lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Editing Bots?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-29-2002, 12:11 PM   #1
zimmer78
 
zimmer78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 3
Exclamation Editing Bots?

Anyone know how to edit bots? I've read they each have special skills and what not. It would eb cool to customize them.


****ANAKIN SOLO MUST LIVE****
zimmer78 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-29-2002, 04:53 PM   #2
UniKorn
Mysterious Mapper
 
UniKorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,282
You can modify the ai files once the sdk is released.


Mapcenter:
http://www.map-center.com
UniKorn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 01:49 PM   #3
DeTRiTiC-iQ
 
DeTRiTiC-iQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: England
Posts: 540
A bit of Info

I've had a look through the resources, the bot stuff seems pretty simple to modify, there is one file with a list of all the bots, what model they use, what personality etc. Then there is a personality file for each bot which has their chat lines, responses to different situations etc. This is all in ascii format so is very easy to edit.
DeTRiTiC-iQ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-31-2002, 07:51 PM   #4
aVENGER
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 7
Sp ai for mp?

Would it be possible to use the sp ai for certain characters, such as the reborn, desann, etc, for the corresponding bots in mp? I found that playing against the sp ai was more enjoyable than the regular bots.
aVENGER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 12:23 PM   #5
zimmer78
 
zimmer78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 3
Shameless Bump

I admit, I'm a relative retard when it comes to computer program editting.... so some of these helpful hints in english would be appreciated :-)


****ANAKIN SOLO MUST LIVE****
zimmer78 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 05:32 PM   #6
UniKorn
Mysterious Mapper
 
UniKorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,282
Re: A bit of Info

Quote:
Originally posted by DeTRiTiC-iQ
I've had a look through the resources, the bot stuff seems pretty simple to modify, there is one file with a list of all the bots, what model they use, what personality etc. Then there is a personality file for each bot which has their chat lines, responses to different situations etc. This is all in ascii format so is very easy to edit.
That stuff is easy, but the behavior of the bots : force powers they use etcetera can only be changed by changing the real code of the game. And that can only be done when the sdk is released


Mapcenter:
http://www.map-center.com
UniKorn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 09:06 PM   #7
zimmer78
 
zimmer78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 3
This may sound stupid, but........

What is sdk


****ANAKIN SOLO MUST LIVE****
zimmer78 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 03:01 AM   #8
UniKorn
Mysterious Mapper
 
UniKorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,282
SDK : Software Development Kit : The Source code for multiplayer.


Mapcenter:
http://www.map-center.com
UniKorn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 10:00 AM   #9
Desslock
 
Desslock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 436
You can edit a bot's personality (force power usage and such) to where, for example, Luke is a Sith Lord like Desann, but other than that, not until the SDK is released.
Desslock is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 12:16 PM   #10
Prophet
 
Prophet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 118
In order to add a bot, DO NOT MODIFY BOTS.TXT. I've seen a couple of bots which do this, and while it works, it creates incompatable bots, which leads to all sorts of questions asking why a bot won't show up. For example, if you were creating a vader bot, create a text file and rename it vader.bot. Place this text file in the scripts directory of you base directory, NOT botfiles (and so also in the scripts directory in the pk3). This text file should contain something similar:

{
name "Vader"
model vader
color1 0
personality /botfiles/Vader.jkb
}

name is the in-game name of the bot. model is the name of the direcory of the bot model. color1 is lightsaber color. 0 is red, 4 is blue, 3 is green, 5 is purple, and orange and yellow are 1 and 2, tho i cant remmeber which. personality is the bot personality file you created for this bot. You can include the details of more than one bot in a .bot script, but i find it easier to work this way. Hope this helps people and reduces incompatable bots


www.apocent.com
Prophet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2002, 01:07 AM   #11
aVENGER
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 7
So for the bot script, can you just use the sp ai for the reborn or other jedi? Or is there a difference? The sp bot ai would be cool to have for Duel. However, can the sp bots deal with multiple enemies? In the game they only deal with you . . .

Also, if it was possible to use the sp ai in mp, why wouldn't Raven just done that to begin with?
aVENGER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2002, 03:14 AM   #12
patchx
 
patchx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: fiery depths of hell sticking my pitch fork thru the guy who voiced jar jar's head
Posts: 637
i was checking out the ai files for Sp and bots and i think there really different
there seems to be values in each of them that arent in the other for example and "evasion" value in SP that isnt in MP bots

which sux because all i wanna do really is stop the bots from running away so much.

you can alter there force power setup pretty easily though

-patch


-patch
patchx is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > General Editing > Editing Bots?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:04 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.