lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: How To Make New Multiplayer Skins (without replacing current ones - UPDATED)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-01-2002, 02:54 PM   #1
ChangKhan[RAVEN]
Raven Software
 
ChangKhan[RAVEN]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 552
How To Make New Multiplayer Skins (without replacing current ones)

Here's what you do (this is a bit longwinded, but it's not really that complicated, I'm just being very thorough)...

1) First thing you may want to do is extract the original model and skins from our assets0.pk3 file. You will find this file in the "base" directory (look where you installed the game - there should be a "base" dir in the GameData directory). Open that file with WinZip (WinZip can open it) and go down the list until you find all the files in the directory for the model you want to modify. All models are in models/players (sort by "path"). So, for example, Lando is in models/players/lando. Select all the files in that directory and extract them into your "base" directory. When you extract make sure that you have the "use folder names" option checked. You should now have a "models" directory inside the "base" dir, a "players" dir in the the "models" dir, and inside "players" you should see the dir of the model you extracted (in this example, "lando").

2) In that folder, you will find a text file called model_default.skin. This is the file that tells the game what image files to apply to each part (surface - collection of polys) of the model. Copy this and rename it to use your new skin name (using the example "solo", for instance: model_default_solo.skin). Note that the "default" MUST be in the skin file's name or the game will not recognize it as a selectable skin.

3) Now open up the .jpg and .tga files in that directory and modify whichever ones you want to, then save them out *under a different name*. When you do, find the name of the image file you modified in the new .skin file you copied and replace the name of the original image file with the name of the new one you just saved. (When we release the model viewer, you'll be able to preview your work).

4) Now you have a .skin file that points to the new image files. All you have to do now is make your "icon" image. This is the small, square picture that shows up in the menu when you're browsing what skin to use (also shows up in-game on the HUD in certain circumstances). You will need to make a new one for your new skin. Open up the original for reference, make your new one and save it back out with a new name, following the name renaming guidelines as the .skin file... so the original icon is called icon_default.jpg, save your new one as icon_default_solo.jpg (again, using "solo" as the example).

5) Now you're done! It will work in the game on your computer (try it out), now you just need to put it together for other people to see. You need to zip it up into a .pk3 file like the others in the "base" dir. Now, since you want to make sure the .zip file remembers the path to each file (remember how when you extracted files into the "base" dir, it created all the right subdirectories?), you have to add the files to the .zip file from a dir higher then "models" and you must add using "wildcards" (don't worry, I'm about to explain and walk you through it). The best way I've found to do this is to make a new directory in "GameData" called "mods" (or whatever you want to call it). This acts as a substitute "base" dir for our current purpose of zipping up your work. Copy the "models" folder into this new folder (if you have more than one skin you've done, be sure the copied "players" dir only has the model you just modified). Now, go back up to your "mods"(or whatever you named it) dir and create a new .zip file. Open it up and hit the "Add" button to add files. Browse to the "mods" directory you just made and make sure that "include subfolders" is checked. Then click on "Add With Wildcards". This will add all the files you just made and include the folder/directory path to them (you should be able to verify this when you're done adding and look at the file list in the .zip file). Make sure the .zip file only contains the new files you made (not, for example, the original image files), this way you keep your filesize down and don't accidently overwrite other people's files. Now save and exit WinZip, and rename the file to whatever you want and change the extension from "zip" to "pk3".

You're done! Upload the file somewhere and share the goodness!


Michael Chang Gummelt
Game Programmer
Jedi Academy
Raven Software
ChangKhan[RAVEN] is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 03:03 PM   #2
Prophet
 
Prophet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 118
Chang, I've been itching to make skins since I got the game, but so far haven't because of lack of a model viewer. I downlaoded the SoF2 viewer today to see if it would work with JK2, but so far I haven't had any luck. Is it possible to get it to work with JKII, and if so, how?


www.apocent.com
Prophet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 03:15 PM   #3
Prophet
 
Prophet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 118
ah well, thats good to know
dont suppose you could provide any information on the modelling/animation of skins? I'm assuming the _humanoid.gla is the animation file for humanoid models. Will there be a glm importer/exporter? And how complex would it be to attach the default animations to a custom model (I have skinning/modelling experience but no animation)?


www.apocent.com
Prophet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 03:33 PM   #4
Prophet
 
Prophet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 118
followed your above instructions, and they do work. now I can get to work on some skinning


www.apocent.com
Prophet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 05:15 PM   #5
ChangKhan[RAVEN]
Raven Software
 
ChangKhan[RAVEN]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally posted by Prophet
ah well, thats good to know
dont suppose you could provide any information on the modelling/animation of skins? I'm assuming the _humanoid.gla is the animation file for humanoid models. Will there be a glm importer/exporter? And how complex would it be to attach the default animations to a custom model (I have skinning/modelling experience but no animation)?
If you have MAX, we will be releasing a plug-in/exporter for MAX and our ghoul2 compiler that should allow you to make custom .glm meshes (or modify ours) and apply them to our animation skeleton (the _humanoid.gla file)


Michael Chang Gummelt
Game Programmer
Jedi Academy
Raven Software
ChangKhan[RAVEN] is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 05:41 PM   #6
ChangKhan[RAVEN]
Raven Software
 
ChangKhan[RAVEN]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 552
How to get the SoF2 ModView to work with JK2

Quote:
Originally posted by Prophet
Chang, I've been itching to make skins since I got the game, but so far haven't because of lack of a model viewer. I downlaoded the SoF2 viewer today to see if it would work with JK2, but so far I haven't had any luck. Is it possible to get it to work with JKII, and if so, how?
NOTE: for clarity, deleted some previous posts asking about this

You can get it to work, here's how (NOTE: when our tools come out sometime in the next week, use those instead):

Extract the _humanoid.gla and animation.cfg following the same instructions as above (extract into the GameData/base folder and the files should appear in the directory: GameData/base/models/players/_humanoid).

Extract the models.shader file using the above instructions (extract into GameData/base. the file should appear in the dir: GameData/base/shaders).

Extract any models/players directories you want to view/modify (see above instructions).

Open ModView. Go to open a file and browse to the .glm file in the GameData/base/models/players directory of the model you want to view.

Voila!

PS: for those of you looking for the SoF Skinning Contest download (that includes ModView), get it here


Michael Chang Gummelt
Game Programmer
Jedi Academy
Raven Software
ChangKhan[RAVEN] is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 05:45 PM   #7
Holiday
 
Holiday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 11
thanks for the skin tut Chang....i'll post a pic when my skin is ready

-Holiday

Holiday is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 06:00 PM   #8
jipe
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 190
Quote:
NOTE: when our tools come out sometime in the next week, use those instead
Can I hug you? No, wait - will you marry me?
jipe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 06:11 PM   #9
ChangKhan[RAVEN]
Raven Software
 
ChangKhan[RAVEN]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally posted by jipe


Can I hug you? No, wait - will you marry me?
Sorry, I'm taken:


And, no, we don't do threesomes.


Michael Chang Gummelt
Game Programmer
Jedi Academy
Raven Software
ChangKhan[RAVEN] is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 06:26 PM   #10
ZeroXcape
Another Grim Jedi
 
ZeroXcape's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jul 1982
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 755
LFN Staff Member 
Are we showing off limo pictures?

( almost three years ago )



ZeroXcape

"Run, you pigeons! It's Robert Frost!"
ZeroXcape is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 06:49 PM   #11
GRIMLOCK
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Posts: 122
thats what i really enjoy about raven
u guys are social with the players
not even Verant has a nice bond with its players like u guys (let alone (does any other company) give out hints and tips for free)
anywho

will there be a GMax plug in for those of us using that?
GRIMLOCK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 07:16 PM   #12
gauss
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 4
hurray!

i am so very happy that Raven:

1.) max tools for JK2 (i know that they do a lot of work in Softimage)
2.)going to release said tools
3.)also, for making the brilliant game.


haven't finished playing it by a long sight, but the light saber stuff has the highest 'wow' factor of any game i've played since max payne. and i loooved max payne. so, thanks for the heads up, back to working on some meshes now...


http://www.planetquake.com/polycount/cottages/gauss/
gauss is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 07:36 PM   #13
Phaedrus
 
Phaedrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 50
I searched the folder and there is no PK0.pk3 file. I have assests1 and assests0 and that's it.

I searched m comp for a PK0.pk3 file and the only place it turned up was in my Q3A demo.

Help... please.
Phaedrus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 08:08 PM   #14
ChangKhan[RAVEN]
Raven Software
 
ChangKhan[RAVEN]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally posted by Phaedrus
I searched the folder and there is no PK0.pk3 file. I have assests1 and assests0 and that's it.

I searched m comp for a PK0.pk3 file and the only place it turned up was in my Q3A demo.

Help... please.
That's me being stupid, it's not pak0.pk3, it's assets0.pk3. Thanks for the correction, I've fixed my original post...

:/


Michael Chang Gummelt
Game Programmer
Jedi Academy
Raven Software
ChangKhan[RAVEN] is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 08:21 PM   #15
JRA_Wolf
 
JRA_Wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 176
Hey Khan, any idea on an ETA for the SDK/tools?
JRA_Wolf is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 08:43 PM   #16
jipe
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 190
Do you know how to read?

Quote:
NOTE: when our tools come out sometime in the next week, use those instead
jipe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 09:07 PM   #17
heeb
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 11
take a chill pill jipe, and try to get some perspective. maybe that post meant a day or span of days, rather than a week.


Women and children follow me out of town.
heeb is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 09:39 PM   #18
JRA_Wolf
 
JRA_Wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 176
I was looking for a specific day, k thx welcome to my ignore list bye
JRA_Wolf is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 09:49 PM   #19
Vorax
 
Vorax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Wired Lamp Studios
Posts: 280
Cool Guy Skins are good, but we want the map tools!

Any chance you could give us an exact date on the tools delivery? Even if it is just the .def file or just the compiler.

I have 1 CTF map already to go for JKII and another FFA on the final stages. I am with the Wired Lamp Studios group and we will have a bunch of stuff ready to go as soon as that compiler and .def file are out.

Yes, I know I am impatient, but I have been waiting since this game was announced With only 4 CTF maps in the game, the clans need more, and we aim to give it to them.

- Vorax
Vorax is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 10:32 PM   #20
CheshireKat
 
CheshireKat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mpls MN
Posts: 555
HMMM

Can you give us some Recomendations on Modeling Chang?

Polys, Skins and especially Upper and Lower rules. From what I can tell there's no Legs N Torso right? I hope not.

Gauss. Good to see ya here. Maybe We could hook up on a modeling project eh?
CheshireKat is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 11:10 PM   #21
Danica
 
Danica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 128
Hey Mr. Raven guy...I have a question...there are some skins/models that are in SP and not in MP...would it be okay for someone to make them availiable for MP use and credit all of the skins/models to Raven or is this just a no-no in general?
Danica is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 11:13 PM   #22
Tempered Fox
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Who knows
Posts: 5
Winzip problem

My winzip program just unpacks the .pk3 file into a bunch of files but doesn't include the sub folders and such, just a big list of all the files and no folders, can anyone tell me how to change this? i looked in all the options and I can't find anything. can someone tell me how to get the sub folders to show up?
Tempered Fox is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 11:40 PM   #23
SkataN
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 75
Get PakScape .11 best pak./pk3 explorer ive seen. Has subdirectories and everything. Really nice. Get it here:

http://www.3dap.com/eliteforce/owen/
SkataN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 11:53 PM   #24
Danica
 
Danica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 128
gah can someone help me..I'm creating a skin..but when I test it out the icon shows up just fine, but the skin comes out as kyle katarn!
Danica is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 12:25 AM   #25
jipe
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 190
Really, I thought it was fairly straightforward - "sometime in the next week" is really quite specific, especially since in the past we've been told "sometime after the game's release". Seven days is quite exact when compared to "whenever". It's probably hard to know the *exact* day of release anyways, since it depends on problems that pop up, etc... therefore a week is about as close as you can get. If ChangKhan knew the specific day he would tell us.
jipe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 01:25 AM   #26
SkyNet
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 71
Im getting some trouble my skin will show the pic in the main menu to select it but in game no where to be found... plz download it and tell me whats wrong and if u can upload it back he fixed version... http://www.tribes2maps.com/forums/sh...&threadid=2462

thanks
SkyNet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 01:52 AM   #27
NetStalker
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 27
what about making skins that are avail in Team play

like the Darthmaul skin just turns into a Reborn skin in a team match
NetStalker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 02:07 AM   #28
SkataN
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 75
Skynet im guessing your problem is where mine first laid. Do what the Raven guy said(sorry, forgot your name), make the mod directory and copy all the subdirectorys into...so should be something like :


C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\Mods\models\players\darthvader

where darth vader is the example model....

then, inside the mods directory, create a new zip file, click add,locate and select the folder which reads models and click
add with wildcards. After thats done zipping exit winzip and open your pk3 file saver (i recomend pakscape.11(
http://www.3dap.com/eliteforce/owen/) and open the zip file, then save as .pk3 put it in the base directory and your ready to go. Please Mr. Raven tell me if i mentioned something wrong here, but this worked fine for me, I sent it to my friend and it worked great for him.

(On a side note, while opening the default.skin text file, i noticed bbunch of files wich read stormtroopers.cap, I didnt mess with tthese files and it works fine)
SkataN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 02:17 AM   #29
SkyNet
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 71
plz reupload the file fixed i cant get it to work
SkyNet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 02:25 AM   #30
SkataN
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 75
All you do is select the models folder in a new winzip file after clicking "add",(not the one in your base directory, but the one in your mods folder)then click add wildcard, that will store the directories and subdirectories paths. then save as pk3
SkataN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 02:27 AM   #31
SkataN
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 75
Lol, you didn't even save it as pk3 file, ill fix it then upload it on the forum i downloaded it on
SkataN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 02:33 AM   #32
Danica
 
Danica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 128
skatan I have the same problem as sky and I tried what you said but it still shows up as kyle =(
Danica is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 02:39 AM   #33
SkyNet
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 71
skatan i got it fixed man...but one arm is missing on him!! LOL I dont know what happened.
SkyNet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 02:45 AM   #34
Danica
 
Danica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 128
how'd you fix it sky??? please heelp me!
Danica is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 02:45 AM   #35
SkataN
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 75
ill be posting it on his forums in a sec... as for now here is a picture of his model....you need to fix the arm


http://www.geocities.com/skatanii/pics


ok and your zip file is now posted on the above forum link you listed. Just put the pk3 file in your base directory and your good to go
SkataN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 02:47 AM   #36
Danica
 
Danica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 128
skatan if I send you my pk3 can you fix it for me? please?
Danica is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 02:49 AM   #37
UniKorn
Mysterious Mapper
 
UniKorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,282
Re: Skins are good, but we want the map tools!

Quote:
Originally posted by Vorax
Any chance you could give us an exact date on the tools delivery? Even if it is just the .def file or just the compiler.
- Vorax
Allready asked Mr. Hoekstra mate, we'll have to wait

UniKorn
Mapper 4 Wired Lamp Studios
http://www.wiredlampstudios.com


Mapcenter:
http://www.map-center.com
UniKorn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 02:51 AM   #38
SkataN
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 75
sure send away maxedpayne@hotmail.com
SkataN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 03:00 AM   #39
SkyNet
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 71
I dont know how to fix his arm help!
SkyNet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 03:01 AM   #40
Danica
 
Danica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 128
okay sent away skatan...
Danica is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > General Editing > How To Make New Multiplayer Skins (without replacing current ones - UPDATED)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:24 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.