lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: interactivity with sabers
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-11-2001, 03:58 AM   #1
Matt Tanner
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2
interactivity with sabers

Yes... one idea can change the world... or at least revolutionize gaming. I loved Red Faction with it's Geomod tech. that allowed you to break through walls... now the big question... why not have this sort of technology with lightsabres!!! Be able to cut through walls! cut light poles and pillars in half, cut through blast doors just like in E1:TPM! It would quite probably make for the coolest SW game EVER.


*******************************
Note to self: Learn to fight...
*******************************
Matt Tanner is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-11-2001, 04:15 AM   #2
Matt Tanner
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2
just a short followup, lets try to get lucasarts to implement cool features like this... everybody wants more interactivity in a starwars game... game companies make it their business to provide gamers with what they want. not asking for a riot or anything... just get the ideas out there.


*******************************
Note to self: Learn to fight...
*******************************
Matt Tanner is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-11-2001, 05:00 AM   #3
GonkH8er
192.168.0.1337
 
GonkH8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,927
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Post

that WOULD be a good idea, and something very nice to have in the game, but it's taken the makers of red faction a long long time to create and perfect that technology.

with a planned release date of early next year, i think ravens gonna be flat out doing what they have


GonkH8er-
Ian@lfnetwork.com
JediKnight.net JediKnightII.net
GonkH8er is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-11-2001, 10:23 AM   #4
Letalis
 
Letalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 453
Smile

All very true...

We all want all sorts of cool features, but the truth of the matter is, whatever we get we're gonna love! We have faith Raven!


-Letalis

the Corner <--Under Construction

--There's not one shred of evidence that supports the notion that life is meant to be serious...
Letalis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-11-2001, 11:00 AM   #5
GonkH8er
192.168.0.1337
 
GonkH8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,927
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Thumbs down

LS thread 8


GonkH8er-
Ian@lfnetwork.com
JediKnight.net JediKnightII.net
GonkH8er is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-11-2001, 04:42 PM   #6
CaptainRAVE
Jedi Rave
 
CaptainRAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,272
Post

That will come in the future....but its too early for that in JK2. Maybe when most games go on larger stores like DVDs or the new type of DVDs comming out!


The force will betray you to me.
CaptainRAVE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-11-2001, 07:03 PM   #7
mattpitt
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 28
Post

y is it 2 early? surely a cd can hav a load of sabre tricks on it? Im worried about the retricton of sabre moves. It better not bbe just like JK I!!
mattpitt is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-11-2001, 07:08 PM   #8
CaptainRAVE
Jedi Rave
 
CaptainRAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,272
Post

It wont restrict sabre moves, bit it will interacting with the environment. At the moment that kind of technology takes up a lot of space!!


The force will betray you to me.
CaptainRAVE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-12-2001, 01:47 PM   #9
magnum
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 141
Lightbulb

I don't think that if you calculate (programe) the way how a wall is broken by a LS there will be no need to have an insane amount of data...
The relevant thing would be having enough memory to save all the changes to the geometry of the level (that's why the dead have to dissapear, and the marks in the wall, etc.)
Perhaps, if Raven hasn't time to do it for the scheduled release date, we (the community, I mean ) should make our own patch for this one


Does someone knows Mara Jade's ICQ#?
magnum is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-12-2001, 02:09 PM   #10
Archie
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 69
Post

The size of CD/DVD has no bearing on the interactivity of the environment. As was said, this is done by the program, and is only limited by RAM. Currently, other than cinematics, and music, the major use of space on CDs is growing to be high resolution textures.
Archie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-12-2001, 06:29 PM   #11
CaptainRAVE
Jedi Rave
 
CaptainRAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,272
Post

Seein as they've done sooooo much in 3 months, i reckon it'll be out well on time!!!!


The force will betray you to me.
CaptainRAVE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-18-2001, 07:04 PM   #12
mattpitt
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 28
Post

All sounds good but do you think they will make the sabre beter than in JK cos it was lets face it .................LAME. I found myself using blasterts all the time!
mattpitt is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-18-2001, 08:53 PM   #13
En Taro Taldarin
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 102
Post

You could still use the sabre relatively well in JK, the only problems with it were it looked horrible, there were too few moves, and there was no interactivity.


"Shut up Arcturus, if I wanted your damn opinion I would have beaten it out of ya." - Former Marshal James Raynor
En Taro Taldarin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-18-2001, 09:38 PM   #14
matt--
Network Un-exploder
 
matt--'s Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 3,573
LFN Staff Member Notable contributor 
Post

Didn't you see the 3rd day e3 demo! The guy threw the saber and said something about interactivity. Then the saber hit a support, it fell down, and he used it as a bridge. Maybe this was a planned, scripted event. But I don't think so.


LFNetwork and LucasForums.com
matt at lfnetwork dot com
matt-- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-18-2001, 10:23 PM   #15
GonkH8er
192.168.0.1337
 
GonkH8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,927
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Post

i played spork (legacy of the jedi) for the first time in ages the other night, and i gotta say, id forgotten how much it adds to a game of sabers in jk....


its all ive been playing for the last 48 hours


GonkH8er-
Ian@lfnetwork.com
JediKnight.net JediKnightII.net
GonkH8er is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-19-2001, 02:52 PM   #16
Archie
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 69
Post

Sorry to break it to you, but that would've been a planned scripted event, but if you simply put enough in the world, it doesn't seem out of place. Q3 isn't in anyway geared up for geomod technology...
Archie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > interactivity with sabers

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:53 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.