lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: PC Wizkids. Aid me in my time of need!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-15-2001, 08:24 PM   #1
Ice Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 164
Wink PC Wizkids. Aid me in my time of need!

Okay my PII 400 froze up earlier this morning. I then reached for the reset button and pushed it. But instead of rebooting the way I was accustomed to, the screen remained blank. There wasn't the tradional whirring sound of the starting up of the computer. The computer also would not actually turn OFF! I pressed the power button several times and tried the reset button as well. Even the slightly less recommendable pulling out of the plug in the wall.
Well the last one did turn the PC off but when I stuck the plug back in the computer was as before: On, but not running properly. It wasn't starting up.
My dad believes this is a hard drive failure. The hard drive is an 8.4 GB Maxtor drive that's 2 and a half years old. Could this be it? Would a new hard drive fix this problem. Your expert opinions?


Back on the quest for the perfect sig!
Ice Man is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2001, 09:28 PM   #2
Seryl Cann
 
Seryl Cann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 254
Post

If it's a harddrive failer you should still get something on your screen (the video card stuff, the bios stuff and the memory check). I think it's either something with your videocard or your motherboard or your processor.


"Not all those who wander are lost"

Seryl Cann
Last Starfighters League
http://www.starfighters.com/lsf
http://www.serylcann.com
Seryl Cann is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2001, 09:29 PM   #3
Boba Rhett
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Well, I doubt it would hurt.

Seriously though, my brother had almost the exact same problem and we assumed it was the hdd also but we tried reseating everything and it fixed the problem. You might wanna give that a try.

I guess that's not much help but it's all I got.

[ July 15, 2001: Message edited by: Boba Rhett ]
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2001, 09:56 PM   #4
matt--
Network Un-exploder
 
matt--'s Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 3,573
LFN Staff Member Notable contributor 
Post

boba...you mean reseating, right? I'm give that a try once I done feeling anger towards my 1.333 thats out of commission.


LFNetwork and LucasForums.com
matt at lfnetwork dot com
matt-- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2001, 10:04 PM   #5
Boba Rhett
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Yeah, that's what I meant. I wish my comp had a stupidity checker.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2001, 12:29 AM   #6
Ice Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 164
Post

Well the monitor was automatically going on standby because there was no computer activity. The graphics card is only about half a year old. When we took the signal cable out the monitor began displaying properly again "No Signal" or something of the like. Any other ideas? Because unless we find out that the problem lies somewhere other than the HD, we'll be buying a new one by the end of the week. Guys, this is inmportant...Any other suggestions?


Back on the quest for the perfect sig!
Ice Man is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2001, 12:48 AM   #7
OnlyOneCanoli
Paranoid Bandroid
 
OnlyOneCanoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Fl, USA
Posts: 1,734
Post

Um... don't buy another hard drive unless you want one just to have more space. This probably isn't the problem. If it was the hard drive, you'd still be able to turn it on and at least get to the BIOS. Seems to me like your motherboard crapped out. Other problem could be the processor. Possibily video card.

Open up the cards and make sure everything is seated properly. Make sure the motherboard is screwed down and everything. Make sure IDE cables and power supply cables are ok. Put case together, and then check that the wires are correctly attached. Also, you may want to run a continuity test to see if you're getting power... it might not be the computer at all.
OnlyOneCanoli is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2001, 12:57 AM   #8
matt--
Network Un-exploder
 
matt--'s Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 3,573
LFN Staff Member Notable contributor 
Post

Do the fans go one? Does it beep?


LFNetwork and LucasForums.com
matt at lfnetwork dot com
matt-- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-18-2001, 01:38 PM   #9
Ice Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 164
Post

All is well now. My dad put the HD back in and things seem to work now. That was weird. Thanks for you help anyway.


Back on the quest for the perfect sig!
Ice Man is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Yoda’s Swamp > PC Wizkids. Aid me in my time of need!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:21 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.