lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: SAMNMAX and FULL THROTTLE PROBLEMS with Q&E 3.0
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-04-2002, 12:42 PM   #1
Twincruiser
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6
Post SAMNMAX and FULL THROTTLE PROBLEMS with Q&E 3.0

Hey BGBENNY,

All the games that I have work fine with Q&E 3.0 (DIG, DOTT, FATE) except SAMNMAX and FULL THROTTLE.

With FULL THROTTLE I get choppy sound (also with Q&E 2.5)

Here are the specs of the bat file:

C:
cd "C:\Games\Lucasarts\
dosdrv -i:lucasvdm.ini
cd C:\THROTTLE\
throttle.exe

I have the CD-Version of Samnmax but doesn't work with the bat file. It says "CAN'T FIND MONSTER.SOU"

Here are the specs:

cd C:\Games\Lucasarts\
dosdrv -i:samnmax.ini
cd C:\Games\Lucasarts\SamNMax
Samnmax.exe m s220/7/8

Hope you can help me,

Twincruiser
Twincruiser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2002, 02:12 PM   #2
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
Im looking into Full Throttle atm, more news in a few days.

Which version of samnmax, the white label cd one?
Or the new dvd box one?

Try running the samnmax filecopy again and wait till it pops up the box telling you "all done"

Failing that you could always copy the monster.sou file off the cd to the samnmax folder yourself....

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2002, 02:59 PM   #3
Twincruiser
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6
Cool Guy Re

It's like 5 years old...so I think it's the WHITE LABEL VERSION...

How can I run it directly from the cd with the bat file?
Twincruiser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2002, 03:31 PM   #4
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
You cant run directly from the cd in this version, you have to do the filecopy thing or else you cant have talkie, thats why

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2002, 04:53 PM   #5
Twincruiser
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6
Post Re

Can you precisely explain to me how to do this filecopy thing...Do you have to copy all of the content of the CD?
Twincruiser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2002, 07:37 PM   #6
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
Start Quick and Easy
Click on setup
Click on Sam and Max (Or DOTT if you are doing the DOTT filecopy)
Click on the max head icon
Choose your D drive (or whichever has the samnmax cd in it)
Browse to the SAMNMAX folder on the cd
Click Go
Wait
When the filecopying has finished a box will appear saying "all done"
Remove the cd
Play the game
The copying may take a while because the monster.sou file is quite big (170mb)

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2002, 07:48 PM   #7
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
Oh and if you could email me so I can try and send you a Full Throttle fix that'd be great (It works on my comp you see)
My email is in the readme (file>readme)
Cheers

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2002, 11:18 AM   #8
Twincruiser
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6
Post Re

I did exactly what you did...The filecopy was all done...I started the games and it said: SOUND DRIVERS NOT INITIALIZED PRESS ENTER....I entered the game and there was no sound at all. I tried to toggle it on with CTRL T but there was only text...

Here are the specs for the bat file:

cd C:\Games\Lucasarts\
dosdrv -i:samnmax.ini
cd C:\Games\Lucasarts\SamNMax
Samnmax.exe m s220/7/8

Twincruiser
Twincruiser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2002, 02:12 PM   #9
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
Do you have VMDSound installed?

In the general part of the settings :
Have you set the path to the Vdmsrun.bat file?
Have you clicked the Vdmsound filecopy button after youve done that?

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2002, 04:24 PM   #10
Twincruiser
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6
Yes...Everything is installed correctly or else the other games could not work...the other games are working just fine.
Twincruiser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2002, 12:08 PM   #11
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
You`ve installed this over the old Quick and Easy havent you?
Copy any saved games you have in dott and samnmax out of their folder in c:\lucasarts
Uninstall Quick and Easy
Delete the c:\lucasarts folder
Install Quick and Easy3 to its default location c:\quick and easy
Set everything up again
Do the filecopy again
Try again

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2002, 03:10 PM   #12
Twincruiser
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6
Post Re

Yep...That did the trick...It's working fine now....

Thanks for all your help,

Twincruiser.
Twincruiser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-10-2002, 09:17 PM   #13
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
In keeping with the technical forums being used as a Quick and Easy messageboard ................

<Update on Full Throttle issues>
As far as I know it now works fine in XP, however people with Win2000 still seem to have problems.

Im at a bit of a loss here.
Is there anyone for who it works fine in 2000 with Quick and Easy?

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-23-2002, 12:44 PM   #14
QueZTone
mind il creativo
 
QueZTone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 779
Hey benny!

I used your little nifty program Quick and Easy 3.0 for Sam and Max as well. Without it I couldnt get the sound to work at all...

but with it the background sounds are good but the voices are all in slowmotion lol. You know with a deep slow voice and all.

It gave an error message of some kind..
"Heap Status: Unplayable (359kb Available)

something like that =]

Plz help!


specs:

p3 733mhz
soundblaster 1024 live!
Win98
Sam and Max CD version (not white label). The one that comes with the boxed version from lucasarts company store. (could also be the one from the LucasArts Volume 1 pack, I have 2 sammax cds and they're odly alike, only thing that differs is that one says 'LucasArts Entertainment Company Presents' on the cd and the other doesnt)

what do i do oh what do i do? =]

QueZTone is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-23-2002, 03:48 PM   #15
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
Ignore the heap error message and just click past it.

Wait a <splutter>........minute

Windows 98?

Quick and Easy doesnt work with 98, its for NT based os`s only (NT4, 2000, XP)

However as they say, if it works dont knock it.

I just need to check, are you SURE its windows98, you`ve not made a typo or anything?
You dont have vdmsound installed do you? (it shouldnt even install under 98 and dont bother installing it if you do have 98)

The solution to this is easy - dont use quick and easy

Use this instead, the guide from snuckeys.

Dont forget to delete the quick and easy folder when you uninstall it (the filecopy files will still be there after the uninstall).
Hope this helps

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-23-2002, 04:28 PM   #16
QueZTone
mind il creativo
 
QueZTone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 779
thanks, will try that )

yeah i meant win98, no didnt install that vmdsound thing

thanks for the help will try the snuckey thing now =]

cya around =]

QueZTone is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2002, 04:31 PM   #17
JollyRoger
 
JollyRoger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Michigan
Posts: 91
sorry for asking this, but i just want to make sure, so quick and easy wont work for windows ME?

thanks


I am JollyRoger, hear me roar!
(insert roaring sound here)
JollyRoger is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2002, 05:03 PM   #18
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
No, but if you have a problem with a particular game just ask

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-21-2002, 06:30 PM   #19
gidierre
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 7
Question

Quote:
Originally posted by bgbennyboy
Ignore the heap error message and just click past it.
Me too I always click past it, but I also came to the conclusion that this is just the reason why Conroy Bumpus's song can't be heard anymore in the game (cdrom talkie v. with VDMsound)
gidierre is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-22-2002, 03:17 PM   #20
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
No thats not the reason at all.
The heap error is nowt to do with it.
The reason is because of the filemix needed to get it working.

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-22-2002, 05:44 PM   #21
gidierre
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally posted by bgbennyboy
No thats not the reason at all.
The heap error is nowt to do with it.
The reason is because of the filemix needed to get it working.
In fact the only situation I miss the heap unplayable warning is, well, running Samnmax on an older pc of mine : WinME, and Creative Awe64 Gold (ISA) card.
To start pure dos sessions I always use an ebd floppy with the soundcard dos drivers.
And even there, the setup would be fine, but still, no dialogues (that is, music was good. but characters' mouths flapping forever) until I copied everything from cdrom to HD and played from c:\samnmax and that made the trick.

But as far as WinXP is concerned, since SoundFX 2000 has no luck trying to launch Samnmax, I shifted to VDMSound and did the filemix you mentioned, hence the conventional memory shortage, the good gameplaying still, and Conroy Bumpus' mute performance. In my case the tune is gone the moment CB says :
That's why I'm.... (happy to be king of the creatures).
Is this what happens to you too ?

Anyway, aren't the filemix between cdrom & floppy disk versions AND the heap warning related ?

By what I've seen using ScummRevisited, viewing samnmax.001 room 47 (menagerie) as well as cdrom version huge monster.sou,
CB song is the single largest ( 2,144,353 bytes ) tune to be found in monster.sou.
Since its floppy version non-talkie counterpart is so smaller, if the floppy v. executable used to do the filemix can't handle the song replay, how can you be sure the memory problem is not a part of the issue here ?
gidierre is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-22-2002, 08:24 PM   #22
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
As this is the help forum I presume your asking for a fix?

The heap error message is a symptom, not a cause of the real problem: namely that the floppy scumm executable doesnt handle the song properely.
Isnt a vdmsound/XP problem, it`ll do it on a 9x system if you do a filemix.
As far as Im concerned its a small price to pay for having SamNMax working with music and talkie on 2K/XP.

As for fixes for this, I have a couple of ideas but it'll wait till ive finished this set of exams and fixed a couple of other bugs. I *think* I might be able to get it all working fine without the filemix but i'll have to see.

If you want the song desperately then play samnmax with scummvm, I think its working more or less fine in the latest release.

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-23-2002, 05:01 PM   #23
gidierre
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 7
>the floppy executable doesnt handle the song properly

That's what I think too. The cdrom exe is the only one who makes it, but then it's hardly WinXP compatible and afaik noone has any clue how to fix this.

>Isnt a vdmsound/XP problem, it`ll do it on a 9x system if you do a filemix

That's right. I already tried running the filemix under WinME's dos : same memory shortage. Only the # of xx kb available change.

>a small price to pay for having SamNMax working with music and talkie on 2K/XP

....

> If you want the song desperately then play samnmax with scummvm, I think its working more or less fine in the latest release

Hmmm... I've been regularly using the various ScummVM builds for the last two months now, either running the compiled exe or often compiling the source myself, and I'm afraid any builds up to 0.20 aren't quite good. I mean as far as Samnmax is concerned.
So, when I want to listen to the song I use Scumm Revisited instead, playing the voc file from monster.sou and reading the 6 kb script from samnmax.001,
but you know, the thing really is ScummVM can't replay all Samnmax sounds correctly nor the song (yet ?).
Maybe it tells something doesn't it if the ScummVM log amidst a flood of sound engine error warnings also remarks :
Heap status : ugly , 630 KB available _vs. VDMSound's unplayable, 349 kb available.
From (allegedly) 'unplayable' to 'ugly' ! Not much of an improvement.
Since it's hard to add much more to 630 KB I guess it's just like what a page on the lucasarts online support reads, that is : it's not a matter of 'true' conventional memory figures, it's rather the format of this expected dos memory assets that this is all about here.
What do you say ?

Last edited by gidierre; 05-23-2002 at 05:37 PM.
gidierre is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-23-2002, 05:27 PM   #24
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
That heap error message cant be got rid of by allocating more or applying any other memory tricks, many have tried, many have failed.

Like I said I dont think that error affects anything at all or is really due to memory issues, rather its a symptom of the problems the floppy exe has handling the cd resource files.

Dont bother trying to fix the error, lifes too short.
ScummVM will get it fully working if you give it time......

As for other stuff, like I said I have some ideas but their gonna have to wait a while.

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2002, 01:30 AM   #25
Jesterspaz
 
Jesterspaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 43
How do i use this prog

just recently got the archives volume 3, and want to play some classics, but how do i use the quick and easy program. i have the VDMSound program... therapy anyone??


Justin "Jesterspaz" Negrete
Visit Planetquake.com/jesterspaz
Jesterspaz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2002, 08:56 PM   #26
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
I cant really (be bothered to) give a detailed explanation of how to use it, its fairly self explanatory....
1)Install vdmsound
2)Install Q+E
3)Setup the vdmsound options
4)Setup the options for the game you want to play
5)Play the game

You should note that theres still a couple of bugs, namedly:
Vdmsound needs to be installed on the same drive as q+e for it to work
If you use an international keymap you need to make a slight modification before you can play, see here .

Any problems, look previous threads on this forum, especially this and this .
Or, if youve got a problem not already answered just post here and ask

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Mixnmojo.com > Mojo Discussion Forums > Help! > SAMNMAX and FULL THROTTLE PROBLEMS with Q&E 3.0

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:37 AM.


LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.