lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Editing Questions
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-22-2002, 09:17 PM   #1
B0MBER II
 
B0MBER II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Geneva, Illinois
Posts: 372
Question Editing Questions

Do you think making levels for JK2 will be as hard and annoying as it was for JK1?


I couldn't get a hang of the JK1 method, I just hope the Q3A one is like very easy...


Chicago Cubs... #1
B0MBER II is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2002, 09:23 PM   #2
Boba Rhett
I Slay Dragons
 
Boba Rhett's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Man-Room in Missouri
Posts: 13,807
Current Game: Scrolling Eldery
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! 
What did you find so hard about JED? It's probably easier to get the hang of then most other game editors.
Boba Rhett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2002, 09:30 PM   #3
Roger
Junior Member
 
Roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: San Rafael, CA
Posts: 483
I smell an editing thread...
Roger is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2002, 09:33 PM   #4
Bio Warrior
 
Bio Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 331
i smell the swamp
Bio Warrior is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2002, 09:44 PM   #5
B0MBER II
 
B0MBER II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Geneva, Illinois
Posts: 372
I'm new here

gimme a break


Chicago Cubs... #1
B0MBER II is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2002, 09:59 PM   #6
Rogue15
Reconnaissance Specialist
 
Rogue15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Kaas City
Posts: 18,722
Current Game: The Old Republic
Roleplayer 10 year veteran! 
Quote:
Originally posted by Boba Rhett
What did you find so hard about JED? It's probably easier to get the hang of then most other game editors.
JED 0\/\//\/5 j000000!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!

Well, it owns me, it's the easiest thing to edit. I had the same problem he probably had, and i didn't get the cleaving and crap, cause i wanted to make 'outside buildings' and the outdoor tutorial didn't help ONE BIT!!! and so i went to 3dos, and made a bunch of buildings (i eventually made an AT-PT) and i went to try to make a decent level with those 3dos, but it seemed sucky, so i tried the catwalk tutorial, and BAM!!!!!! I learned outdoor buildings, they're the exact opposite of 3dos, and i was able to do 'Massacre at Abridon', can be found at www.massassi.net for mots.


Battle is a pure form of expression. It is heart and discipline, reduced to movement and motion. In battle, the words are swept away, giving way to actions-- mercy, sacrifice, anger, fear. These are pure moments of expression.
Rogue15 is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2002, 10:01 PM   #7
B0MBER II
 
B0MBER II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Geneva, Illinois
Posts: 372
I just couldn't get into it... I had it...

Heck I'm saying now I wanna make a level for my clan but I KNOW I'll probably get fed up witht he Q3A thing and give up.


The last level for a game I made was a stupid level for Duke Nukem 3D called Mega Man City lol


Chicago Cubs... #1
B0MBER II is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2002, 10:33 PM   #8
+Nimbus+
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Missouri
Posts: 122
Hehe, get this I had JkEdit, the registered version 40 bucks!! it was cool though and super easy, I had a level called Space Outpost lol it was fun. Type in EMW, my old clan and it'll come up with a level from an old clanmate of mine. Top that level making neetness.


l| F a t al F u r y |l
Click here to learn about my Jedi Outcast clan!
+Nimbus+ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2002, 10:36 PM   #9
Bio Warrior
 
Bio Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 331
hmmmmm i use to be in EMW as EMW_JediLord except the level i made was Space Outpost Arena (i had got permission from the the guy who did Space Outpost who was also the clan leader)
Bio Warrior is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2002, 10:38 PM   #10
B0MBER II
 
B0MBER II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Geneva, Illinois
Posts: 372
hahaha Old Clan members reunite on my thread

Life's beutiful!


Chicago Cubs... #1
B0MBER II is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2002, 10:44 PM   #11
Bio Warrior
 
Bio Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 331
suprising to since it was alteast 2 or 3 years ago
Bio Warrior is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2002, 10:50 PM   #12
B0MBER II
 
B0MBER II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Geneva, Illinois
Posts: 372
All my clanmates are together... just waiting to reopen our clan JRA... just for JK2


Chicago Cubs... #1
B0MBER II is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2002, 10:57 PM   #13
Bio Warrior
 
Bio Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 331
ack! nimbus is the leader of EMW i didnt read the part about him making space outpost
Bio Warrior is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2002, 11:51 PM   #14
Syko
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 78
JED really wasn't all that difficult once u figured out everything was BACKWARDS!!! heh. I was trying to poke Q3Radiant and make a simple room and i was going insane...

I'm used to worldcraft for Half-Life where it looks like a generic 3d modelling app, with 4 viewports: left, top, front, and 3d. q3radiant doesn't look the same and it confuses the hell out of me. but yeah, JKII will probly use something similar since it uses the Q3A engine.

Actually...here's a random question. What do you think the JKII file formats will be like? I mean will they be the same as Q3A? Will quake3 models work in JKII, and the same with levels, or what?

-Syko
Syko is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2002, 12:00 AM   #15
SaberPro
00 Agent
 
SaberPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Death Star III
Posts: 1,082
Raven and LucasArts said that they will release programs to edit JO after the release of the game or something...bottomline is that they will publish a program just for mods.


SaberPro
Alliance of the Jedi (AOJ)
ZoneFriend = AOJ_SaberPro

"The Force is with you young Skywalker...but you are not a Jedi yet!" - Darth Vader
SaberPro is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2002, 12:20 AM   #16
Bio Warrior
 
Bio Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 331
they said they were going to release it for download on the day the game is released in the stores
Bio Warrior is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2002, 12:52 AM   #17
Cyclone
 
Cyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Wash DC
Posts: 96
Mapping is hard to learn at first, but if you have access to good tutorials, it can be learned quickly. If you are serious about mapping for JKII. I would highly recommend cutting your teeth by making a Q3 map. (I assume you have Q3 don't we all?)

I pick Q3 because there are a lot tutorials and support available for it. If you have more courage you can go with Elite Force mapping since it is tuned into Raven's niche more.

You may as well start with GTRadient or some other Radient derived varient. It has become the Standard for Q3 engined games. The skills you learn will directly pass over to JKII mapping.

I really don't think that Raven will release the mapping tools the day the software is released. Past experience for me has been that they wait until their first patch is released before making the tools public. This is so that the source code used by mod makers has the bugs worked out before its released. Its a smart decision on their part.

You can make a map for JKII right now if you want. You won't be able to use the textures until the game is released though. But you can at least get a head start with making the map using Q3 textures and then retexture it when the JKII is out and then just extract the JKII textures from its pk3 and apply it to your map. We will also need to wait and find out what the names of the entities are (weapons, health kits, etc..) before you can put them into your map. Things like info_player_start will likely remain the same as they where in Q3, but others will be unique to JKII.

Also about Models being xferred from Q3 to JKII. I don't think that they will be compatible. This is considering how Raven uses their Ghoul2 model engine. Plus the Q3 models don't have the animations for the Light Sabers, so its not apples to apples here.

Cyclone
Cyclone is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2002, 12:06 PM   #18
B0MBER II
 
B0MBER II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Geneva, Illinois
Posts: 372
I don't have Q3A


Chicago Cubs... #1
B0MBER II is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2002, 07:34 PM   #19
StormHammer
Fallen Jedi
 
StormHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Outer spiral arm of the galaxy
Posts: 5,437
10 year veteran! 
Welcome to the forums, BOMBER II. Hope you're enjoying your stay. Here you go...

*hands over a chocolate Jedi Medallion*

I also don't have Q3A...well, I've got the demo, but that doesn't really count.

I haven't found the time to even look at the editing tools for Elite Force...though I downloaded them a while ago. The only maps I ever created were for Doom (never made public), so I'm very rusty...

Guess I'll have to do some reading up...and experimenting...because JKII will be one of the few games I'll want to make things for, if I ever find the time.
StormHammer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2002, 07:42 PM   #20
B0MBER II
 
B0MBER II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Geneva, Illinois
Posts: 372
Thx StormHammer


*eats Medallion*

I always wanted to make a saber training level.. a simple level where you fight up top on a ledge above lava ... blah



I can't wait for this game


Chicago Cubs... #1
B0MBER II is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2002, 08:56 PM   #21
MikeC
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 593
Nobody's given me a chocolate Jedi medallion.

Once you get the hang of it Jed is quite easy. Hell, the newest version even supports 16 bit textures! For those of you that have been away from JK for a while, it was descovered about a year ago that 16 bit textures work in JK, but only for people with 3d video cards (and even then some of the old ones didn't work).

MikeC is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > Editing Questions

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:15 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.