lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Lockup when loading saved games
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-28-2002, 07:53 PM   #1
stave_jon
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1
Lockup when loading saved games

Anyone having this problem: I can start a new game fine, I can save my games fine, but when I try to load a saved game, it either locks solid or throws me back to the dekstop. There is no error message. When it locks up, a 640x480 mouse cursor appears, and when it throws me back to the desktop, the desktop is extremely bright.

Here are my specs:

ASUS P2BF MOBO
Pentium II 400
Soundblaster Live! - latest Win98 driver
Voodoo 3 - driver 1.07.00 (4.12.01.0666) (latest offical 3Dfx driver)
256 Megs RAM
2 gigs free Hard Disk space
Win 98 SE
Direct X 8.1

I'm not overclocking anything in the system, and I've tried turning down all the video and sound settings as low as possible. I've also tried disabling the GL Extensions from within the game setup.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Stave_jon
stave_jon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-11-2002, 02:42 PM   #2
AFstud
 
AFstud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 3
Same problem here

I have near the same specs as you, except I have a P3 633 and WinME, but everything else, including the voodoo card is the same. This game takes a lil while to load up 30sec-1 min, but saves are fine. But when I want to load a saved game when I die, it starts to load up and freezes and the 1/4 mark and sits there. I have to switch off the computer because it wont let me out. My Geforce 3 is arriving in the mail today, hopefully that will clear it up, if not I guess I better not die


"Fatherhood isn't easy like Motherhood, but I wouldn't trade it for anything in the world, except for some Mag wheels, oh man, that would be sweet" -Homer Simpson
AFstud is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-11-2002, 05:35 PM   #3
BongSmoke
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2
same problem here but i have an ATI card
BongSmoke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-12-2002, 11:06 AM   #4
AFstud
 
AFstud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 3
Problem fixed

Well yesterday I got my geforce 3 in the mail and put it in. I re-installed Jedi Knight 2, got the latest drivers from nVidia, and DirectX 8.1. The game was then freezing on me about every 20-30 min or so, but once I turned off GL Extensions, the games has worked perfectly (I still cant tell what turning it off did, still lools the same)


"Fatherhood isn't easy like Motherhood, but I wouldn't trade it for anything in the world, except for some Mag wheels, oh man, that would be sweet" -Homer Simpson
AFstud is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Help Center > Technical Help > Lockup when loading saved games

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:58 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.