lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Best Nvidia Card for Kotor 1 and 2?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-27-2013, 05:51 PM   #1
Col_Zechs
Rookie
 
Col_Zechs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 217
Current Game: Star Wars the Old Republic
Best Nvidia Card for Kotor 1 and 2?

What is the best card from Nvida that can run the game no problems like you would have with the ATI cards? and be Maxed out on settings?

Col_Zechs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2013, 10:55 PM   #2
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
If you're looking for a new card, anything GTX 650 and above should play the KotOR games just fine at just about any resolution. The GTX 650 can be found for as low as $70 after mail-in rebate.

If you're looking for a used one, an 8800 GT or better will play these games at resolutions up to 1080p. 8800 GTs can be found on ebay for less than $30.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2013, 11:07 PM   #3
Col_Zechs
Rookie
 
Col_Zechs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 217
Current Game: Star Wars the Old Republic
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q View Post
If you're looking for a new card, anything GTX 650 and above should play the KotOR games just fine at just about any resolution. The GTX 650 can be found for as low as $70 after mail-in rebate.

If you're looking for a used one, an 8800 GT or better will play these games at resolutions up to 1080p. 8800 GTs can be found on ebay for less than $30.
thanks

Col_Zechs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2013, 11:37 PM   #4
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
You're welcome.

IIRC, you have a 6870, right? You'll need at least a GTX 650 Ti to get comparable performance.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2013, 10:58 PM   #5
GeorgNihilus
Forumite
 
GeorgNihilus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 591
Current Game: Skyrim
Cool Guy GTX 650 and above?? sure?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Q View Post
You're welcome.

IIRC, you have a 6870, right? You'll need at least a GTX 650 Ti to get comparable performance.
have u tried it or just speculate? u have a GTX 650 with Kotor or TSL running smoothly? both running ideally??

thanks alot for your help


TSL Mods
Nar Shaddaa hidden complex http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef..._Complex;91257
Mandalorian camo Armors in-game http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=204159
Telos polar plateau sidequest 1.2 http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=202436

KotOR Mods
A lost sith in a nameless world http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef...ss_World;96040
GeorgNihilus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2013, 11:59 PM   #6
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
I have a GTX 660 Ti and it runs fine. It also runs Hi-Res Skyrim at Ultimate with no problem. You can find this for < $200 right now (though I don't know if they still have the cards with 3gb of GDDR)
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-27-2013, 10:21 AM   #7
GeorgNihilus
Forumite
 
GeorgNihilus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 591
Current Game: Skyrim
Wink great!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Achilles View Post
I have a GTX 660 Ti and it runs fine. It also runs Hi-Res Skyrim at Ultimate with no problem. You can find this for < $200 right now (though I don't know if they still have the cards with 3gb of GDDR)
thanks a lot!!
660 ti 2 GB eh?? goodness ... looks like this one needs lot of energy doesn't it? 450W minimal power source requirement eh??

Skyrim at high res ... perfect. With this one are u running just TSL, or KotOR too??

thanks for the feedback


TSL Mods
Nar Shaddaa hidden complex http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef..._Complex;91257
Mandalorian camo Armors in-game http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=204159
Telos polar plateau sidequest 1.2 http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=202436

KotOR Mods
A lost sith in a nameless world http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef...ss_World;96040
GeorgNihilus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-27-2013, 10:49 AM   #8
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
"I have a GTX 660 Ti and it runs fine. It also runs Hi-Res Skyrim at Ultimate with no problem."

EDIT: Q will correct me if I am wrong, but I think you may be over-thinking this (though I absolutely relate to the desire to "do your homework"). Based on what I've read, the only issues KotOR/TSL have ever had, graphics card-wise, have been with integrated chips (i.e. laptops, cheap PCs, etc) or cards that didn't meet the minimum requirements at release.

Last edited by Achilles; 09-27-2013 at 10:56 AM.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-27-2013, 04:34 PM   #9
GeorgNihilus
Forumite
 
GeorgNihilus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 591
Current Game: Skyrim
Post Hmmmm...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Achilles View Post
"I have a GTX 660 Ti and it runs fine. It also runs Hi-Res Skyrim at Ultimate with no problem."

EDIT: Q will correct me if I am wrong, but I think you may be over-thinking this (though I absolutely relate to the desire to "do your homework"). Based on what I've read, the only issues KotOR/TSL have ever had, graphics card-wise, have been with integrated chips (i.e. laptops, cheap PCs, etc) or cards that didn't meet the minimum requirements at release.
yeah I'm probably overreacting and doing excesive "homework" for this hehheh but u know ... I remember GeForce cards "above" 8800 not recognizing KotOR at all ... and working good with TSL ... so with GTX series ... I want to double check just in case ...

also for me ... correct me if I'm wrong ...

thx


TSL Mods
Nar Shaddaa hidden complex http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef..._Complex;91257
Mandalorian camo Armors in-game http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=204159
Telos polar plateau sidequest 1.2 http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=202436

KotOR Mods
A lost sith in a nameless world http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef...ss_World;96040
GeorgNihilus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-27-2013, 06:20 PM   #10
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
KotOR 1 & 2 both play wonderfully on the most modern Nvidia cards with just a few tweaks.

Nvidia cards have traditionally been the choice for playing the KotOR games with all of the eye candy turned on. AMD cards still have trouble rendering stuff like grass, so some of the terrific grass mods out there won't work on them. The tradeoff is that Nvidia cards are usually more expensive than AMD cards, and sometimes that premium can be hard to justify.

If you're going to play modern games as well the bare minimum card you should be looking at is a GTX 650 TI BOOST.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-27-2013, 10:06 PM   #11
GeorgNihilus
Forumite
 
GeorgNihilus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 591
Current Game: Skyrim
Cool Guy thx

Quote:
Originally Posted by Q View Post
KotOR 1 & 2 both play wonderfully on the most modern Nvidia cards with just a few tweaks.

Nvidia cards have traditionally been the choice for playing the KotOR games with all of the eye candy turned on. AMD cards still have trouble rendering stuff like grass, so some of the terrific grass mods out there won't work on them. The tradeoff is that Nvidia cards are usually more expensive than AMD cards, and sometimes that premium can be hard to justify.

If you're going to play modern games as well the bare minimum card you should be looking at is a GTX 650 TI BOOST.
thanks alot. Precisely the kind of feedback I was looking for.

yep, 650 ti boost to 670 u 680 should do it


TSL Mods
Nar Shaddaa hidden complex http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef..._Complex;91257
Mandalorian camo Armors in-game http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=204159
Telos polar plateau sidequest 1.2 http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=202436

KotOR Mods
A lost sith in a nameless world http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef...ss_World;96040
GeorgNihilus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > Best Nvidia Card for Kotor 1 and 2?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:14 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.