lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: New Swoop Tracks
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-07-2014, 01:55 AM   #1
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 584
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Thumbs up New Swoop Tracks

Well, it's been a while since I did anything adventurous...

*Reaches into a bag of modding ideas, pulls out a slip*

"Model and implement a completely new swoop track, any design."

CRAP!

Yep, let's face it; I'm going to try my hand at a brand new area model! A bit of an unusual one, but hey, I can try!

I'm currently doing extensive research into the swoop bike minigame and trying to piece it together...

Should I succeed, I'll be writing a lengthy tutorial to do two things:

1. Explain what the heck I found out, and
2. How you can use it...


That all being said, when it comes to making new areas, I rather suck at creativity. So, if anybody wants to contribute the random sketchbook of designs, some concept art they made, .etc, I'll try my best to make a swoop track out of the designs. So, depending on the community interest, I'll wait one-two weeks before picking a design to try.

I can't wait to see what you guys come up with!


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-07-2014, 02:38 AM   #2
UltimateHK47
Forumite
 
UltimateHK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: In a Galaxy, far far away...
Posts: 500
Current Game: Kotor 1
Wow this would be awesome if it worked out, because once done, the possibilities for future designs would be endless. I don't have any designs to contribute, just posting this would be a fantastic thing if you could produce a working track and a tutorial for people to make their own. I'm interested on how you would make the area model, because it would have to be quite large, and narrow, but with nice surrounding and skybox.


http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...12#post2807812
The Turret Arcade 1.2 ^^


USED TO BE KNOWN AS DARTH JANGO/WEASLEY
UltimateHK47 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-07-2014, 02:52 AM   #3
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 584
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimateHK47 View Post
Wow this would be awesome if it worked out, because once done, the possibilities for future designs would be endless. I don't have any designs to contribute, just posting this would be a fantastic thing if you could produce a working track and a tutorial for people to make their own. I'm interested on how you would make the area model, because it would have to be quite large, and narrow, but with nice surrounding and skybox.
Interesting that you should phrase your response that way, UHK...

A few things I've noticed:
  • The swoop track modules are only three rooms
    • One room for the skybox
    • One room for the scenery
    • One room for the "track", the part the swoop is on
  • The Skybox shape ranges between three sides of a cube(Manaan) to a cylinder with no top or base(Tatooine)
  • The size looks to be pretty long...


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-07-2014, 10:51 AM   #4
JCarter426
Senior Member
 
JCarter426's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Look to your left.
Posts: 1,636
The swoop tracks in the second game contain several rooms, and are much bigger. And it's possible to enter any swoop track by deleting all the minigame data from the ARE, if you want to get a closer look.


JCarter426 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-07-2014, 01:13 PM   #5
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,787
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
I was under the impression that at least in K1, swoop tracks don't have the normal manner of walkmesh, and as such cannot be walked on by a PC. I think E-Varmit tried to convert a swoop module to use normally, and the walkmesh was extremely small.



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-07-2014, 01:32 PM   #6
JCarter426
Senior Member
 
JCarter426's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Look to your left.
Posts: 1,636
I don't know about that. I only tried Manaan's in K1 and the walkmesh is fine. I have tried them all in K2, and while they do work there are bits that aren't perfect in each of them.


JCarter426 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-07-2014, 06:15 PM   #7
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 584
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JCarter426 View Post
I don't know about that. I only tried Manaan's in K1 and the walkmesh is fine. I have tried them all in K2, and while they do work there are bits that aren't perfect in each of them.
This is probably a stupid question, but...

How do you/Can you import a walkmesh into 3DS if you have a .wok file?...


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-09-2014, 11:29 AM   #8
Quanon
Senior Member
 
Quanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lost in my own unconsiciousens
Posts: 2,600
Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fair Strides 2 View Post
This is probably a stupid question, but...

How do you/Can you import a walkmesh into 3DS if you have a .wok file?...
You don't use the .wok. Just get the .mdl and .mdx files of the models that make up the track. Compile with MDLops, then import.

If a walkmesh is inside the model it'll get converted to a regular 'mesh'.
When editing it in Max, reapply the walkmesh modifier.

Then use Kaurora to get the model back to the binary format the game uses.
Oh, pray to the Kotor gods, the thing will work OK.

You know; before you go and do your best to model a full new track, why not just make a long simple box; throw in a walkmesh and start testing.

It would be a shame to work on a model for hours and get bogged down by the more technical side of things.


TIQUILAAAAAAAA
Quanon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-09-2014, 12:23 PM   #9
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,787
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quanon View Post
Oh, pray to the Kotor gods, the thing will work OK.
Sometimes a sacrifice is helpful to appease them!



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-09-2014, 07:13 PM   #10
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 584
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quanon View Post
You don't use the .wok. Just get the .mdl and .mdx files of the models that make up the track. Compile with MDLops, then import.

If a walkmesh is inside the model it'll get converted to a regular 'mesh'.
When editing it in Max, reapply the walkmesh modifier.

Then use Kaurora to get the model back to the binary format the game uses.
Oh, pray to the Kotor gods, the thing will work OK.

You know; before you go and do your best to model a full new track, why not just make a long simple box; throw in a walkmesh and start testing.

It would be a shame to work on a model for hours and get bogged down by the more technical side of things.
...You evil person. You had to mention the what-ifs!

I'll get to work on that. I'm still hoping for some concept art to get met started. As I was telling LDR:

Quote:
"...I just suck at making a design from scratch. I can take it far if I have something to build on, you know?"


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-09-2014, 09:28 PM   #11
supreme kotor
Junior Member
 
supreme kotor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: I'm lost.
Posts: 326
Current Game: Modding.. Wait is that a game?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quanon View Post
Oh, pray to the Kotor gods, the thing will work OK.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sithspecter View Post
Sometimes a sacrifice is helpful to appease them!
My models tend not to please the kotor gods can you share what you sacrifice?

On topic though I'm excited to see how this turns out. The one time I checked out tatooines (at least I think it was tatooine) swoop track, the walkmesh was less than desirable and I actually just deleted the whole thing and started a new walkmesh .

-SupremeKotor


Current WIP: Learning to mod Kotor
supreme kotor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-09-2014, 09:52 PM   #12
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 584
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by supreme kotor View Post
On topic though I'm excited to see how this turns out. The one time I checked out tatooines (at least I think it was tatooine) swoop track, the walkmesh was less than desirable and I actually just deleted the whole thing and started a new walkmesh .

-SupremeKotor
You know, that's probably the smart thing to do anyways...

In any case, I'm also thinking of working a little scripting magic to make the swoop take damage and blow-up/crash... Think anyone wants it that realistic?


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-10-2014, 11:12 AM   #13
Quanon
Senior Member
 
Quanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lost in my own unconsiciousens
Posts: 2,600
Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by supreme kotor View Post
My models tend not to please the kotor gods can you share what you sacrifice?
-SupremeKotor
Your social life and all your free time, personal hygiene... small things like that



Quote:
Originally Posted by Fair Strides 2 View Post
In any case, I'm also thinking of working a little scripting magic to make the swoop take damage and blow-up/crash... Think anyone wants it that realistic?
I would be happy to get the swoop bike moving from one end of the track to the other, without a game crash


TIQUILAAAAAAAA
Quanon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2014, 02:20 AM   #14
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 584
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quanon View Post
I would be happy to get the swoop bike moving from one end of the track to the other, without a game crash
Okay, which interpretation did you mean:

1. You'd be happy to do that bit for me?

2. You'd be happy if we were able to get the game to accept the walkmesh?


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2014, 06:03 AM   #15
Dehno101
Rookie
 
Dehno101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
Current Game: KotOR
Ideawise, I can't help thinking of adding a swoop track to Korriban. Basically a track going down an oddly straight canyon with stalagmites of rock as obstacles.

That probably would take too much modeling though, considering the canyon walls...
Dehno101 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2014, 09:06 AM   #16
Quanon
Senior Member
 
Quanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lost in my own unconsiciousens
Posts: 2,600
Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fair Strides 2 View Post
Okay, which interpretation did you mean:

1. You'd be happy to do that bit for me?

2. You'd be happy if we were able to get the game to accept the walkmesh?
I'll leave the grunt heavy work to you... all of it
I've already got enough projects running, which scream for attention.
It wouldn't be fair to offer help and let you wait for months untill I get it something done x-S

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dehno101 View Post
Ideawise, I can't help thinking of adding a swoop track to Korriban. Basically a track going down an oddly straight canyon with stalagmites of rock as obstacles.

That probably would take too much modeling though, considering the canyon walls...
It's a nice idea, you could break up the canyon wall with some temples or big tombs, fallen obilisk and such.

Another idea that came to mind, was like a Death Star run from a Ep IV. Swooping in outerspace; woossshhh!!!


TIQUILAAAAAAAA
Quanon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2014, 10:16 AM   #17
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: KotOR II
You could also place a Korriban track under Dreshdae.

Nice idea, FS. Let us know how you get on.



Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2014, 10:22 AM   #18
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 584
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dehno101 View Post
Ideawise, I can't help thinking of adding a swoop track to Korriban. Basically a track going down an oddly straight canyon with stalagmites of rock as obstacles.

That probably would take too much modeling though, considering the canyon walls...
Well, if I'm thinking right at 7:16am...

You're concerns as far as the feasibility of the Korriban track are related to textures. Most of the detail for the canyon walls will be in the texture. I could literally just have a tunnel and if it's textured right, you wouldn't be able to notice...


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2014, 02:50 PM   #19
Phildevil
Junior Member
 
Phildevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 449
Heh, Quannon always love a good Korriban mod :P
Phildevil is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > New Swoop Tracks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:37 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.