lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Dud Copys May Not Be Dud Copys
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-01-2002, 09:24 PM   #1
PRAXEUM
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 76
Dud Copys May Not Be Dud Copys

FELLOW JEDI,

I posted a few days ago on this board informing you all of the tragedy of my copy of OUTCAST being a dud. I now find out from Lucasarts,(who are in the process of sending me a new copy) that in some cases, the duds, which were in search of datacab3, in some cases may be fixed another way. Technical support informed me that in a few cases that people who got the datacab3 problem overcame it by throwing it into their cdrw drives. In some cases cdroms like mine are too fast and cdrws slower speed overcame the problem. ONCE AGAIN, this is not fact, its jsut worked in a few cases, and stupid me should maybe have tried that, though it may not have worked. I should have my copy ina few days and no doubt I will be out there soon with you all.

Happy Gaming, and hope this helps someone.
PRAXEUM
PRAXEUM is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2002, 10:43 PM   #2
Chiles4
 
Chiles4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: a galaxy far, far away
Posts: 226
There have been several posts about some CD-ROM drives not being able to deal with the JK2 CD most likely due to the CDs copy protection. I've seen some datacab3 posts but I thought most people had seen the "copy protection" posts. I think I'll give em a bump.
Chiles4 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 01:24 PM   #3
Zathu Koon
 
Zathu Koon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Maryland
Posts: 313
So how do you fix the datacab3 problem? im getting that on my other computer, and i really wanna play jo...


[ Name: [MsR]Zathu
[ Server: 216.226.136.120:29070
Zathu Koon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 01:51 PM   #4
Chiles4
 
Chiles4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: a galaxy far, far away
Posts: 226
The datacab3 problem may be just another symptom of a cd-rom drive that can't read the JK2 cd due to copy protection. I'm guessing that it might be the reason because I've seen this happen whenever a new game comes out with copy protection.
I've also experienced the problem myself. I have an excellent Aopen 52X CD-ROM drive that can't handle any game that is copy-protected.

Also keep in mind that when this happens people may get all sorts of different error messages like "invalid 32-bit application" or "file missing" or system hangs or a cd-rom drive that just keeps on spinning or just gives up after a while.

When Rune came out and so many people couldn't play it, some people recommended getting the CDSpeed utility from Nero at www.ahead.de (click on English then you'll see the CDSpeed banner at the top) to slow down the speed of their CD-ROM drive to get the game to install. I tried it once and didn't get it to work but didn't work that hard at it.

The only guaranteed way I know of to install the game is to get a very new namebrand (Pioneer, Lite-On) DVD-ROM or CD-RW drive that can "handle" the cd's copy protection. I've been fairly lucky with my Lite-On 12x burner. For those games that it will install but then not play, I've relied on NoCD patches. I've considered getting a Lite-On 16x DVD-ROM drive for $48 just so I wouldn't have to deal with this problem but have managed to get by without it so far. Sorry about the bleak solution but if your cd drive truly can't read the CD, you're out of luck.
Chiles4 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 04:43 PM   #5
BigWolf
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8
thanks

thanks this post helped me because when i inserted the cd into main drive for installation i got some funky errors and was slowing everything down i threw it into my cd rw drive and it started up fast and worked great its installing now i hope it works thanks alot this post helped i hope
BigWolf is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 05:00 PM   #6
Chiles4
 
Chiles4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: a galaxy far, far away
Posts: 226
Way to go, BigWolf! May the force be with you!
Chiles4 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2002, 05:19 PM   #7
BigWolf
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8
it works great now and loading times are minimal
i hope yall fix any problems with the game u got cause it is awsome(even though im still on the first level)
BigWolf is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Help Center > Technical Help > Dud Copys May Not Be Dud Copys

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:50 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.