lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Light Saber Control and 3-4 button Mice
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-14-2001, 06:43 PM   #1
Saient
 
Saient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London UK
Posts: 108
Light Saber Control and 3-4 button Mice

Hi I was just wondering how many of you felt about the Lightsaber control and 3-4 button mice for the players that use them. I think Having more the 2 buttons for lightsaber use it an absoulte must. I did enjoy playing the original game but the light saber wasn't as fun as I expected after I downloaded the 1st demo that was release before the game. Raven IMO should utilize the fact that there are mice out there with many buttons and that could key into Saber moves ect. I have a Razer Boomslang myslef and its a good mouse but some gamers understandably don't wanna fork out the cash for great control and thats fine. Microsoft Opticals also have 4-5 buttons. Anyway here's my idea.

MB1 normal slash plus direction change based on strafing

MB2 fast slash that can be used in combo with normal slash for combo hits

MB3-Since this is normaly the scroll wheel it should be used and light saber special block that is a longer stonger block than the normal standing still auto block. This feature will also block behind attack strikes giving the player enough time to turn around. but if this button is used to block normal combo attacks it should leave the user open for damage on the faster attacks

MB4- Special Attack also based on direction and where your aiming. Low med high and if used after a sting of M1-M2 combos unleashes more harder to block attacks

finally MB-5 if players have it should be a Kick/Punch move if in Players are locked in saber special move/block mode for just about half a second this can be used to do minimal damage but break the lock. The player who lands it 1st should be in the advantage for a split second but the other player shouldn't be helpless. since they could use a jump force move or push to get out of it.

Just some idea's Let me know what you think.
I've thought about other stuff but this is getting kinda long and a want you to read it.. thanks
Saient is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2001, 06:59 PM   #2
Kurgan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up

That reminds me, I use a five button optical mouse (with wheel). I hope that JK2 makes use of 'em (or allows me to use them).

It really bugged me (after I got used to using a mouse with a wheel and more than three buttons) in JK/MotS that I couldn't configure the mouse wheel to select force powers (and the click to activate) or items, or weapons, etc.

Kurgan

[ August 14, 2001: Message edited by: Kurgan ]
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2001, 07:14 PM   #3
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,698
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Post

ya, i wanna have full customazation of the mouse, even say, dbl click a button for a different swing, or diff force power... check here for some more of my opinions...mouse discussion

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2001, 07:40 PM   #4
Saient
 
Saient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London UK
Posts: 108
Post

Yeah I know having more mouse buttons for a new game like this is a must but I bound every force power that I used to a key in the original which made the game really fun to play with guns but suffice to say the light saber really sucked. If they had lets say 5 button/commands devoted to lightsaber combat and all of which could be bound to the mouse that would be amesome.

ah and another thing to equal out gunners and saberists is the light saber throw. This should give more damamge than any of the guns. since this is a force power you can add it where you like.
Saient is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2001, 09:14 PM   #5
Millions o' Monkeys
 
Millions o' Monkeys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 510
Post

i think it would be cool as well but...you have to admit it would be a smidgen awquid.

on the other hand Raven always finds a good way to do these things
Millions o' Monkeys is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2001, 09:25 PM   #6
Obi Kwan
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 299
Post

I wish they'd just endorse a controller and make the most out of that.


Thats my Hammond XTP aka The All-Nite Groove Machine
Obi Kwan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2001, 09:44 PM   #7
Rancor
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 134
Post

Well, seeing as how Quake3 lets you bind a key or mouse button ( supports at least 5 buttons I think, plus mouse wheel fwd & backward ) to any one of the actions...you should be fine.

But it would suck to have so many buttons required to play the game that it turns into a typing tutor. Especially if someone only has a two button mouse and is forced to hook the extra key bindings up to the keyboard....plus still have to deal with all of the player controls like moving forward, back, strafing, jumping, ducking, up to 8 force powers, item switching keys... see..it quickly gets out of hand.

Sometimes, less really is more.

[ August 14, 2001: Message edited by: Rancor ]
Rancor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2001, 10:29 PM   #8
SlowbieOne
 
SlowbieOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Cloud City, Bespin
Posts: 702
Post

I agree with Rancor. I think Raven will implement a good way to use just two buttons for the saber. Like combinations of the two buttons, and directions and the buttons. Plus who knows what else they may have in store for us that we may need a button for.
SlowbieOne is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2001, 10:35 PM   #9
ed_silvergun
 
ed_silvergun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Blighty
Posts: 608
Post

I couldn't agree more. While advanced customisability is desirable, it should never be a requirement to play the game. You shouldn't need to have a five button "über-mouse" to play JKO, but for those who do, the options should be available to make use of them.


Galactic Plumberman - For All Your Liquid Needs
ed_silvergun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2001, 11:22 PM   #10
KillerBee
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 289
Post

I think its a bad idea.
and one I doubt raven will use.
some people dont have 3-4 buttons.. I got a nice 3 button mouse but I like my button 3 for force powers..
the scroll wheels gonna be usable which will be really great, although tbh direct weapon selection is the best.. I use my scrolls for chat scritps and the likes..
KillerBee is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2001, 12:00 AM   #11
Saient
 
Saient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London UK
Posts: 108
Post

Yeah I understand what your all saying but What Im trying to get across is having 4-5 different buttons/actions for the lightsaber alone. 2 didn't cut it in the Original Game whatsoever. Im just saying that for those that have 5 button mice the they should be able to bind all lightsaber moves to it.

Let me know what you think.. Also releasing a controler for Jedi won't happen and people trying to play a FPS withone will end up disapointed.
Saient is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2001, 01:09 AM   #12
Wilhuf
Senior Member
 
Wilhuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Galactic Plumberman Alliance -
Posts: 1,125
Post

I dont see the big deal in adding in support for mouse1 through mouse5. Then, the end user could just bind a command or alias to the mouse button. Control binding in q3 tech seems to be pretty flexible.

Maybe it is a big deal to do the extra programming to support mouse 4 and 5.


Wilhuf

Never give in--never, never, never, never, in nothing great or small, large or petty, never give in except to convictions of honour and good sense. Never yield to force; never yield to the apparently overwhelming might of the enemy.

Winston Churchill, 1941.
Wilhuf is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2001, 02:48 AM   #13
SlowbieOne
 
SlowbieOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Cloud City, Bespin
Posts: 702
Post

I think it is absoulutely pointless to make 5 buttons for 5 different saber swings(not to mention a complete hassle), when they can easily make enough moves with 2 buttons using different directions and button combinations.
SlowbieOne is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > Light Saber Control and 3-4 button Mice

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:37 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.