'm lost.
Posts: 324
Current Game: Modding.. Wait is that a game?
None of them are hard to put together from what I've seen they need skyboxes .vis .lyt and walk meshes and most of them should be fine. Although some of them don't even need a walkmesh they already have one. Post wich ones you are most intrested in mere and I'm sure we can take care of them.


Current WIP: Learning to mod Kotor
supreme kotor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2013, 10:11 PM   #4
Fallen Guardian
Wandering the Galaxy...
 
Fallen Guardian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Unknown Regions
Posts: 1,279
Current Game: Knights of the Old Republic
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
I for one would love to see Quanon's "Crazy Night Models" (found right after the aqualaris stuff in his sell out thread) made usable for KotOR II and, if anyone's willing, KotOR I as well.


The truly fallen cannot return to the light. If someone "falls" and "returns," they never really, truly fell.

Current Work in Progress: Dantooine Tension

Released Works
Blaster Pistol Enhancement
Dustil Restoration
Ebon Hawk Texture Enhancement
Gaffi Stick Improvement
Weapon Model Overhaul Texture Rework (Thanks to Toasty Fresh!)
Sunry Murder Recording Enhancement
VP's Hi Poly Tin Cans - KotOR 1 Version
Fallen Guardian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2013, 10:16 PM   #5
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 978
Helpful! 
Specifically I need the Korriban expanded modules about nowish but eventually I'd like to have them all to have access to. I was just hoping that people would kindly donate any they have already put together to save me some time
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2013, 11:29 PM   #6
supreme kotor
Junior Member
 
supreme kotor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: I'm lost.
Posts: 324
Current Game: Modding.. Wait is that a game?
I'm pretty sure you picked the worst ones. Ummm give me a couple of days to check max and etc... If I make sure the models are finished are you capable of make the other neccesary files? (.vis .lyt .mod waypoints to travel in between modules etc...?)


Current WIP: Learning to mod Kotor
supreme kotor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2013, 11:35 PM   #7
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 978
Helpful! 
Yeah, that part is child's play...
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-05-2013, 01:52 PM   #8
CrisG
Aging Jedi
 
CrisG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Colorado and California
Posts: 856
The Walking Carpets Guild Member 
I would love to see any myself as well. Any at all.


There is no Chaos, There is Harmony.
----------------------------------------------------
Admin 3D Worlds and Game Developers Group - Linkedin - "We Build Worlds"
DF-JK DF2-DFMOTS-JKII-JKIII-KoTOR I-KoTOR II - XW-TF-XvT-BOP -XWA-Rogue Squad - Starfigher-Racer- RC-Battle for Naboo-Episode I Phantom Menace-Shadows of the Empire-BF I - BF II-EAW-EAW:FOC-Loom-Grim F-MI-MII-MIII-DOTT-IJFOA-IJLC-IJET-IJIM-Dig-Sam and Max HTR
CrisG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-22-2013, 01:45 AM   #9
Fair Strides 2
Junior Member
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 495
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by supreme kotor View Post
I'm pretty sure you picked the worst ones. Ummm give me a couple of days to check max and etc... If I make sure the models are finished are you capable of make the other neccesary files? (.vis .lyt .mod waypoints to travel in between modules etc...?)
Did you ever get these to work in-game, Sk? If so, I would really appreciate a link. However, could the models be thrown through MDLOps for k1 versions?

If you got those to work, what are the odds of compiling and releasing k1 and k2 "Barebones" versions(just the workable in-game things, with nothing in the .git.)?


Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jae Onasi
Hi! I messaged him on Facebook and got this answer: "Sure if he wants to release a new KSE, no problem. I'm surprised he was able to find all the perl modules. I released them a long time ago but they were buried somewhere in the KSE thread." So, go for it--please give him credit for the original work, though!
KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

12/13/13 -- Fixed KSE 3.3.4 bugs. Please check the above link.
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-22-2013, 06:43 AM   #10
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 978
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fair Strides 2 View Post
If you got those to work, what are the odds of compiling and releasing k1 and k2 "Barebones" versions(just the workable in-game things, with nothing in the .git.)?
You don't use the .git file which the exception of changing its name. You use the .are, .ifo, .vis, and .lyt files. The module.ifo is just a matter of changing a few references which you'll see when you open it but the other 3 you need to change a fair amount of internal information. The .are file tells the machine to load up models x, y, and z. The .lyt file tells the machine to place models x, y, and z at locations x1, x2, x3, y1, y2, y3, and z1, z2, z3. The .vis file tells the machine to have models y and z visible when you are walking around in model x.

It sounds complicated but it's actually pretty easy. Just open them up and customize them to inject your information, it's not bad I promise!
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-22-2013, 10:48 AM   #11
Quanon
Senior Member
 
Quanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lost in my own unconsiciousens
Posts: 2,583
Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by harIII View Post
You don't use the .git file which the exception of changing its name. You use the .are, .ifo, .vis, and .lyt files. The module.ifo is just a matter of changing a few references which you'll see when you open it but the other 3 you need to change a fair amount of internal information. The .are file tells the machine to load up models x, y, and z. The .lyt file tells the machine to place models x, y, and z at locations x1, x2, x3, y1, y2, y3, and z1, z2, z3. The .vis file tells the machine to have models y and z visible when you are walking around in model x.

It sounds complicated but it's actually pretty easy. Just open them up and customize them to inject your information, it's not bad I promise!
Your getting good at this
Really appriciate it that you're helping others!
It looks hellish at first when dealing with new modules; but as you said above, there's a very simple system behind it


TIQUILAAAAAAAA
Quanon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-22-2013, 11:20 AM   #12
supreme kotor
Junior Member
 
supreme kotor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: I'm lost.
Posts: 324
Current Game: Modding.. Wait is that a game?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quanon View Post
It looks hellish at first when dealing with new modules; but as you said above, there's a very simple system behind it
I fealt the need to second this, starting really is the hardest part.


Current WIP: Learning to mod Kotor
supreme kotor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-22-2013, 12:56 PM   #13
Fair Strides 2
Junior Member
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 495
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quanon View Post
Your getting good at this
Really appriciate it that you're helping others!
It looks hellish at first when dealing with new modules; but as you said above, there's a very simple system behind it
Well, Q, I know it's kinda taboo to bring it up to you, but...

I was asking for the full release with dual-game compatibility because you released the modules as modder's resources. That also meant(and your post heavily reinforced this) that we were not to look to you for help with them.

However, I feel my request for info vindicated here. I download the Korriban Expanded part 2 from your sell out to use as a Sith Tomb, but it has me stumped. I saw in the .lyt that you had something like rooms a-g or i, but you only had ascii's and bin's of a-c and one other. You had three versions of a-c too, so...

----->


Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jae Onasi
Hi! I messaged him on Facebook and got this answer: "Sure if he wants to release a new KSE, no problem. I'm surprised he was able to find all the perl modules. I released them a long time ago but they were buried somewhere in the KSE thread." So, go for it--please give him credit for the original work, though!
KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

12/13/13 -- Fixed KSE 3.3.4 bugs. Please check the above link.
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-23-2013, 06:52 AM   #14
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 978
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quanon View Post
Your getting good at this
Really appriciate it that you're helping others!
It looks hellish at first when dealing with new modules; but as you said above, there's a very simple system behind it
Thanks Quanon, I should be in the same boat you are but I'm still having a hard time trying to get my models into a format that KOTOR won't come screaming back to me in pain and agony. If I could only do that, then I'd be set.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-23-2013, 11:41 AM   #15
Fair Strides 2
Junior Member
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 495
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by harIII View Post
Thanks Quanon, I should be in the same boat you are but I'm still having a hard time trying to get my models into a format that KOTOR won't come screaming back to me in pain and agony. If I could only do that, then I'd be set.
You use mdops 5, or 6? 6 seems a bit screwy on me a lot. You got 5 somewhere on your hard drive? If so, could I get a copy? Thanks HarIII, and happy modelling!


Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jae Onasi
Hi! I messaged him on Facebook and got this answer: "Sure if he wants to release a new KSE, no problem. I'm surprised he was able to find all the perl modules. I released them a long time ago but they were buried somewhere in the KSE thread." So, go for it--please give him credit for the original work, though!
KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

12/13/13 -- Fixed KSE 3.3.4 bugs. Please check the above link.
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-23-2013, 12:07 PM   #16
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,497
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Mdlops does not work for area models.




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-23-2013, 12:14 PM   #17
supreme kotor
Junior Member
 
supreme kotor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: I'm lost.
Posts: 324
Current Game: Modding.. Wait is that a game?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canderis View Post
Mdlops does not work for area models.
It does for converting them to ASCII?


Current WIP: Learning to mod Kotor
supreme kotor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-23-2013, 01:01 PM   #18
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,497
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Not for compiling them.




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-25-2013, 11:45 PM   #19
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,758
Current Game: KotOR II
While we're on this topic, could someone compile as binary .mdl/mdx the Gra803 3ds files for Q's Yavin IV (and, if possible, divide up and similarly compile Gra804 and any other areas in this set)? Provided there's walkmesh and a binary mdl (and some kind of lighting for the area) I can do the rest, but I can't even open the meshes in gmax. Naturally, I'd be happy to upload the finished supplementary files (.vis/.lyt/.git/.are/.ifo/.mod, etc.) for general use, provided Q doesn't mind.

(If there are any gluttons for punishment out there, I wouldn't mind getting a look at the Lava Planet, either. )



Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-26-2013, 12:55 AM   #20
Fair Strides 2
Junior Member
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 495
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth InSidious View Post
While we're on this topic, could someone compile as binary .mdl/mdx the Gra803 3ds files for Q's Yavin IV (and, if possible, divide up and similarly compile Gra804 and any other areas in this set)? Provided there's walkmesh and a binary mdl (and some kind of lighting for the area) I can do the rest, but I can't even open the meshes in gmax. Naturally, I'd be happy to upload the finished supplementary files (.vis/.lyt/.git/.are/.ifo/.mod, etc.) for general use, provided Q doesn't mind.

(If there are any gluttons for punishment out there, I wouldn't mind getting a look at the Lava Planet, either. )
Dude, I'm on the verge of being ready to pay someone to do these things! If I manage to add a walkmesh(I have Q's vids for that), I'll try to compile an area. You'd have to do the rest(.vis, .git, .etc) since I can't do that. I'd send you some screenies so you could do the .lyt and .vis.

We are talking about uploading "barebones" versions(Empty, bare essential files, empty .git except for doors) yes?


Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jae Onasi
Hi! I messaged him on Facebook and got this answer: "Sure if he wants to release a new KSE, no problem. I'm surprised he was able to find all the perl modules. I released them a long time ago but they were buried somewhere in the KSE thread." So, go for it--please give him credit for the original work, though!
KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

12/13/13 -- Fixed KSE 3.3.4 bugs. Please check the above link.
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-26-2013, 05:15 AM   #21
Quanon
Senior Member
 
Quanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lost in my own unconsiciousens
Posts: 2,583
Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by supreme kotor View Post
It does for converting them to ASCII?
Yes, that's true, to go from BIN to ASCII use MDlops. Be warned though, MDLops doesn't handle area models that well. Just check everything again before you do another export.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fair Strides 2 View Post
However, I feel my request for info vindicated here. I download the Korriban Expanded part 2 from your sell out to use as a Sith Tomb, but it has me stumped. I saw in the .lyt that you had something like rooms a-g or i, but you only had ascii's and bin's of a-c and one other. You had three versions of a-c too, so...

----->
Hahaha, yeah. Let me see. Well, I have differant versions of certain rooms because each newer version fixes a faulty mesh or stretched textures etc...

Normally I name my models properly, so always use the latest version.
For the missing rooms; you'll fully have to do those yourself. Textures, walkmesh, exporting and compiling. I never got further then room C to work properly.

Then I got frustrated or something and never looked back at those files

Quote:
Originally Posted by harIII View Post
Thanks Quanon, I should be in the same boat you are but I'm still having a hard time trying to get my models into a format that KOTOR won't come screaming back to me in pain and agony. If I could only do that, then I'd be set.
Well, the screaming is part of the job
See, whenever I first set eyes on any of my new models in the game, they are full of mistakes. Misplaced walls; stretched textures; flying wild geometry... Full game crashes even.

It's always takes time to polish and get things working properly. Even I, still need to do all these steps.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth InSidious View Post
While we're on this topic, could someone compile as binary .mdl/mdx the Gra803 3ds files for Q's Yavin IV (and, if possible, divide up and similarly compile Gra804 and any other areas in this set)? Provided there's walkmesh and a binary mdl (and some kind of lighting for the area) I can do the rest, but I can't even open the meshes in gmax. Naturally, I'd be happy to upload the finished supplementary files (.vis/.lyt/.git/.are/.ifo/.mod, etc.) for general use, provided Q doesn't mind.

(If there are any gluttons for punishment out there, I wouldn't mind getting a look at the Lava Planet, either. )
Got, the Yavin Jungle models. That's odd, normally all modules should work nicely in TSL... Mmm; I might have a ZIP somewhere...


TIQUILAAAAAAAA
Quanon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Quanon's Big Sell eOut Modules

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:44 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.