lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: JK Level Converter
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-10-2002, 04:49 PM   #1
Saient
 
Saient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London UK
Posts: 108
JK Level Converter

I just noticed the news on jkii.net about a level converter that will convert old JK maps into quake3 then into JK2 maps.

and people are getting excited cause they won't have to learn another level editing program.. "yay lets have maps that look as sh1t as JK maps" well maybe its just me but I think its a bad idea. a de-evolution on the maps that might get made.

so if any old school JK mappers are out there happy that they don't have to learn a new map editor please learn radiant
Its more powerful easier and your maps won't look dated.

it might be fun to play the old JK maps in JK2 but I hope the editing scene for JK2 isn't overrun by JK mappers converting their stuff.
Saient is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-10-2002, 05:57 PM   #2
Jolts
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
old levels need to stay in the past, why people wouldn't want new levels or the chance of making something better confuses me and then makes me cry.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-11-2002, 10:21 AM   #3
Rogue15
Reconnaissance Specialist
 
Rogue15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Kaas City
Posts: 18,677
Current Game: The Old Republic
Roleplayer 10 year veteran! 
I'm going to convert only a few of the levels i made. only one actually, and it's not even finished yet. would be nice to add bots to it....


Battle is a pure form of expression. It is heart and discipline, reduced to movement and motion. In battle, the words are swept away, giving way to actions-- mercy, sacrifice, anger, fear. These are pure moments of expression.
Rogue15 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-11-2002, 11:09 AM   #4
BlackDragon
 
BlackDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 143
Due respect for Droid [sp?] for making the plugin tho. As long as people don't just import the levels and leave them at that without adding any of the nice little features that the Q3 engine can do (curves, shaders err... curves!) then there's just no point.

So my word to the masses who are going to do this is:

Learn Radiant! Don't leave the levels as they are!

and

Learn Radiant! Don't just keep editing JK levels with JED and importing them.

Dragon - who thinks that building levels out of brushes for Q3 is soooo much easier than carving levels for JK.
BlackDragon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2002, 09:52 AM   #5
DSettahr
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: RIT
Posts: 45
http://forums.massassi.net/html/Forum5/HTML/007132.html

By looking at the pics, I can say that Droid's method, while it will work, looks to be really inefficient. It will work, but I can tell you that editors will still have to do a lot (and I mean a lot, so much that it almost isn't even worth it) of fine tuning in JO's editor before the level can be released. I would think that Droid's plugin could only be useful for converting a JK level that was previously constructed and released. I would not recommend using it as a way to not learn Quake editing, i.e. using JED to make JO levels.


You underestimate the power of the Darkside...

DSettahr's Homepage
The Jedi's Saber
DSettahr is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2002, 12:51 PM   #6
Mormegil
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 31
Of course not. You'd have to be insane. The interest in the plug-in is for recreating decent JK maps. No half-serious editor is going to keep using JED for JO. Unless there's a Jed2
Mormegil is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2002, 03:01 PM   #7
DSettahr
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: RIT
Posts: 45
Unfortunately it seems as if the guy who was working on JED has just about disapeered. Its been months since the last update, and the update before that came out like a year previously.


You underestimate the power of the Darkside...

DSettahr's Homepage
The Jedi's Saber
DSettahr is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-16-2002, 12:58 PM   #8
dr0id
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 4
Quote:
I would think that Droid's plugin could only be useful for converting a JK level that was previously constructed and released.
Bullseye!

Quote:
I would not recommend using it as a way to not learn Quake editing, i.e. using JED to make JO levels.
Me neither . This has never been the intention of the plugin.
dr0id is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-20-2002, 05:39 PM   #9
Saber_Trails
 
Saber_Trails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: HELL
Posts: 106
what? are you crazy? at least remake nar shadda and bespin
bespin was the ultimate level yes they looked crappy so someone remake it from scratch that way it will look awesome


-Saber_Trails, elite saber duelist, old school JKer, Jedi Master
Saber_Trails is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > General Editing > JK Level Converter

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:09 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.