lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Ladder Level. How they do that?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-07-2002, 04:06 PM   #1
tom_bz
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Riverside CA USA
Posts: 9
Ladder Level. How they do that?

I was wondering if JKII.net would be nice enough to tell all of us how they edited JKII without the SDK? I want to to do some editing. Like how they changed the pit map, put different music for different NPCs, and had the NPCs spawn after their bodies died. I know you can have a Raven guy compile your maps is that all they did or can you edit some things without that? I have already edit some but would like to know more. Thanks
tom_bz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2002, 08:37 AM   #2
BlackDragon
 
BlackDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 143
I'm not convinced this was a user made level but think that it was someone (ChangKhan?) at Raven who released an anonymous level. Why?

i) it's based on the Pit level and keeps some of the features that are in the Pit but are decoration only and it all looks too identical to be merely a copy.

ii) the text file details all the saber variables to such an extent that I reckon only someone with extensive knowledge of them could have written them (and no-one on these forums seems to have that yet - no disrespect, just an observation that no-one's posted the info yet.)

iii) the scripts for respawning and setting up the final confrontation with you know who (and also getting all the music in too) was down with BehaveEd but I don't know if anyone here has actually managed to work out what the JO commands for ICARUS are yet - so could it be someone with access to the GDK at Raven?

iv) someone knows exactly how to set up the func_breakables and other entities to use them correctly. As of this time, they are undocumented and a user could only guess from working with EF and Q3 and again, no-one has indicated that they know how to do that yet.

v) someone knows exactly what enemies to mix together to give an increasing level of difficulty in the ladder. Again, not the most obvious thing unless you have inside knowledge or documentation.

Of course, I could be reading too much into this but until the person who released it steps forward I will go with my instinct which says it's a Raven person releasing it anonymously.
BlackDragon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2002, 09:24 AM   #3
UniKorn
Mysterious Mapper
 
UniKorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,282
iii) we figured it out


Mapcenter:
http://www.map-center.com
UniKorn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2002, 09:48 AM   #4
TheSnerd
 
TheSnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Wired Lamp Studios
Posts: 34
hehe

Quote:
Originally posted by UniKorn
iii) we figured it out
indeed, we did
TheSnerd is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2002, 11:01 AM   #5
BlackDragon
 
BlackDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 143
Excellent! Nice one.

Are you going to share? And can it use the same BehaveEd as EF or is there a new version?
BlackDragon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2002, 11:51 AM   #6
Vorax
 
Vorax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Wired Lamp Studios
Posts: 280
It's a mystery wrapped up inside an enigma!

As Unikorn said, the Icarus part isn't that difficult, it is just an enhancement of what they used in Elite Force. Not that hard to figure out, the info is all there. BUT: How did someone get the entities into the map in the first place to be activated by the scripts....that is the mystery.

- Vorax


Mapper for: Wired Lamp Studios
Home Page: Vorax Maps
__________________
Vorax is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2002, 12:01 PM   #7
TheSnerd
 
TheSnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Wired Lamp Studios
Posts: 34
I tihnk it would be possible to extract that info from the maps that come with the game. You don't need a special program for that, simply fire up an ascii editor and search for 'info_player_start' for a begin... You'll see the rest after a bit of scrolling...

But it's very uncomfortable, so I'd say the person who released the map didn't do it this way....
TheSnerd is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > General Editing > Ladder Level. How they do that?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:30 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.