lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Code Red and the Q3 master server.
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-13-2001, 03:22 AM   #1
WD_ToRMeNt
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Kansas City MO
Posts: 705
Post Code Red and the Q3 master server.

Is it just me, or has anyone else been unable to querry the master q3 server for a list of servers lately? It started about the time when code red whent active again, but then it clear up. I haven't been able to get anything from the master server all day today though.

I'm guessing that the net between me and the master server is clogged by code red infected boxes scanning and maybe DOSing.
WD_ToRMeNt is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-13-2001, 08:40 AM   #2
Seryl Cann
 
Seryl Cann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 254
Post

I doubt the master q3 server is in windows server (that would just be stupid). I don't play q3, so I don't know if it's down or not. Maybe, because of Quakecon, it's overloaded or something.


"Not all those who wander are lost"

Seryl Cann
Last Starfighters League
http://www.starfighters.com/lsf
http://www.serylcann.com
Seryl Cann is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-13-2001, 02:25 PM   #3
Syndrix
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 212
Post

And I quote:

"I think your brain was infected."

But seriously, I doubt it would be code red. Some analysts agree while it is dangerous the Internet can easily handle the "replication probing traffic" generated even by millions of simultaneously searching and reproducing IIS worms.

Also I was playing Q3 earlier and was able to get a list of servers, I think your probem is localised.


Genius is limited, unfortunately stupidity is not thus so.
Syndrix is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-13-2001, 04:14 PM   #4
WD_ToRMeNt
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Kansas City MO
Posts: 705
Post

I didn't say that I thought the master server was infected. I just speculated that the internet between me and the master server is clogged up by the worm.
WD_ToRMeNt is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Yoda’s Swamp > Code Red and the Q3 master server.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:01 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.