lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Can't save my single player game
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-22-2002, 06:28 PM   #1
Leviosaurus
 
Leviosaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6
Can't save my single player game

I'm in The docking platform of the Cairn installation, and the game works just fine, but I can't save. I play for an hour or two, get almost to the doomgiver, die accidentally in some idiotic manner and then return to the docking bay on Cairn, because none of my subsequent saves have worked. Anyone heard anything about this?

When I try to save, the picture on the save page doesn't change, but some text appears at the top of the screen saying "jk96 saved successfully" or something along those lines. I'm surprised no one else has seen this.
Leviosaurus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2002, 06:40 PM   #2
The_BZA
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 35
i had that...its careless button pressing.

when you save, make sure you either 1)type a new savegame name, up above the list of previously saved games it will say something like "--->Cairin Bayxxx" well delete that and type "I Love Yoda" or ANY OTHER STUPID THING that will be the name of the new save file. and press save...then, after the save is complete a new screenshot thumbnail will appear at the bottom.

a second mouse fumble can cause this also. make sure you are physically clicking the TOP MOST SAVED GAME before clicking save. if you accidently click a previously saved game it will just make a copy of that and put it at the top of the list.

this is a REALLY minor issue and could have been easily figured out if you had just clicked around a little more. always name your saved games, it ensures that you are saving a current location and you will never get lost.

also, try "quick save" default is F12, it works too.

and by the way, if you have been unable to save the game to this point then i am very impressed, you made it all the way to this point with out NEEDING to save. impressive, most impressive. just rename your save files in-game.


The_BZA is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2002, 07:02 PM   #3
Leviosaurus
 
Leviosaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6
Thanks, BZ, I'll give renaming a try.

I was saving just fine up until this point, so no, I'm not that good. I am also checking that I'm not carelessly clicking the wrong game, but I can understand why you might conclude that I was.

I'm pretty sure this is some kind of code level problem. Typically this kind of functionality is one of the last things developed before a product gets shipped and isn't always as thoroughly tested. Case in point: I'm doing the same actions to save as I was doing earlier, it's just not working now where it worked before.

Renaming might effectively work around the broken code path though. I didn't realize you could rename, thanks for pointing that out.
Leviosaurus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-23-2002, 11:53 PM   #4
Leviosaurus
 
Leviosaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6
It's not a bug, it's a feature!

Well, that didn't work. I can quicksave, but that's it.
Leviosaurus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-24-2002, 08:30 PM   #5
Chiles4
 
Chiles4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: a galaxy far, far away
Posts: 226
Leviosaurus, the symptoms you're getting are the exact ones I get when I have a sh@tload of saved games. When the game wouldn't save, I delete a ton of saved games and it works again. I'd guess it has problems when you have between 100 and 150 savegames but I'm not sure.
Quote:
if you accidently click a previously saved game it will just make a copy of that and put it at the top of the list.
WTF is that???!!! I've had that happen many a time and it pisses me off! Is this a bug or Raven's idea of a sick joke?

And what's the deal with that @ssinine pointer. Sometimes the games scroll when you don't want them to and don't scroll when you want them to. Why couldn't they just make a sensible and easy-to-use save menu like Deus Ex.

I love JK2 but I think the savegame menu is a joke!
Chiles4 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-25-2002, 03:10 PM   #6
Demolisher
 
Demolisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 285
Thumbs down

I agree, the save menu is weird. Instead of just saving over your last save, like Elite Force, the game makes multiple copies which is good to some extent but the game goes overboard with it.
Demolisher is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Help Center > Technical Help > Can't save my single player game

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:21 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.