lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Reloading Weapons
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-27-2001, 06:12 PM   #1
HyperAquaBlast
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 11
Post Reloading Weapons

Do you think the game will have you reload your blasters and such with new energy clips?


Hello, I'm Leonard Nimoy. The following tale of alien encounters is true. And by true, I mean false. They're all lies but they are entertaining lies. And in the end, isn't that the real truth? The answer...... is No
HyperAquaBlast is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-27-2001, 06:20 PM   #2
wardz
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 926
Post

I can't see it being TOO realistic, that takes the fun out of it.

wardz


Welcome to JKII.Net.

Please keep sig size to a minimum : )
wardz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-27-2001, 06:29 PM   #3
TheJackal_jk2
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario (CANADA)
Posts: 452
Question

I want to have reloading animations. I hated it in JK when the energie cell (of the gun)was huge and could be "upgraded" by picking energie cells off the ground. It is a small detail, but it annoyed me.

TheJackal_jk2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-27-2001, 06:37 PM   #4
Mafia_Jabba
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Opelousas
Posts: 513
Post

energy should be recharged like in tribes...mabe you would switchout charing cells or whatever


Every Man Dies, But Not Every Man Truely Lives
-check yoru grammer
Mafia_Jabba is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-27-2001, 06:58 PM   #5
OnlyOneCanoli
Paranoid Bandroid
 
OnlyOneCanoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Fl, USA
Posts: 1,734
Post

I doubt it because DF and JK had laser ammo for lack of a better term. I agree it's unrealistic, but it works for me, and it's fun.
OnlyOneCanoli is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-27-2001, 08:23 PM   #6
DeathBoLT
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Columbia, South Carolina
Posts: 598
Post

requiring you change your clip would be a good idea if the game was more strategy based and slower paced like CS, but if its an allout DM, changing clips would be a hassel.


#nar
irc.enterthegame
#nar.. THE channel for Jedi Knight 2 players
DeathBoLT is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-27-2001, 11:20 PM   #7
Ice Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 164
Post

Definitely want to see some cool reload animations. If memory serves me right, blasters and normal energy pistols run on little energy cells/packs. There will most likely be some heavy weapons that will require the reloading of shells/rockets/missiles/big stuff. Definitely looking forward to that.
However, the Imperial repeater rifle could be a weapon without the need to reload clips. It is a chaingun, right?


Back on the quest for the perfect sig!
Ice Man is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-28-2001, 04:52 AM   #8
Mercenary_Turned_Jedi
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Nar Shadaa
Posts: 61
Heck , If JK 2 ends up being like SWAT 3 then you know you're gonna get wasted by the Stormtroopers either when you run out of ammo and have to replace the clip, or when you just killed a platoon of 'em and "Speed Reload (A.K.A.:Tactical Reloading)".

Either way, you're still as good as dead if you don't have the Lightsaber




"Is that a Lightsaber in your hand or are you just happy to see me ?"
Mercenary_Turned_Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-28-2001, 05:06 AM   #9
HyperAquaBlast
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 11
Post

i always wanted to reload in JK. i dunno reloading always seem cooler to me in games to me. if it doesnt have it maybe someone could mod it in


Hello, I'm Leonard Nimoy. The following tale of alien encounters is true. And by true, I mean false. They're all lies but they are entertaining lies. And in the end, isn't that the real truth? The answer...... is No
HyperAquaBlast is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-28-2001, 06:43 AM   #10
Mercenary_Turned_Jedi
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Nar Shadaa
Posts: 61
Post

Check out the new topic "Save the Lightsaber" in the Jedi Temple.




"Is that a Lightsaber in your hand or are you just happy to see me ?"
Mercenary_Turned_Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-28-2001, 07:08 AM   #11
Mercenary_Turned_Jedi
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Nar Shadaa
Posts: 61
Check out this image ! If you're interested in learining who this Dark Jedi babe is, check out the topic JK II inside info/ spoilers.






"Is that a Lightsaber in your hand or are you just happy to see me ?"
Mercenary_Turned_Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-28-2001, 08:06 AM   #12
KillerBee
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 289
Post

no reloading.. I never saw a stormie/rebel troop reload damnit. so why the hell should we in game.
(slows up gameplay to.. bad thing)
KillerBee is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-28-2001, 08:09 AM   #13
Mercenary_Turned_Jedi
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Nar Shadaa
Posts: 61
Post

LOL !!!!
WHY ? YOU ASK WHY ? HA HA HA HA HA !!!!!! AARGGHHH!

To make it more realistic, dumb-dumb. WHY did you even post that ^ letter ?




"Is that a Lightsaber in your hand or are you just happy to see me ?"
Mercenary_Turned_Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-28-2001, 10:53 AM   #14
Kettch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

I'm for reloading, it makes the game more realistic and its more fun
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-28-2001, 10:56 AM   #15
Mercenary_Turned_Jedi
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Nar Shadaa
Posts: 61
Angry

Yeah, much fun when you get yer a$$ kicked by a rodian with only a stormtrooper rifle.




"Is that a Lightsaber in your hand or are you just happy to see me ?"
Mercenary_Turned_Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-22-2001, 12:38 PM   #16
CaptainRAVE
Jedi Rave
 
CaptainRAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,272
Post

Hopefully there should be some form of reloading considering all the new games have that feature these days. That was really annoying with Jk be cause you had one huge clip


The force will betray you to me.
CaptainRAVE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-22-2001, 12:53 PM   #17
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,698
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Post

ya, i loved the reloading in Outlaws, sure it was way to fast for a six shooter, and you never ejected spent brass, but it still was pretty cool. as for powercells in blasters, they never had a shot limit either, they only have settings like full, low and critical, from what i remimber. so who knows how many shots are in a cell anyway, maybe its 500, maybe its twenty, who knows. but i agree, there should be some sort of clip/powercell reloading feature. event though this will clutter up the HUD a little. it just gives it a little more realism (like you could add a lot to the SW universe).

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-22-2001, 08:38 PM   #18
Krayt Tion
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Reloading in JK2 would be sweet. Over the past year I've leaned more heavily towards games where you must reload most of the weapons. It breaks up the pace of the game just the way I like it. Less of a crazy gib fest and more of a calculated style of play. I'm plenty fast, but limited clips and reloading prevents the smart person from spraying with impunity and usually making their shots count more.

Who's Faster is boring to me. I've been playing Who's Faster for too many years. I want to see Who's Smarter instead as well as who is fast, and limited clips and reloading help this happen.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-22-2001, 08:54 PM   #19
CaptainRAVE
Jedi Rave
 
CaptainRAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,272
Post

It would definatly add much realism to the game....hopefully the realism that JK lacked so very much.


The force will betray you to me.
CaptainRAVE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-22-2001, 11:58 PM   #20
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,698
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Post

it adds realism, sure, but how real is SW anyway? back to reloading, how about reloading dbl weapons? i many games (that i've played containg dbl weapons) the reload time for single and double weapons are nearly equal, as far as i can tell. reloading dbl should take at least twice as long, cause you gotta free up one hand to pull out the clip, stuff in a new one, and then switch hands, and do it all over again. i know it would be annoing, but it would add realism, and help balance the guns powers.

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-23-2001, 11:51 AM   #21
JediBendu
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: London, England
Posts: 12
Post

KillerBee had a great point. Name me one time in a Star Wars movie that your see someone reload a weapon, or check its power cell?

Realism in JK equates to the Star Wars universe, not our universe.


Stay on Topic...
Stay on Topic...
Message away!
Negative, just impacted on the server.
JediBendu is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-23-2001, 04:37 PM   #22
CaptainRAVE
Jedi Rave
 
CaptainRAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,272
Post

But in gaming, it would add realism. Most games implement reloading and i think this game should aswell.


The force will betray you to me.
CaptainRAVE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-23-2001, 04:40 PM   #23
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,698
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Post

well, this is the EU, and i remimber many people saying check the power cell, or its full, or what not in books.

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-23-2001, 05:08 PM   #24
C.H.A.S.
 
C.H.A.S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: CA
Posts: 61
I don't like reloading it never appealed to me to much and for all the people out there that want it because it looks cool remember in many games reloading is basically the person bringing the gun out of your sight and a split second later returning it full of ammo. Real Cool


"The Fist Of Strength
Is No Match For
The Fist Of Knowledge" by me.
C.H.A.S. is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-23-2001, 07:44 PM   #25
CaptainRAVE
Jedi Rave
 
CaptainRAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,272
Post

In half life you saw your player reloading and it looked really cool. Anyone remember that?? If there is reloading i want it like that


The force will betray you to me.
CaptainRAVE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-23-2001, 09:24 PM   #26
PreTZeL
 
PreTZeL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 460
Post

definitely NO reloading, like before mentioned, it is a deathmatch, and in like quake you dont reload, why would you in JK? it never happens in SW, that was also already mentioned....there is no reason to bring reloads in, you hear that Raven? heh


-26341985-markedcard0-

^^wants to get involved in a JK2 clan^^
PreTZeL is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-23-2001, 11:38 PM   #27
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,698
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Post

i can take or leave the reload, what ever raven chooses to do...

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2001, 03:44 AM   #28
Krayt Tion
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Why is the clip on a stormie rifle there- for decoration? No. It has a function that we never got to see used. None of the stormies needed to reload a clip, they never even fired off enough shots in one sitting that we got to see. There were no drawn out fire fights that featured even one person taking enough shots in which a clip needed to be reloaded.

If you saw a storm trooper constantly firing off over 20 shots, the camera never leaving his side, and he didn't reload, then your point would be valid.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2001, 03:00 PM   #29
DeathBoLT
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Columbia, South Carolina
Posts: 598
Post

energy cells should be worth 50 energy.

powercells should be worth 100-200 power.

explosive charges should contain 3-6 charges.


#nar
irc.enterthegame
#nar.. THE channel for Jedi Knight 2 players
DeathBoLT is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2001, 10:36 PM   #30
Sith Warrior
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 14
Post

Reloading is for the most part a bad idea. As far as we know, JK did reload. All energy weapons had a max of 500 energy or power cells, maybe that was because there were 500 round clips. People say that reloading adds more realism to the game, but keep in mind that this isn't Half-Life or S.W.A.T. 3, it's Star Wars. Games like the S.W.A.T. series are based on realistic events, whereas
the Jedi Knight series is based on the non-realistic Star Wars universe. Blasters do not fire cartridges as in the two mentioned above, they fire laser beams created by heat, think of the energy and power cells as batteries that charge up heat and just lose power, unlike a clip that looses individual bullets. The main reason that I hate reloading though is because it slows down gameplay and leaves you extremely vulnerable in a fire fight, thus making the game somewhat less enjoyable. Why sacrifice fun for realism?


A Fallen Jedi Struggles With His Past, His Enemies... And His Destiny
Sith Warrior is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2001, 10:45 PM   #31
PreTZeL
 
PreTZeL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 460
Post

i agree totally, thank you for that extremely well thought out post
its not a deathmatch if you have to pause the gameplay at any time...reloading will never be necessary


-26341985-markedcard0-

^^wants to get involved in a JK2 clan^^
PreTZeL is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-25-2001, 02:13 AM   #32
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,698
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Post

well, ther prob shouldnt be reloading, but i disagree, ther was reloading in Outlaws, and that didnt detract from gameplay at all, it was cool...

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-25-2001, 02:16 AM   #33
PreTZeL
 
PreTZeL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 460
Post

but outlaws...has absolutely nothing to do with star wars...
i have no idea what outlaws is like, but it sounds like an "old west" type game....they would obviously HAVE to reload, they dont have energy weapons or anything like that...
it just doesnt seem right...
think about reloading your conc in nf ji...can you see that being believeable??


-26341985-markedcard0-

^^wants to get involved in a JK2 clan^^
PreTZeL is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-25-2001, 04:10 PM   #34
CaptainRAVE
Jedi Rave
 
CaptainRAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,272
Post

This could be a good poll for the site. Seeing as all the other polls probably are to help Raven anyway, then i think this should be made into a poll. It would be quite interesting to see the results as everyone have such different opinions on this matter.


The force will betray you to me.
CaptainRAVE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-25-2001, 04:12 PM   #35
PreTZeL
 
PreTZeL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 460
Post

good idea,
can someone (like xcape) make a poll please?
i dont know who is authorized to do so


-26341985-markedcard0-

^^wants to get involved in a JK2 clan^^
PreTZeL is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-25-2001, 07:30 PM   #36
Wilhuf
Senior Member
 
Wilhuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Galactic Plumberman Alliance -
Posts: 1,125
Post

In A New Hope, Princess Leia has to load her blaster when she is providing covering fire for Luke Skywalker just before they swing across the Death Star Chasm. She does this several times during the gunfight. Either she is reloading, recalibrating, or re-arming the blaster. So, there is a precedent for reloading in the Star Wars films.

I hope they have reloading in the game. I dont see why they couldn't make the rifle like an old semi-automatic M-1 rifle. You add a clip and fire until the clip is spent. You then add in a new clip to reload. You would have to press a key to actually swap in the new clip. Kinda like half-life's reloading system, or Outlaws, as was said.

[ July 25, 2001: Message edited by: Wilhuf ]


Wilhuf

Never give in--never, never, never, never, in nothing great or small, large or petty, never give in except to convictions of honour and good sense. Never yield to force; never yield to the apparently overwhelming might of the enemy.

Winston Churchill, 1941.
Wilhuf is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-25-2001, 07:44 PM   #37
CaptainRAVE
Jedi Rave
 
CaptainRAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,272
Post

See.....we definatly need an official vote on this on the home page


The force will betray you to me.
CaptainRAVE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-25-2001, 07:47 PM   #38
PreTZeL
 
PreTZeL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 460
Post

we have to vote now....
NOW
i hate reloading...in HL/CS its ok, but not JK or JK2


-26341985-markedcard0-

^^wants to get involved in a JK2 clan^^
PreTZeL is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-25-2001, 08:01 PM   #39
Krayt Tion
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

I forgot she loaded her blaster there, I'm glad someone remembered, makes my point even more valid, and saves me from having to bust out my screenshots of DF and JK showing all the clips (call them whatever you want you to, damn, enegry clips, energy packs, or even 'thingies that must be stuck in the gun that let it go bam bam') that you add to pick up to get ammo into your gun. The only thing we were missing was the reloading animation. Now hopefully you can see it comes down to play mechanics that you personally enjoy, not some silly notion that clips don't fit into the Star Wars Universe at all.

Some more on that note, even if there were no evidence of guns being loaded in SW: I disagree with such a Black and White cookiecutter version of how the Star Wars universe is "unrealistic." The core of Star Wars is grounded in humanity, with it's main characters functioning for the most part within human abilites and emotions. Many people can easily see themselves existing in the Star Wars Universe if it were possible, because there are so many deliberate parallels between our worlds. One of these parellels is definitely technology. From the Corellian Corvette, a throwback to the George Lucas' love of street racing autos in the US, to the more obvious Stormtrooper Rifle, almost completely modeled off of a British rifle from one of the World Wars. The mere fact that we are able dicuss the technology of Star Wars comparatively and in light of our own should say something as well.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-25-2001, 08:03 PM   #40
PreTZeL
 
PreTZeL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 460
Post

i must say....your points are valid
if i did not detest reloading so much, you would have probably swayed me with that post
be proud


-26341985-markedcard0-

^^wants to get involved in a JK2 clan^^
PreTZeL is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > Reloading Weapons

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:20 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.