lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Anyone else experienceing trouble with Secret of monkey island?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-18-2000, 11:38 AM   #1
G.P LeChuck
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Norway
Posts: 7
Question Anyone else experienceing trouble with Secret of monkey island?

I'm playing SMI on my new computer. I've just entered the Sacred Monkey Head, and every time the game freezes and this horrible "bzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzh" sound comes around. Any tips to what I should do?
G.P LeChuck is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-18-2000, 12:47 PM   #2
Zombie Monkey
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Sweden
Posts: 10
Post

Do you run the game under windows? If so, try starting it from DOS instead. I have no idea if that's the problem, but windows usually messes with older games.

btw, does the sound work correctly at all other times?

Zombie Monkey is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-18-2000, 06:32 PM   #3
G.P LeChuck
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Norway
Posts: 7
Post

Thank you, Zombie Monkey, it worked ro run the game in DOS. Finally I'll see the rest of the game. This has bugged me for a long time

Again, thanks
G.P LeChuck is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-18-2000, 09:16 PM   #4
Kighr
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 28
Post

I can't get sound from either SMI or MI2!!!

This sucks...
anyone here have a Aureal Vortex sound card?

Adios,

-Kighr
Kighr is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-19-2000, 12:34 PM   #5
LeChuck
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 53
Angry

I was trying to get Sam and Max to work the othe day but there was no sound. It cant detect my SB Live Value. DAMN!
LeChuck is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-23-2000, 09:17 PM   #6
Captain Smirk
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 68
Post

It's off the topic, but, I am having the same problem with Sam & Max. Nothing works, including running in DOS. For some reason, when it goes to the sound setup utility, it flashes and launches the game, but, before it gets there it says, "Failed to initiate sound drivers." Obvious.

Any help?
Captain Smirk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-23-2000, 10:53 PM   #7
Kighr
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 28
Post

Some sound cards have DOS problems, and you should go to their website to see if there are DOS drivers for your sound. Also try running the game in DOS mode.

------------------
I got three heads...where are your other two?
Kighr is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2000, 06:05 PM   #8
Lechuck13
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 85
Post

Yeah, I've had that problem with Sam & Max and also MI2 for about 4 years now. I've just adapted to the games without music or voices. It definitely sux, though.



------------------
"That's the second biggest monkey head I've ever seen!"
-Guybrush Threepwood
Lechuck13 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2000, 09:03 PM   #9
El Pollo Diablo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

lechuck
have yo tried going to system, device manager, soud and stuff sblaster live, synth options and degrade the sblive to 64 and then run config sound on sama and max then play
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-10-2000, 10:59 PM   #10
Monkey_Girl
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Posts: 29
Unhappy

I have the Monkey Island Madness CD, and for some reason I can't hear ANY of the music for SMI. Sure MI2 works just fine, but nothing works for the other. Plus, the CMI cutscenes won't play on my computer (thank God there's another in the house). Unless I ESC out of them REALLY quickly the whole thing freezes up and I have to restart it. Does anyone know what that's about?

------------------
Monkey_Girl
I am the queen of all monkies! Bow down before me! BWAHAHAHAHA!!...I said bow!...Hey I'm serious!...BOW!...Stop that giggling!
Monkey_Girl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-11-2000, 08:55 AM   #11
deadworm222
 
deadworm222's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Finland
Posts: 115
Post

Here's what I would do:

1) Yoda's help desk

if that doesn't help

2) Pure dos

3) Sound Config (Old LEC games obviously don't support SB Live). Sound Card: Sound Blaster 16. Check your midi ports, irq adresses and anything possible and enter them manually (NO auto detect ! It never works). Or just guess them. Trial and error: I finally got Sam & Max working correctly after 2 hours. Try settings that you would never try ! They might just work: like using Adlib instead of SB 16.

MI1 and 2 don't support General Midi, so even though there would be no errors, music might sound "strange" (like in my computer).

5) Buy a second, old sound card (or borrow one from a friend - friends always have more sound cards than they need) and use it whenever playing old games (sound control panel - > preferred sound device or something like that).

4) Buy an old computer ! 486 is incredibly cheap these days You can play all our old classics.

Just keep on trying. Or give up. I played Dott without sound effects because of memory problems (there was no solution for that) and listened to them via Scumm revisited

I have noticed that hardware problems are a part of playing and solving such problem is sometimes more fun than playing...
deadworm222 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-11-2000, 09:56 PM   #12
The Mirrorball Man
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 13
Post

For some reason, my computer couldn't play any sound with either SMI or LCR (that's my current computer, with the old one it worked just fine)

So last time I played the games, I just played a couple of mp3 from CMI on Winamp while playing. It really changed the whole experience.
The Mirrorball Man is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2000, 01:10 AM   #13
Murray18
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: netherlands
Posts: 16
Post

You know what i did?

i got my good old 486 DX2 66Mhz of the attic
and installed all my old games on it; sam 'n maz, DotT, indy games and MI 1&2 and it works FINE!!!

use you new and modern computer for new and modern games and play 'old' games on a old computer is my advice

------------------
"mwahahaha" - Murray
Murray18 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-24-2000, 09:11 AM   #14
Blondbeard
Version 1.0
 
Blondbeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Herts, England
Posts: 1,041
Post

Errr.........You guys posted this in August iam posting 1 day before X-Mas!!!
Blondbeard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-24-2000, 09:11 AM   #15
Blondbeard
Version 1.0
 
Blondbeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Herts, England
Posts: 1,041
Post

Errr.........You guys posted this in August iam posting 1 day before X-Mas!!!
Blondbeard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-24-2000, 09:11 AM   #16
Blondbeard
Version 1.0
 
Blondbeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Herts, England
Posts: 1,041
Post

Errr.........You guys posted this in August iam posting 1 day before X-Mas!!!
Blondbeard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Monkey Island Discussion > MI Chat > General MI Discussion > Anyone else experienceing trouble with Secret of monkey island?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:16 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.