lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar
View Poll Results: What kind of internet connection do you have?
Dial-Up (AOL, etc...) 5 27.78%
ISDN 1 5.56%
Cable Modem 11 61.11%
T1/LAN 1 5.56%
Voters: 18. You may not vote on this poll


Thread: What kind of connection do you have?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-13-2001, 11:40 PM   #1
Kylilin
Wiseass
 
Kylilin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,306
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
What kind of connection do you have?

I was just curious...


"Who is splendid among men, who is glorious among heroes?"
--excerpt from Gilgamesh
Kylilin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2001, 12:22 AM   #2
Darth_Rommel
argh
 
Darth_Rommel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Somewhere in Canada
Posts: 4,838
I have cable.


#9[/size]
Darth_Rommel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2001, 12:39 AM   #3
oninosensi
 
oninosensi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Just north of Hell
Posts: 1,512
Cable here


No working sig now, just lazy ones...
oninosensi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2001, 07:44 AM   #4
Hannibal
Senior Member
 
Hannibal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Indoors
Posts: 3,225
Current Game: Black Ops/Biosock
LFN Staff Member 
Dial-up with AOL.
Please feel sorry for me.

Hannibal is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2001, 12:39 PM   #5
Kylilin
Wiseass
 
Kylilin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,306
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
oops I forgot, I have cable too...


"Who is splendid among men, who is glorious among heroes?"
--excerpt from Gilgamesh
Kylilin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2001, 01:39 PM   #6
digl
Reborn
 
digl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: Chile
Posts: 2,326
cable too
digl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2001, 05:13 PM   #7
StormHammer
Fallen Jedi
 
StormHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Outer spiral arm of the galaxy
Posts: 5,437
10 year veteran! 
You have my sympathies, Hannibal. I too have a dial-up connection, via a 56k modem.

It's not that I don't want something better...I'd like DSL or Cable...but it's not even available where I live. Nor is it likely to be for at least a couple of years.

My only chance of getting the right connection is to move close to a big city that is connected.

ISDN is apparently available, but just too expensive for what you get...I mean, the minimum package costs 149 to convert your existing line, then 90 per quarter (30 per month), exclusive of call charges, which are charged at the normal rate. I'd be racking up telephone bills of 200+ per quarter on top of the rental charges, so it works out a lot more expensive than DSL. No wonder BT is dragging their heels introducing DSL across the country.
StormHammer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2001, 06:53 PM   #8
Darth Simpson
Fudgy Cakes of Doom
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 1,243
I got ADSL about 1 month ago, and I'm loving it. Previously I had ISDN, but this is just incredible in comparison. Lovin' it.

I hear the UK is extremely slow when it comes to broadband. I feel sorry for all of you UK'ers, hopefully BT will get moving soon...
Darth Simpson is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2001, 07:58 PM   #9
Darth_Rommel
argh
 
Darth_Rommel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Somewhere in Canada
Posts: 4,838
Quote:
Originally posted by Darth Simpson
I got ADSL about 1 month ago, and I'm loving it. Previously I had ISDN, but this is just incredible in comparison. Lovin' it.

I hear the UK is extremely slow when it comes to broadband. I feel sorry for all of you UK'ers, hopefully BT will get moving soon...
Canadian cable seems kinda slow in comparison to the service the American's get.


#9[/size]
Darth_Rommel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2001, 08:03 PM   #10
Rogue15
Reconnaissance Specialist
 
Rogue15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Kaas City
Posts: 18,698
Current Game: The Old Republic
Roleplayer 10 year veteran! 
cable. AT&T. not as reliable as i'd like, they dis me every hour, i found out how to change my ip address to get back online faster than wait for them to do it. :|


Battle is a pure form of expression. It is heart and discipline, reduced to movement and motion. In battle, the words are swept away, giving way to actions-- mercy, sacrifice, anger, fear. These are pure moments of expression.
Rogue15 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2001, 08:42 PM   #11
Kylilin
Wiseass
 
Kylilin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,306
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
I have Road Runner from Time-Warner Cable and its great, I've had it over a year and I think its gone out maybe twice, plus its pretty cheap in comparison, its only 40 bucks a month, where AOL is like 20.


"Who is splendid among men, who is glorious among heroes?"
--excerpt from Gilgamesh
Kylilin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2001, 11:12 AM   #12
oninosensi
 
oninosensi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Just north of Hell
Posts: 1,512
Quote:
Originally posted by Hannibal:
Dial-up with AOL.
Please feel sorry for me.

AOL with dialup, I feel very sorry for you. Worst combination you can get.


No working sig now, just lazy ones...
oninosensi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2001, 08:32 PM   #13
BeastMaster
Dragon in Residence
 
BeastMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,275
Unhappy

Dial-up on a 56k modem, on a machine that was obsolete two years ago.

I desperately want something better (a better ISP, a better connection, a better processor, etc), but money is an issue. Apparently, most of you guys are still living at home and can con your folks into paying for upgrades. I'm a Student, living in an apartment, and my mother can't understand why I need anything more advanced than Wordperfect.

(Yes, her home PC is even worse; it hasn't had a real upgrade since 96.)


"The Beasts know much that we do not." -Ancient Jedi proverb
BeastMaster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2001, 09:28 PM   #14
StormHammer
Fallen Jedi
 
StormHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Outer spiral arm of the galaxy
Posts: 5,437
10 year veteran! 
Quote:
Originally posted by BeastMaster
(Yes, her home PC is even worse; it hasn't had a real upgrade since 96.)
Ouch.

As for WordPerfect...I know someone who swore by the DOS version of Wordstar until a couple of years ago.

Anyway, it's good to know that some people are in the same boat as me. But in a bad way...
StormHammer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2001, 11:47 AM   #15
CaptainRAVE
Jedi Rave
 
CaptainRAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,272
I have a T3 on one computer and a 56K on the other. I also pay freeserve extra each month so I got full use of their servers for my 56K so I actually GET 56K.


The force will betray you to me.
CaptainRAVE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2001, 09:48 PM   #16
Kylilin
Wiseass
 
Kylilin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,306
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by BeastMaster
I desperately want something better (a better ISP, a better connection, a better processor, etc), but money is an issue. Apparently, most of you guys are still living at home and can con your folks into paying for upgrades. I'm a Student, living in an apartment, and my mother can't understand why I need anything more advanced than Wordperfect.

I am in the same boat as you, I'm a student, living in an apartment, I don't know where you are from, but here, cable is not really that much more expensive than dial-up, what is expensive is the cable modem and the ethernet card.


"Who is splendid among men, who is glorious among heroes?"
--excerpt from Gilgamesh
Kylilin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-17-2001, 02:07 PM   #17
BeastMaster
Dragon in Residence
 
BeastMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,275
Cool Guy

The service isn't all that expensive here either (or at least, it's not more expensive than dial-up), and the last person who had this apartment had cable, so I know it's accessible.

The trouble is (A) the new modem that I'd need, and (B) the >1 month of downtime I end up with whenever I take my computer in to get upgraded/repaired (competent/efficient computer techs apparently don't exist in reality).

As an English major, I need my computer; I can't afford to lose it for months at a time.


"The Beasts know much that we do not." -Ancient Jedi proverb
BeastMaster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-17-2001, 02:14 PM   #18
CaptainRAVE
Jedi Rave
 
CaptainRAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,272
And the problem that you wouldnt be able to visit these forums


The force will betray you to me.
CaptainRAVE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-17-2001, 10:28 PM   #19
Kylilin
Wiseass
 
Kylilin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,306
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
Yeah, I haear ya Beastmaster, I am a history major, and I would hate to sit in the library's computer lab typing paper after paper, I like the comfort of my own place...


"Who is splendid among men, who is glorious among heroes?"
--excerpt from Gilgamesh
Kylilin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-17-2001, 11:12 PM   #20
GUNNER
Forums Juggernaut
 
GUNNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Skywalker Ranch
Posts: 8,343
Current Game: Half-Life Episode 2
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
Cable, works like a charm.
GUNNER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-18-2001, 03:06 PM   #21
Borg Collective
 
Borg Collective's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Unimatrix 001
Posts: 51
We are posting through a trans-temporal relay projected from a communications node in spatial grid 42859, assimilated from species 8264 (self-designation: hirogen).

Unfortunately, the relay station is frequently attacked by rogue elements of species 329 (self-designation: vaudwaar) and 8472 (self-designation: unknown). We must also frequently deal with ionic storms and various other distractions.


"Fun will now commence." --7/9
Borg Collective is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-19-2001, 01:28 AM   #22
Kylilin
Wiseass
 
Kylilin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,306
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
Sounds like one hell of a connection...


"Who is splendid among men, who is glorious among heroes?"
--excerpt from Gilgamesh
Kylilin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-19-2001, 02:07 PM   #23
SlashAndBurn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cable and god I love it!
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-19-2001, 08:32 PM   #24
SlowbieOne
 
SlowbieOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Cloud City, Bespin
Posts: 702
56k. Man, AOL sux. *wishes they would get cable out here*
SlowbieOne is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Star Wars Classic Gaming > 1. The HuB > The Cantina! > What kind of connection do you have?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:43 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.