lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Sam and Max sound
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-21-2002, 10:56 AM   #1
ludde
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5
Sam and Max sound

Okay, this is the thing. I own the Lucasarts archives vol. 1 but have lost (I know, you can shoot me later) the Sam & Max CD that came with it (I will try to avoid hell because of this big sin as much as I can). So therefore, I bought a substitute, the Sam & Max/Day of the tentacle CD that is now in stores. The thing is:

I can run the game from my computer. I got windows XP and a second harddrive with windows 98. The game runs great and does not give any error messages or anything. But I cannot in ANY way get to the main menu in the game and start the sound card selection program or get any other options what so ever and therefore not get ANY sound.

Anyone knows what I should do? I have run the game in my windows versions, dos prompt and restarted the win98 in dos but the game simply starts without any menu at all. There is a lot of soundblaster files within the directory so there should be some way to get to them.

The thing with the sound card setup is that the program "digmuse" cannot be opened. There is also some program named "samuse" in the directory that I guess could be used in some way but I am not to good at DOS. It is said in the manual that the first time I started the game I would automatically get to sound setup but that has not happened. Please help me! I really want to play this game (again)! I tried to do a bootdisk but when I used that I cannot access my CD-ROM drive (D.
ludde is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-21-2002, 10:59 AM   #2
Metallus
Episodic!
 
Metallus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: California, USA
Posts: 3,370
Old News! LFN Staff Member Notable contributor Forum Veteran 
Try this program when running WindowsXP. I haven't used it, since I don't have an NT-based operating system, but I've heard it works well.


Guy.
Metallus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-21-2002, 11:07 AM   #3
ludde
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5
Cannot run any setup

But can't somebody help me with the setup problem. I simply can't run the setup for the game. There is no file on the whole CD which can be run so I can setup the sound.
ludde is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-21-2002, 11:22 AM   #4
Metallus
Episodic!
 
Metallus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: California, USA
Posts: 3,370
Old News! LFN Staff Member Notable contributor Forum Veteran 
I know. The setup file won't work in any of the latest Windows systems without some help. And even if you do manage to get the setup file to run, it might not mean that sound will work.


Guy.
Metallus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-21-2002, 11:42 AM   #5
ludde
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5
Allright!!!

Thanks alot for the tip about the "easy programme" I feel like I am almost near a solution. However, the game still got a really bad digital sound. How the hell do I solve this? I know I got SB 16 and I know I got port 220. But the sound still sucks. The music works fine however.
ludde is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-21-2002, 12:35 PM   #6
Erwin_Br
Swinging!
 
Erwin_Br's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The Netherlands.
Posts: 321
LFN Staff Member 
You're right. I'm also running Windows XP and using VDMS (that's the name of the program which is used in Benny's 'LEC Quick and Easy').

While many games work fine, including DOTT, Sam and Max still has this one problem: sound is played very s..l..o..w (the bitrate isn't working properly) which causes all the voices to sound very low and weird as you said.

*sob* WHY does this only happen with SnM?

--Erwin


Visit Adventure Developers! - Your hub for independent and hobbyist adventure development.
Erwin_Br is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-21-2002, 01:29 PM   #7
ludde
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5
Bitrate

So how do you get the bitrate to run properly?
ludde is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-22-2002, 05:30 PM   #8
ludde
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5
Final step

At least, I think (and sincerely HOPE) it is the final step. I want to thank the person who made this program since tears fills my eyes. I can play all of my old Lucasarts games (except the once I have not bought back yet.) However, there is still a problem with Sam and Max. The sound sound VERY slow. I have no idea how to fix the bitrare. I also tried ScummVM and there is the opposite problem. There is voice but no music. Hiwever, this program is much better as there is no graphical glitches (at least not what I have seen yet). However, there got to be way to get the sound to be right. But how? Please, help me, and all other Sam and Max players who cannot get sound because of these unfortunate circumstances (or simply lack of technical knowledge.).
ludde is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-22-2002, 08:10 PM   #9
SyntheticGerbil
Pasta Master
 
SyntheticGerbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Underwater
Posts: 2,241
Heard it before... Just pay careful attention to everyone's advice, and see if you can figure out how to use DOS properly. If you have anything above Win98, you might be screwed, but that's not always the case, so I hear.
SyntheticGerbil is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2002, 07:32 PM   #10
voigtan
 
voigtan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3
I have problems with all my Lucas games... I have like sound for 4 secs every time.. then he gets quiet... Im using SB live 128 and it seams that it dos only have a IRQ and no Buffer.... or does it?
I have never been good installing "old" games... even its the most fun... love all the games I got.. but now I cant play them.. Im using XP and tried the "program" listed above.. plz help me


It works now.. downloaded the other program in the Readme file =)

Last edited by voigtan; 04-06-2002 at 08:09 PM.
voigtan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2002, 07:40 AM   #11
voigtan
 
voigtan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3
Indiana Jones works fine.. but I tried Sam and Max now.. and sound is very very slow... any one that have fixed this?
voigtan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-24-2002, 04:39 PM   #12
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
This is fixed in the latest version of Quick And Easy (3.0)
If you have problems, read the comments on mojo or the technical forums on mojo, since I will have undoubtedly answered the question there already (I also dont tend to visit this forum much)

http://www.mixnmojo.com/php/news/cat...=developernews

There are (supposedly) a few problems with this version
Someone said that :
A) I could not play highway surfin.
B) The music stopped in Conroy Bumpus floor show solo.

Not sure if this is true as I havent got the time to play it through and find out.

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Sam And Max.Net > Sam & Max Craziness > Hints, Tips & Troubleshooting > Sam and Max sound

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:25 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.