lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Double Bladed Saber a reality?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-30-2002, 12:38 AM   #1
GonkH8er
192.168.0.1337
 
GonkH8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,927
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Double Bladed Saber a reality?

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

.
Toshiya from Raven posted this in the Maul Skin Thread

Quote:
Yes. It would sure be something if there happened to be a double saber easter egg in multiplayer or something!
^_^


and then a few posts later, this was posted...

(Image removed by zX)

Anyone know anything about it? found it? can confirm it?


GonkH8er-
Ian@lfnetwork.com
JediKnight.net JediKnightII.net
GonkH8er is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 12:49 AM   #2
UsEr-X-
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 175
Some lamer prolly made it in photoshop.

UsEr-X-
UsEr-X- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 12:53 AM   #3
Woad
 
Woad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Nashville
Posts: 301
Do we know what the source of that pic is?

I mean where the poster came across it?


En Guarde!

Saorsa gu brath!
Woad is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 12:55 AM   #4
Kalishnikov
 
Kalishnikov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 38
Try Here.
Kalishnikov is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 12:59 AM   #5
Hobo-wan[RXz]
Banned
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 42
Apparently some guy looked through the resource files in his JK2 directory and said there was no double bladed lightsaber in them.

Thus, no double bladed lightsaber period.

-Hobo
[RXz]
Hobo-wan[RXz] is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 01:06 AM   #6
Slipped
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1
Its a reality guys, but cheats must be enabled. He showed me.
Slipped is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 01:08 AM   #7
JEDIcloud
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 11
so how does it work? (controls?)
JEDIcloud is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 01:13 AM   #8
UsEr-X-
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 175
I think its photoshop, if you read some of the posts on that page posted above, you'll see that they are all babbling retards who don't know what they are talking about lol!

UsEr-X-
UsEr-X- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 01:38 AM   #9
Dalmuti
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3
It must be true since I read it first on the Something Awful boards, land of all that is truthful and just.
Dalmuti is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 03:06 AM   #10
pinkpanther718
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 123
Why would a Raven person say something like that? They tend to not put ideas in our heads unless there have a good reason.
pinkpanther718 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 03:13 AM   #11
TigZy
 
TigZy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally posted by pinkpanther718
Why would a Raven person say something like that? They tend to not put ideas in our heads unless there have a good reason.
Yes..... all those in favour of kidnapping changkahn and interrogating him say aye.


eets cumen, cap'n!
TigZy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 03:21 AM   #12
Toshiya[RAVEN]
Raven Software
 
Toshiya[RAVEN]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 8
Alright, really, it's nothing to get too excited about. It does exist and it's just a silly cheat (meaning, works only on servers with cheats enabled) I whipped up one afternoon in about 15 minutes. I thought it might be nice to toy around with, and just to look at, because it's pretty.

So there's that. As for actually activating it, if I said then no one would have the fun of trying to track it down. And that's what hidden surprises are all about! ^_^
Toshiya[RAVEN] is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 03:21 AM   #13
GonkH8er
192.168.0.1337
 
GonkH8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,927
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
I just forced it out of Toshiya....


It's real

here's what he said

Quote:
Alright, it is indeed a cheat. It of course only works when the server has cheats enabled, and it's just a simple buggy thing I whipped up in like 15 minutes one afternoon after work because I thought it would be nice to play around with.

As to how it's activated.. I leave that to everyone else to figure out. ^_^


GonkH8er-
Ian@lfnetwork.com
JediKnight.net JediKnightII.net
GonkH8er is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 03:23 AM   #14
Toshiya[RAVEN]
Raven Software
 
Toshiya[RAVEN]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 8
The timing!
Toshiya[RAVEN] is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 03:24 AM   #15
GonkH8er
192.168.0.1337
 
GonkH8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,927
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
FINE THEN! reply at the same time as me! see if i care


GonkH8er-
Ian@lfnetwork.com
JediKnight.net JediKnightII.net
GonkH8er is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 03:33 AM   #16
Kalishnikov
 
Kalishnikov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 38
Never mind, devmap worked. Wish sv_cheats could still be used though.

Last edited by Kalishnikov; 03-30-2002 at 03:54 AM.
Kalishnikov is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 03:35 AM   #17
Ulic Quel Droma
Junior Member
 
Ulic Quel Droma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 352
lol, thats funny


To know the light, You must see the dark.
Ulic Quel Droma is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 03:57 AM   #18
pinkpanther718
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 123
So now all we have to do is uncover the command for it? Anyone know if it is fully functional, meanning both blades colide and such?
pinkpanther718 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 04:02 AM   #19
Ron1jed
 
Ron1jed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 122
(edit-Gonk- no personal attacks ron. that was uncalled for. it may very well collide and do damage. you dont know that and neither do we, so he has every right to propose the idea. calm down)

the guy JUST said it was something that he whipped up in 15 mintues and not put in the game. I'm sure the other blade wont' do any damage.


UT is the best game ever made. CAN JK 2 beat it?
Ron1jed is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 04:04 AM   #20
GlobuleSO
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 24
I don't know, but I'd bet money that all the double-saber "cheat" is is a different model for the default saber - meaning it looks different, but the other end has no collision code or anything. I'm sure it took the Raven guys long enough just to get the basic saber working OK...
GlobuleSO is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 04:11 AM   #21
Havikar
 
Havikar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 50
if you bothered to look at the raven faq thing they put out they say how to active cheats. here is what it said.

2. How do I enable the cheats in Jedi Outcast?

Bring down the console and type "HelpUsObi 1" (minus the quotes/it is case sensitive) and press ENTER. This is the Quake III
equivalent of sv_cheats 1, which doesn't work in Jedi Outcast. You can also type devmap <mapname> to load a specific map
and have the cheats enabled once the map loads.
Havikar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 04:13 AM   #22
Ron1jed
 
Ron1jed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 122
the guy spent 15 minutes. he didnt' care. he did it just to see if it would work.


I really don't see any hopes of it working.


UT is the best game ever made. CAN JK 2 beat it?
Ron1jed is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 04:16 AM   #23
GB_StormTrooper
 
GB_StormTrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posts: 831
I hope lucasarts makes a patch for a double bladed lightsaber for mulitplayer, that would be so awesome


Mankind must put an end to war, before war puts an end to mankind-J.F.K
GB_StormTrooper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 04:17 AM   #24
TigZy
 
TigZy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 94
Could we perhaps reserve naysaying for WHEN the code is found and WHEN people have used it? It makes no sense being negative about the whole thing when we really don't know what it's like.


eets cumen, cap'n!
TigZy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 04:22 AM   #25
JaNg0
 
JaNg0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In your Nightmares
Posts: 70
I'm no genius in the codes or anything.. But if you think there is no collision code or whatever would the modding community beable to tweak it so it would work?

I have no idea but it's just a question...




JaNg0 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 04:25 AM   #26
Maven
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 12
damnit ive been sitting in devmap mode throwing all sorts of commands at the game to get duel sabers and no luck


****

Maven
Maven is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 04:30 AM   #27
Saient
 
Saient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London UK
Posts: 108
me too.. all the commands I can think of and ones that I make up Im throwing into the console... keep trying someones bound to find out soon
Saient is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 04:34 AM   #28
Maven
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 12
im thinking its a model command

ie

model luke..... switches to lukes model

model reborn switches to reborn model

this to me seems most logical


Maven
Maven is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 04:34 AM   #29
Valdarious
 
Valdarious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 481
Been trying the same thing, give all gives you all weapons and like 999 ammo for everything but no dual saber. I have extracted the pk3's and routed through them to no avail either. He stumped me on this one. "cmdlist" doesnt show anything unusual.
Valdarious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 04:36 AM   #30
Darksider
 
Darksider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 344
how do you enable cheats on a server? id like to try and crack this code
Darksider is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 04:39 AM   #31
Darksider
 
Darksider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 344
im thinking its going to be some obscure episode 1 reference (i mean the enable cheats is HelpUsObi 1 so it fits)

wipethemoutallofthem
atlastwewillhaverevenge
isenseadisturbanceintheforce
atlastwewillrevealourselvetothejedi

OOOOOH has anyone tried the original fake codes from dark forces?? cant remember them all now (like falalalalalalalala) but they would also seem likely candidates
Darksider is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 04:39 AM   #32
Valdarious
 
Valdarious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 481
start a server the way you want ie:level... ffa, whatever, then bring down console and type "devmap ffa_bespin(or whatever map) and it will load. Or just from the start do the devmap thing
Valdarious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 04:41 AM   #33
Valdarious
 
Valdarious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 481
Not sure how you are getting this HelpUsObi thing to work, I type it and it says unknown command, devmap works though.
Valdarious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 04:45 AM   #34
Ron1jed
 
Ron1jed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 122
haha

I remeber the biggest easter egg of all time was the cloud city and fighitng darth vader. VERY L33t!


UT is the best game ever made. CAN JK 2 beat it?
Ron1jed is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 04:47 AM   #35
Kalishnikov
 
Kalishnikov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 38
I managed to find HelpUsObi in the jk2gamex86.dll as a string using a hex editor. There were also plenty of console commands in jk2mp.exe, but since I'm not familiar with the Episode 1 quotes, I don't know what to search for.
Kalishnikov is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 04:49 AM   #36
Saient
 
Saient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London UK
Posts: 108
Maybe its got something to do with the saber attack cycle command


saberattackcycle or something like that.

i dunno Im stumped too
Saient is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 04:59 AM   #37
Valdarious
 
Valdarious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 481
I got the command "testmodel" to work with different saber handles but it doesnt let me pick them up, just makes them float above me with no blade. I also cant find an md3 file that looks anything like a dual saber handle.
Valdarious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 05:02 AM   #38
Darksider
 
Darksider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 344
havent figured it out yet =(
Darksider is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 05:15 AM   #39
jedialphaknight
Banned
 
jedialphaknight's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 211
well if you guys think about it he said he only spent 15 minutes on it just fooling aroudn so it can't really be that good it prolly just looks cool to hold but he probably if he says 15 minutes, didn't make all the character animations or anything I mean there would have to be a second set completely and how WOULD that work in combat...............would be a hell of a surprise if it was a full blown double saber tho with animations and all but I doubt it
jedialphaknight is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2002, 05:18 AM   #40
Valdarious
 
Valdarious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 481
I know but its just the fact of actualy finding it that intrigues me, heh, dont know why.
Valdarious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > Double Bladed Saber a reality?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:28 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.