lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: IBM Announces "Pixie Dust" Hard Drives - amazing
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-07-2001, 05:46 PM   #1
CaptainRAVE
Jedi Rave
 
CaptainRAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,272
Post IBM Announces "Pixie Dust" Hard Drives - amazing

IBM has announced a new line of hard drives which will use the antiferromagnetically coupled (AFC) media technology, whimsically known as "pixie dust."

Pixie dust allows more data to be stored per square inch on a hard drive, meaning that by 2003, IBM should be producing hard drives with a 400GB capacity.

The first drives using the new technology will be available this month. Both laptop and desktop drives will be available, including a 120GB desktop which will retail for $349.


The force will betray you to me.
CaptainRAVE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-07-2001, 08:00 PM   #2
GonkH8er
192.168.0.1337
 
GonkH8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,927
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Post

amazing.....


GonkH8er-
Ian@lfnetwork.com
JediKnight.net JediKnightII.net
GonkH8er is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-07-2001, 10:03 PM   #3
Denise
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Washington state, USA
Posts: 231
Post

I guess I'm spoiled. That's the trouble with the frenetic leaps of advancement in the computer industry --after a while, it stops surprising you.
Denise is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-07-2001, 10:58 PM   #4
StormHammer
Fallen Jedi
 
StormHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Outer spiral arm of the galaxy
Posts: 5,437
10 year veteran! 
Post

I wouldn't want to defrag a HDD that size.

Also, am I not right in saying the bigger the partition, the less efficient the data storage?

Hmmm...looks like there would have to be trade-offs for massive capacity.

Lastly...you'd need a second drive the same size to back your stuff up...or fill up a hundred DVD-RAMs...

I thought it was bad enough when my zip disk got corrupted...
StormHammer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-08-2001, 12:31 PM   #5
magnum
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 141
Angry

Really, I think that We should make more partitions if we don't want to waste 1MB for a 1 byte file

Was worries me too, is that I *already* almost run out of partitions available... I *HATE* THE 1 LETTER SYSTEM!!! It's STUPID!

Back in the Amiga days you can have any number of partition/disks available, each one with it's own name, and if you wanted to change an application from a disk to another you just "assigned" the name from one to the other...

I think that a change is due, but I don't know how are they (micro$hit) are going to do it.
Do you realize that we are using a system that 20 years ago was designed to never grow?


Does someone knows Mara Jade's ICQ#?
magnum is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-08-2001, 04:10 PM   #6
CaptainRAVE
Jedi Rave
 
CaptainRAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,272
Post

I'll definatly be getting one of those hard drives ....you could never fill a 400Gb HDD, it was last for ages


The force will betray you to me.
CaptainRAVE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-08-2001, 05:29 PM   #7
Kurgan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up

Well I suppose if you never burned anything to disc and installed EVERY piece of software you owned, and downloaded lots of videos and stuff, then eventually you could fill it I guess.

But 150 GB would seem to be the upper limit, even for me. Having a 40 gig forces me to burn stuff occasionally. ; )

I wouldn't trust the stability of IBM drives with that much data in one place anyway (*shudder.. bad experiences*)

Kurgan
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-08-2001, 05:42 PM   #8
Agen
The Spoon Guy
 
Agen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: A house
Posts: 5,216
Post

Quote:
originally said by obi wan
I have a bad feeling about this
and 3 episodes later
Quote:
I have just heard about a million voice scream at 1 time
and yet to be said by obi wan -
Quote:
probably because their whole drive went through the roof due to such a ridiculous amount of disk space
[ November 09, 2001: Message edited by: Agen_Terminator ]
Agen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-08-2001, 10:35 PM   #9
StormHammer
Fallen Jedi
 
StormHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Outer spiral arm of the galaxy
Posts: 5,437
10 year veteran! 
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by CaptainRAVE:
I'll definatly be getting one of those hard drives ....you could never fill a 400Gb HDD, it was last for ages
ROFL

I don't know if you're joking or serious, Rave...

...but 12 years ago a 286 PC with a 20Mb HDD arrived on my workdesk, and everyone in the office said...

'We'll never fill it! That hard disk is enormous!' And we were right...for about a year.

Now, like Kurgan, I have to back up a lot of stuff to free space on my 40Gb drive. At work I've got a 40Gb and a 20Gb...and they're filling up fast.

Believe me...you'll fill it...or the software/game developers will fill it for you.

Just look at the OS. I remember when DOS fit on a 360k 5.25 inch floppy disk.

Now a full install of Win2K etc takes up 1 Gb.

Can you imagine what MicroSoft would do with a drive that size? Steal 10 per cent for the recycle bin for a start...that's 40 Gb gone by default. And when you install Windows UltraBloatware (the next incarnation), you can probably say goodbye to another 10 per cent because of all the pretty graphics.

We'll never have enough disk space.
StormHammer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-10-2001, 06:21 AM   #10
Darth Lunatic
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Alpha Quadrant
Posts: 167
Post

400gb does not shock me.

If it was 400tb then i'd be shocked.

But 400gb i wouldn't have much trouble filling that up. With cable modem, hard disk space goes very quickly. I filled 20 gb up in a few days.


No way, man. No way, man! Get yourself another patsy, man. No way am I wearing a freakin' wire!
Darth Lunatic is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-10-2001, 07:09 AM   #11
Millions o' Monkeys
 
Millions o' Monkeys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 510
Post

oh your cable modem...oh woopdy doo

*sniff* *sniif* i need a cable modem

back to the topic...all you have to do to fill 400gb is install commandos 2 a few times
Millions o' Monkeys is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-10-2001, 07:23 AM   #12
Darth Lunatic
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Alpha Quadrant
Posts: 167
Post

LOL!


No way, man. No way, man! Get yourself another patsy, man. No way am I wearing a freakin' wire!
Darth Lunatic is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-10-2001, 07:41 PM   #13
CaptainRAVE
Jedi Rave
 
CaptainRAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,272
Post

Yea, i fill loads, but i also delete loads once i get bored of the stuff, like games etc. Imagine how fast my T3 fills up my hard drive


The force will betray you to me.
CaptainRAVE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-10-2001, 07:46 PM   #14
Kurgan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up

Yeah, it's not that I download tons and tons of stuff, the 'problem' is that the new games and apps, etc just take up more space.

So it's not that people are getting greedier (I have DSL and I have no trouble keeping my 40 gig with open space). I just burn or delete what I don't use/want.

Like I said, yeah it would be great to have a bigger and bigger drive, but the bigger it is, the longer it takes to sort through stuff, format, the greater the danger that I'll lose a lot of stuff if it crashes, and it just encourages me to be lazier about managing my data.

Kurgan

[ November 10, 2001: Message edited by: Kurgan ]
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-10-2001, 10:43 PM   #15
cossack1812
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: ACT, Australia
Posts: 137
Post

*picks jaw up of floor


currently having only 6 gigs doesnt help
cossack1812 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-11-2001, 08:21 AM   #16
Bartolo_JCS
 
Bartolo_JCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: TO, CA, US
Posts: 463
Post

I think I'd stick to mini dvds instead of huge hard disks



Bartolo_JCS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Yoda’s Swamp > IBM Announces "Pixie Dust" Hard Drives - amazing

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:40 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.