lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Vista and KOTOR
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-06-2013, 09:26 PM   #1
kiwi-jedi-knight
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2
Unhappy Vista and KOTOR

Hiya! Been exploring thread after thread trying to find a fix.

My problem is launcher runs fine, as soon as I hit "Play" the game opens up in full screen (Ebon Hawk image) and then comes up with "Star Wars: knights of the Old Republic has stopped working."

This is a new computer. Running Vista Home Premium 32bit.
Specs: Intel Pentium CPU G2030 @3.00GHz
4GB Ram
1TB hard drive
Integrated graphics (updated drivers - still no change to game)

Been through everything to try and fix the errors. Ran as win XP service pack 2 (service pack 3 isn't an option). Ran as Admin. Downloaded mss32.dll and replaced. Checked through all my drivers (none of which needed updating).

The error popping up on the "Stopped working" page is this:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: swkotor.exe
Application Version: 1.0.3.0
Application Timestamp: 00000000
Fault Module Name: StackHash_0590
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 00000000
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00000000
OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0590
Additional Information 2: 2163c14648d4e9703b723817887acf0e
Additional Information 3: b7b4
Additional Information 4: b0b4dda6ba8a01cc4cb0fa458f675872

Read our privacy statement:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?link...3&clcid=0x0409


Any other suggestions to get this working!! I could downgrade to XP but I don't particularly want to.


EDIT: Just realised my graphics driver wasn't installed properly. If problem persists after installation I will post again.

EDIT 2: Graphics installed. Now coming up with Disk Emulation Error.

Last edited by kiwi-jedi-knight; 08-06-2013 at 09:48 PM.
kiwi-jedi-knight is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-06-2013, 10:43 PM   #2
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Which version of the game are you using? Original CD, Best of PC, Collection DVD or Steam?


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-06-2013, 10:43 PM   #3
kiwi-jedi-knight
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2
I'm using original CD version

Last edited by kiwi-jedi-knight; 08-06-2013 at 10:49 PM.
kiwi-jedi-knight is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-06-2013, 10:53 PM   #4
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Oh, hey!

Vista is notoriously picky. Try reinstalling the game according to the large-print instructions at the top of the second post in this thread.


EDIT: While you're at it, go ahead and update Vista to DX11 before you do anything else.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > Vista and KOTOR

Tags
error, kotor, vista

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:29 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.